Classification of Students

Children emulate many people in their growing years, often those who leave a strong impression on their minds. I was quite impressed by my teachers and used to play teacher-student at home with my sister. Another profession I was impressed with was that of vegetable sellers (sabziwalis). After my Dad had brought weekly groceries, I used to pretend to be a vegetable seller and go to each family member to sell my vegetables. :D Thankfully after doing my B.E. I chose to be a teacher or rather a lecturer as they call in technical field. After more than 3 years, I’m still loving it!! I’ve seen lecturers shake head to toe before their first class ever. But since the day I stepped in to take the first class of my life and to teach a subject like Network Analysis which was one of the scariest subjects during my student life, I felt totally at ease. And after leading a dual life i.e. a student as well as a teacher for a while now, I have been able to observe both sides closely. I have already written about students from teachers’ point of view and the professional hazards of being a lecturer. Time to pass on some more pearls of my wisdom based on my experience. Now I have classified students of a class in some categories. I may have missed one or two categories. A student at a given time may belong to one or more category.

Types of Students:-

# The First Benchers - The daring ones who look into danger’s eyes straight on. Mostly to be in teacher’s good books and sometimes because sitting anywhere else may lead to sleep (That was why I used to sit at front in some lectures in my B.E. time)

# The Third Benchers – They are those students who don’t want to sit right under teacher’s nose and yet don’t want to be the “back benchers” so they sit in between.

# The Outlookers - No no they are not the ones with some radical outlook or any outlook at all. They are the ones who sit by the window seats in class and keep looking outside at God knows what!

# The Legendary Back Benchers – The ones who sit on the last benches in the hope of playing cows and bulls or do other naughty activities during class. Yet once in a while some smart ones also emerge from there.

# The Wise Guys – Those students whose sole purpose in class is to gain girls’ attention by passing comments and getting encouraged by their giggles.

# The Ever Doubtful – The ones who have the hobby of inventing doubts in simplest things and sometimes pursue the teacher from second floor (where classroom is) to ground floor (where staffroom is) holding copy and asking doubts.

# The Flirts – Those who try to get into good books and gain favours by flirting with the teacher of opposite sex. Some even succeed entirely due to the teacher’s lack of integrity.

# The Blank Lookers – Those with a blank expression on their faces always which seems to suggest that they have no idea as to why they are in this field.

# The Yawners - The ones who yawn in class like an anaconda opening its jaw to swallow a big animal, that too not behind teacher’s back and don’t even have the manners to cover their mouths.

# The Moths – Those students whose eyes keep flitting towards the girls’ side while taking down lectures and become very attentive when a girl stands up to ask something.

# The Chicks – The pretty, stylish girls who by their mere presence create a sort of sexual tension in the class. Mostly useless in studies.

# The Stimulators – Those students who grasp the topic, are intelligent in a non-geeky way, ask the right questions and are fun to teach.

# The Extra Curriculars – Those who are very active in sports, seminars, functions and what not..anything except studies.

# The Guest Stars – Those who show up in one class, bunk next 7 classes and again show up and so the game of hide and seek goes on entire session.

# The Amnesiacs – Those students who for every incomplete assignment or practical work give the lamest excuse in history of teaching- “I forgot”.

# The Resourceful – Those who are expert in devising unique ways to cheat in exam and do everything except follow the simple method of clearing exam i.e. study.

# The Defaulters – Those students who remain the black sheep of the class and no amount of cajoling, coaxing, threatening, scolding or punishment makes them amend their ways.

And then there are some like him:-

HAPPY TEACHER’S DAY TO ME!!

P.S. Which category did or do u belong to ? Coming up in some other post-Classification of Lecturers. :)

97 thoughts on “Classification of Students

  1. Happy Teacher’s day!!!

    I was the first bencher, because ….

    According to my research if you teacher is right handed, he/she would not be able to see the left side of the class (from students view) while she is writing. So my friend and myself would sit at the left corner and …sleep !!!

    Our teachers at engineering were kind enough to wake me up when they took attendance.

    Reema: Thanks! Interesting research. Now I have to notice my students who sit on my left side. :D

  2. :)

    I was a 3rd bencher for sure…but your classifications are bang on!

    This reminds me of one incident. In our MBA days we used to have guest lecturer’s & since they used to come once in a week they used to take 2 hour long class. The best part was few of these lecturers used to take attendance only in the 2nd half. So the bunker’s used to sneak-in during the break :D

    One of my usually sincere friend did the same and unfortunately the lecturer noticed him and asked him that he remembers categorically that he wasn’t there in the 1st half. My friend with a poker face (& quite innocently) told him, sir I was having a hair cut!

