The First Day

Yawn!! Yawwnnn!!

I can’t believe I inflicted this torture of attending classes and that too in morning on myself. How very masochistic.

Ok. Enough. One gotta do what one gotta do.

Pay attention.

OMG!! This man is teaching the stuff we have already read in the undergraduate level.

Stare outside the door. Look at watch. 45 mins more.

Ok. He is an old conceited egoistic grouch. Better listen carefully and take notes.

Shit!! Never took notes in B.E. lectures. How can I take now? Ok. Its better to scribble than doze off while sitting on first bench.

Yawn!! Stare outside the door then watch. 30 mins more.

OMG! This man teaches so slowly in a droning voice. Ok. Stop noticing faults just because you are yourself a lecturer.

Ok…dont slide. Sit up straight and don’t rest your cheek on your palm.

Hmmm…he colors his remaining hair with henna. Would he look better and less “scarecrowish” with white hair? Does his wife put henna on his hair?

Damn! Come back to reality, girl before the grouch catches you with a faraway look in your eyes.

Scribble. Scribble. Ohh a diagram!! Ummm…it must be there in the book. Skip it. Scribble. Scribble.

Shit!! The girl sitting next to me must be aghast at my scrawly handwriting. In next class I must sit alone in 2nd or 3rd row to be atleast able to write a post in my copy while looking attentive.

Yawnn! Yaawwnnn!!

Stare outside the door. Smile at colleagues passing through the corridor. Look at watch. 20 mins more.

Ok. Must do something to get these last 20 mins over fast. I know why he has drawn the diagram like that but why not ask a doubt to show I’ve been paying undivided attention?

Raise voice, stand up and ask. DAMN!! He’s hard of hearing and is coming towards my bench. Shit!! I’ve not drawn the diagram about which I’m asking doubt. Ok..hurriedly point towards the one on the blackboard and repeat question.

Hmmm..blah blah..he is giving some explanation.

Nod head wisely. Nod. Nod.

Ahhh..10 mins more. Ohh he has some other class and is leaving early. Yipppee!!! Yeyy!! Yahoooo!

DAY 1 of M.E. 1st semester over. These were my activities and my thoughts running through the mind during a 1 hr class. :)

60 thoughts on “The First Day

  1. took me back to my days as a student. I must say your thoughts are pretty innocent as compared to what mine were! I used to draw funny faces, at time of teachers. Once I spent an entire lecture writing down all the words that the lecturer had mispronounced, alongwith the wrong pronunciations!

  2. hehehe… nice start !!!
    this reminded me of the numerous posts that I had written while in class :P
    why do most of the professors have to make the class so boring and torturous !!

  3. lol try my way ask questions and then sleep…and the first row is the best,teachers usually look at the middle or last row(ya i read most of Gibran under the desk :)

  4. I used to sit at the last bench with one of my classmates and play Cows and Bulls. Do you know how to play the game? Maybe you can try your hand on it. Its very interesting. :)

  5. @Nita These are the thoughts of the 1st day. Aage aage dekho hota hai kya :D But maybe u r right cuz I never drew caricatures or anything. The maximum I did in college was eat Polo subtly while sitting at first bench and pass it around to my friends. :)

    @Adarsh Heh heh thanks!! I think after a certain age all professors seem boring and it just doesn’t feel comfortable or interesting to sit n study.

    @Vishesh Hmm as a teacher I can safely say thats not quite true. Infact I notice the first benchers mostly!! :)

    @Amit Actually last bench wont make much difference in my case cuz as its a M.E. course, there are only 12 students!! Cows and bulls?? never heard of it. Tell me how is it played??

    @Robert Heh heh I know I’m being a bad student but u know studies really become hard to do after a certain age. Especially when the teacher teaches what I already know!! Sigh! this is just the tip of iceberg of boredom. :D

  6. In boring classes I usually don’t take the first two benches. I’ll leave it for those nerds.. hehehe…
    I’ll go sit in the last but one bench, open BM and start solving the puzzles.. :D
    Its a nice way to pass your time in class.. :P

  7. lol…reminded me of my college days :D

    There were visiting profs in our class and when they used to come they used to take 2 classes back to back..what a pain…

    Loved the C& H Strips :)

  8. I agree lot of it goes in minds when a boring class is in progress. Was it auto-biographical, naughty girl? :P

    And these days you always finish with a Calvin and Hobbes strip!