    The teacher couldn’t say anything else and moved ahead :D

    What lovely carefree days. But Yes I wud love to add that this profession needs loads & loads of patience :) & I salute every teacher :)

    Reema: Oh we had one such teacher in B.E. 1st yr. She used to remember each and every one and their attendance. She was a terror! yes, it does need a lot of patience! I never thought I would be able to find that in myself.

  3. I was always the first bencher till calss 12. :) I tried being part of legendary back benchers to read novel hiden in schoolbooks but failed miserably due to my reputation. :)

    I would also be “The Stimulators” as my teachers fondly told my parents. I was “The Extra Curriculars ” too as I participated in every extra curricular activity (and won them too) barring sports. I was worst in any sporting competition you can think of. Closest I came to win a medal in sports was in Class 3 in frog race. :P

    Reema: I’ve participated in that egg on spoon race and didnt win :) Else I was also not involved in sports . I was not involved in extra curriculars as I had stage fright! I never could be first bencher in school due to height. In B.E. though I was mostly the first bencher though not much of a stimulator.

  4. Poonam, Iam so impressed by your achievements. Iam glad to have known you.

    Reema: Errr no comment about the post or about yourself??

  5. That was some post buddy! :D :D remembered my days of being student and then a teacher… err…… associate professor in the medical college!! :)

    In school i was a first bencher but as i entered 11th standard, i became last bencher… used to keep “tic-toc” in my shoes and make noise, since i was a very good student, teacher always thought it was my neighbour who was doing it!

    In college, usually i was a first bencher for being in good books of teachers (they never noticed me!! :( ) but was scared of Anatomy prof. as he used to sprinkle his saliva on the first bencher!! :)

    And then as a MD student we didnt have a choice but to sit on the first bench :( i used to feel so sleepy that i HAD TO write something, anything… so, during those three years, my friends received a lot of handwritten letters! ;)

    Will talk about being professor in your next post on “lecturers” :)

    Reema: Thanks! AP!! Good yaar! u were naughty!! :)

  6. @ Reema:

    Like Poonam, I was also always a ‘first bencher’, a ‘stimulator’ and an ‘extra curricular’ without your added qualification of ‘except studies’. :-) No shame in admitting it. I was also the person whom our HoD disliked openly since I was everywhere – co-corriculars, library, dhaba and of course, the classroom.

    I did however engage in a lot of ‘backbenchers’ type activities esp in Class XII such as eating all the girls’ lunches (they attended biology classes in the lab, I didn’t and I was friends with the boys so that I was not seen as ‘the chick’ although some boys were too dumb to understand the subtle psychology of such a strategy).

    I think you have forgotten a category which is the vast majority – the strivers, those who are not very bright but are very hard-working, pay attention, attend classes, read in library and long hours in the dorm, but do not get good grades. Yet they persist.

    Happy Teachers’ Day!

    Reema: HoD disliked such a star and multi talented student??? :-o Ahh yes, as I said I may have forgotten one or two categories :) Thanks for adding this. They are the true fighters! Thanks for the wish.

  7. I belonged to “The Resourceful” and more often than not “The Back-benchers” in my undergrad days :)

    Happy Teachers’ Day :)

    Reema: Thanks!! what resources did u use?? :P

  8. Awwww .. Nice Post .. I did not know until I read your post tht there r these many categories of students .. That is some observation, reema !!!

    Well, as far as I am concerned, I fall in thecategory of ‘First Benchers’ .. and I did so because

    1) I wanted to be in good books of lecturers so that they can help me out with delayed submission of assignments, journal and in clearing out the 75% presence problem .. So the most optimal way to get noticed from a lecturer is to sit on the first bench .. And I successfully did that .. I was always late in submission but never ever faced any problem and always got the best grade ..

    2) I feel really embrassed if my lecturer wakes me up from my sleep and I become a center of attraction and whole class ridicule me .. I m too sensitive in those cases .. so it’s better for me to sit on first bench so that i cant sleep ..

    3) Teacher asks less questions to first benchers .. I mean probablity of teacher asking u a que is very very less .. so that was another advantage for me ..

    Reema: Thanks! As a teacher one tends to observe such things :) OMG all the 3 points are exactly the reasons why I was a first bencher in college except that I never did late submissions and never had attendence problem.

  9. Happy Teacher’s day!!

    Man, some classification that is… you covered every part of it bravo! But, I got to say, I belong to more than one type of ur classifications…

    I am an “outlooker” in the classes of “teachers” I hate…
    I am a “back bencher” in every class, but not because I don’t want to study, but because I am always late due to my laziness…. :P
    I am quite a “yawner”, but only if I haven’t slept properly the previous night, and I do cover my mouth……
    I also am the “wise guy” sometimes, but not just to impress girls, I mean we used to practically bully our chem. teacher in school and it was an all boys school
    I am a stimulator, always, u won’t find a better student then me when I want to study something. So mostly, I am in the class, when I am in the class….

    Ur list is pretty damn good, and I could see myself thinking of various classmates while reading about every type…nice observations…ma’am ;)

    Reema: Thanks!! U are a multi category student indeed!! :)

  10. Goood thinking Reema..I loved the classification…..you covered all aspects.

    Well as per your question- my answer is I don’t know why i was treated as the chick- be it college/office..everywhere- initially everyone thinks am all beauty no brains!
    I have been labelled as blonde in my first job! and ouch did it hurt! Thank god the guy apologised within a month!

    Reema: Thanks dear! People are just prejudiced! blonde?? Thank god he apologized!

  11. Happy Lecturer’s Day to you ;)

    Edit: Boring classes + poor attendence–last bench.

    Interesting classes + interesting lecturer–fist bench ;)

    Interesting Classes + strict lecturer–no other option than middle row :D

    Boring classes + full attendence — BUNK !

    Reema: Thanks! LOL :D Good ones!

  12. Happy Teacher’s Day to you Reema.
    Very funny post- I love it. I still am hopeful, one day you will take me along to your class (Mary had a little lamb)… you know it gets more improbable with every passing year- the older I get, the harder it will be to pretend I am a new student. :)
    No confessions from me as to what I used to do in class…
    Who is your most favorite teacher in all your education life?
    (Next to me, hai kya koi?)

    Reema: Thanks! Errr its still hard to take u in between 18-19 yr olds! Next to you there is one..Vishal Sir who used to teach us EMF during B.E. 3rd year.

  13. Hey I am back!

    And what a day to wish you “Happy Teacher’s Day” teacher!

    I couldn’t stop my laughter imagining you selling the already bought vegetables! :)

    That was some cool classification… wow! And by the way I used to be a 3rd bencher usually. :)

    Reema: Welcome back!! My mom used to say “I dont want sabzi I want the sabziwali” :D Thanks.

  14. Firstly Happy Teachers day.
    Secondly, good post!
    Thirdly, I was always a back-bencher, the smart variety ;) until my teachers hauled me in the front, so then I became the “Outlooker.” :) By the way, I was always a good student, but a rebel, and did not like to be bullied. I had a few teachers (my English teacher, geography teacher and bio teacher) who used to love me, and allowed me my pranks and giggles. Then we had our physics teacher, gym teacher and history teacher who would have clawed my eyes out because I was talkative and defiant. I am talking of school ofcourse. By the time I went to college I became a serious student :( although not in the first year. I didn’t like the front benchers because they usually thought they were smarter than me, but they wern’t. Exam time often proved it. Front benchers are different from nerds, the nerds are often invariably very bright. They may nor may not be front benchers. Front benchers had something else, they had a strong personality, they wanted to be in the limelight, they were competitive. Not bad traits at all and in fact one of the front benchers in my school is a good friend of mine today, although she wasn’t then.
    I didn’t study in a co-ed but in college I found the “flirts” were often “cheats” and mostly dumb.

    Reema: Thanks and thanks! yes it is true that the bright ones may or may not be first benchers. Infact in my experience , usually the intelligent ones are the 3rd benchers. When we went to college, our seniors told us to sit at front benches to get marks and really front benchers get more marks in teachers’ assessment cuz a teacher remembers them. The dynamics of a class are funnier in a co ed institution.

  15. wow great post….

    let me see….certainly cant put me in a single group.

    One of the Legendary back benchers who was also one of the guest stars and hence a defaulter.
    Which also means i played the roles of the amnesiac, the yawner and the outlooker.
    [which should explain the post you read, when you first came to my blog :)]

    But resourceful i could never be.
    an explanation could be a strip from c&h,
    where calvin explains why he couldn’t cheat on an ethics exam.

    The time i play stimulator is when there is a talk about computer networks and security in college….history/geography and space research in school.]

    dang miss college very much…

    Reema: Thanks! Oh yes I remember that strip but then we have no ethics paper in B.E.!! :P I assume u are from engineering stream right?