  9. You were the good girl huh! :) I wasn’t. I was a rebel since childhood. Even now, I am in a way but its more subtle. Recently I went for a cousin’s daughter’s engagement in a simple salwar kameez sans jewellery and that raised a few eyebrows. I was actually too lazy to dress up! :) However, when they asked me, I didn’t say I don’t like to dress up, I said: But I am here and came all the way, thats more important!! They laughed agreed and hugged me!
    However I don’t not dress up everytime. At times I guess my sarees need some airing so I wear them.

  10. Wow, u need some tips here :D
    See what I used to in Engg clasess>> Always go late 10 minutes(at least) and ask permission with most possible innocence and politeness :P , keep only ONE notebook with you(from first year to last year only one :D ) and most important thing is to ask as many “difficult” doubts as possible. If the teacher is competent, he will be happy otherwise congrats yourself saying “Hey!You just made someone feel like uprooting his own hair!!” :P

    Teachers are not supposed to criticize other teachers even if they are dreadful bunch #$#$#. :)

  11. we used to release flying bugs in class. One of my friend used to carry it along to release it in math class.
    That was one hell of a class.
    Although I love math, our math professor was quite funny.. so out go the moths… and then there will be chaos. Girls scream…. guys laugh…. the professor run around the class to get them…. By that time half of us will be in canteen. :D

  12. @Sandeep Eh??? Didnt get u???

    @EH :D

    @Joel I’m used to sitting on first bench since college cuz that was one tip our seniors had given us to get more sessionals marks. :)And If I dont sit there, I may doze off!! Atleast the fear there keeps me awake. :)Moreover listening in class makes the subject n topics familiar and when one starts self study the mind automatically recalls things taught in class.

    @Smita I have made everyone nostalgic!! :D

  13. Seems like it’s a scene picked up from my coaching class! What a pain it used to be to pass time when you are feeling sleepy and the mumbling of professor on some super boring topic acting like a lullaby. I am glad my days are gone and can very well understand your pain! :D

    Why don’t you try your hand at making cartoon of your boring professor…and we all can have a dekho! :P

  14. What yaar, you not only made everyone nostalgic.. u made me yawn atleast half a dozen time sitting in the office! :)

    When my PG guide you to take lectures for UGs he insisted that his PG students sit too! And was it difficult! man!

    My colleague used to sleep and i used to write letters to friends so i looked like taking notes and attentive! :)

  15. @Poonam Hee hee yes it was autobiographical :D Ohh I have always been finishing my posts with a C&H whenever I could find an apt one. :) Style u know!!

    @Nita Being the class monitor since class 1 I’ve the habit of maintaining a miss goody two shoes image but the reality is known by my family! :P :D As for decking up, my mother is exasperated that none of her daughters like jewelery and dont wear make up etc. :)I also sometimes wear sari to shock people and ofcourse it doesnt hurt to get a few compliments. :D

    @Suda Thats the difference between PG & UG classes. One has to be punctual and cant ask any absurd doubts cuz its PG :)Image matters a lot!! And dont movie makers criticize others? or IT people criticize their co workers? :)The same profession people can criticize better rationally. :)and one notebook?????????? v bad v bad Suda. I used to buy new notebooks for every class in school and every sem in college.

  16. @Taju Ohh my god!! thats beats all the naughtiest acts of students known by me since my school time. Ur friend was v naughty!

    @Willow Ahh coaching classes. I avoided them till i could. But had to go in 11 and 12th. They were pure torture especially those after school timings. Little rain and I bunked tuitions. :)Maybe I will take a snap in next class stealthily and post it here :D

    @Nomad :D :D

    @Sakhi Heh Heh looks like everyone had their share of boring professors and sleepy classes.

  17. seems ur first day went gr8…. :D i love being stung by drowsiness in the class… its sooooo good… but i make sure i am in the 6th bench and there is a “Big Show” in front of me… :D however… i am happy that i have a vacation now till aug 8th… but have to go back to those prisons called classrooms again… for one last year…

  18. @Reema – Thinking about M.E – yawn yawn! But the sad part is now I am onto work and still the feeling is yawn yawn! :D What to do? :-0

  19. @Harshasrisri The best part is u will miss these same days after u pass out!! student/college life is v good and almost everyone misses it but not job+student life :)

    @RJ Ofcourse all night chatting will make one yawn yawn at work. whats the time difference between USA and Italy?? ;)BTW where were u all this week? Did u run away to Italy?? :P

  20. @ Reema:

    “I can’t believe I inflicted this torture of attending classes and that too in morning on myself.”

    Now think of the torture you inflict on your students ;-)

    On a serious note:

    The difference between graduate degree work in India and outside India never ceases to amaze me. Admittedly my graduate degree in India was an MBA which is a different kettle of fish from other degrees. But I get the impression from reading experiences of Indian students that my hypothesis holds.

    But in the UK and in the US, a lot of the graduate work is self-motivated. There is some instruction based work but it is quite little and mostly there is a lot of reading (self motivated, with the help of required and recommended reading lists) and reflection and where applicable, group or lab or assignment type work.

    What sort of break-down between instruction, lab work and self-driven work do you have for your Master’s degree?

  21. @Shefaly I dont inflict torture on my students.I meant I inflicted torture on myself by taking admission. Likewise the students who take admission inflict the torture on themselves :) We only are responsible for what happens to us. :)

    In my Master’s degree too a lot of self study is involved because the standard of the paper and classroom teaching is different. Lab work on softwares like MATLAB also requires lots of self practice. The instruction part is like strictly stick to syllabus and just giving overview type.

  22. 1st of all…a belated happy birthday(very belated i think..!)
    xams wr goin on so…
    anyways its nice to read that u actually had thoughts running thru ur mind during class…my brain generally goes to sleep during most lectures…!

  23. Is this how your students react when you teach them?? :D :D
    I’m kidding… don’t kill me..!!
    Sorry for being incommunicado for a long time… Loads of shitty things to take care of… Sigh.. I lead a pathetic life… :D

  24. @Nikhil :D :D How would I know? I cant read their thoughts!! :P Awww u poor thing.

    @Chakoli Hey I wear specs too. :)

    @Robert Awww I will post a new one soon!!

  25. HAAAHAHHA……my friend and I always talked in the class even without opening our mouths…coz we scribbled our talks in the notebook….i still have few of them……HAHAHA…Poor you..One hour of agony!

  26. Hey Reema,
    i am happy that i came across your page while searching for those love is cartoons. I too used to collect them but have lost them. I have recently got engaged and i wanted to gift these cartoons to my fiancee and while searching for them i found some on ur page I will be greatfull if you would like to share your collection with me.

    Thanks For the ones you have already given me :)

    Take Care.
    Murtaza

  27. damn hilarious! :-D

    we do a lot of things in class as well…like taking down notes in our cell-phones, aiming rockets at each other (one such rocket narrowly missed the lecturer), playing book-cricket, passing love notes to the girls etc etc … :-P

  28. @Reema – i forgot…we open each other’s lunch boxes and start hogging as well :-D ….college life has been so much fun :-)….i feel like it was only yesterday that i joined engineering….and now, I am entering my final year :-(

  29. this is for the first time i am visiting your blog. i found it quite interesting, simple yet nice.
    well i can very well understand your plight because i too do the same thing in school. once i even dosed off on the first bench but it didn’t turn out to be a nightmare rather my teacher told me that she does’t teach that bad that i should dose off and the entire class laughed .:)

  30. @Nikhil yes that is a common thing..eating tiffin during class though I have never done it. :)Oh u r in which stream?

    @Arpit Welcome to my blog! Thanks!! Nice teacher to not lose temper :) Keep visiting!!

  31. Not exactly insincere..but terribly bored and miserable , especially during my undergrad ( electronics engineering)..things improved marginally during my MBA

  32. @Dev Ohh Elex Engg!! After 12th I had decided not to opt for elex ever. Boredom n misery..and Elex Engg :) I can understand :)

    @Nikhil Oh I did my B.E. in electrical engg.

  33. When I was doing my under graduation I was pretty serious about lectures but sometimes it happens usually I will be bored like hell and used to draw this picture. First I start with a big square root and then I put different math and greek symbols finally I draw picture hanging myself to the square root…lol

  34. Pingback: Nominations So Far…(Updated 06/Oct…still more to come) « Visceral Observations

  35. Pingback: Final List of Nominated Posts « Visceral Observations

  36. Pingback: It All Ends Here « My Random Thoughts

Come On! Say Something!