  16. and Happy Teacher’s Day.

    even am thinking if i could go into teaching in my college.

    well there’s not much talent in teaching these days…and may be i could do my own research in areas i like?
    just a thought.

    Reema: Thanks! Research facilities depends on the institution u join.

  17. Elaborate classification Reema. There is one more category- The not so tall ones who are forced to sit on the front bench because of their heights. They hate to sit in the front but have no choice.

    Reema: Oh yes that is there too but that happens only in school. In college I have seen short heighted ones to sit at the back!

  18. HAPPY teachers day :P lol :P a true teacher u are :P I am a first bencher… ever doubtful(sometimes :P) and the moth(ya ya…) and The Stimulators :P though sometimes i can be pretty dumb :P

    Reema: Thanks!!! :) Moth, eh??? :P

  19. Reema,

    A Very Happy Teachers Day. I am glad that instead of joining some corporate you chose to be in this noble profession. Also keep up making good citizens of your students.

    Take care

    Reema: Welcome to my blog. Thanks!! I try my best! See u around.

  20. wow ..wonderfull post..loved every bit of it :)
    Those students whose sole purpose in class is to gain girls’ attention by passing comments and getting encouraged by their giggles.

    so true..but i know many girls who get irritated a lot … :P

    I belong to the legendry category ..though i used to top my dept :D … u can say my teachers never knew me ..not even after the result ..
    though i have tried middle benches too.. :D

    happy teachers day !!! :D

    Reema: Thanks!! yes I’m one of the girls who used to get irritated at the wise guys. I cant believe a teacher wouldnt know a topper student. Impossible! Thanks.

  21. Great Post :)
    I did play teacher-student with my sis, but in reality I was really a teacher in a Private University for 6 months!! trust me, it was an awesome experience :)

    Reema: Thanks!! U too?? Its fun na to play that game!

  22. Happy Teachers Day, Ma’am :D

    I dont know if I should be embarassing myself here, but I guess, its worth it. I fall under three categories — Legendary Back Benchers, The Resourceful ( I have not been caught even once, people say its becuz I look innocent :D ) and one which you havnt mentioned– students who does their work / assignment/ studies at the last miunte

    and inspite of all this, I had an excellent rapport with all my teachers / lecturers. Gosh, I miss college so badly now, especially after reading and commenting here. Thanks !

    Reema: Thanks!! No embarrassment! All are dirty :P U are like just an average engineering student!!

  23. Hey awesome post.. love your blog for such posts! :)

    I’ve been in almost all categories over 18 years of education except for ‘The Chicks’ and ‘The Ever Doubtful’ :D

    and i actually continue to do some of these in french class :D :D

    Reema: Thanks dear!!! I guess I should have mentioned the category of “The Dudes” – cool guys for whose attention girls fight. :P Howzzat?

  24. haha interesting observations.

    I’d say I was front-bencher for a while, moved to third-bencher, always a stimulator and most certainly extra curricular if you are willing to forego the ‘except studies’ bit. :)) oh add me to ‘The Chicks’ too heh … but take out the ‘except studies’ bit too. ;)

    Actually, me and husband were talking about it a while ago … that all the ‘top-graders’ I am friends with (ech, all my friends are top-graders) are good looking women. It’s a myth that good looking women who maybe even flaunt their looks are not good in school.

    there were a few parhaaku types in school and uni who spent hours in uni library and never bothered to even brush their hair, all of my friends (who did look good, dress good, enjoyed being young i guess) did better than them in school.

    What do you teach btw? and a very Happy Teacher’s Day. Your students are blessed with an observant teacher like yourself. :)

    cheers
    roopie

    Reema: Like Mahank u were a combination of beauty and brains! good! I teach subjects related to Electrical Engineering. Oh they are troubled with my observational skills. They are not able to deceive me with lame excuses and various cheating methods. :)

  25. Happy Teacher’s Day.
    Categorizing is true till high school, but after that, as the studies get higher, I generally have found all my classmates extremely competitive and responsible. Back-benchers are there just because there was someone already sitting on the front seats!
    I am just a student and expect me to be everything you would expect from a student(in real sense).

    Reema: Thanks! My categorization is based on my experience in an engineering college not school! And that depends on what institution we are talking about. This obviously wont work in an IIT!!!! Its the average engineering colleges I’m talking about.

  26. Happy (Belated) Teachers’ Day!!!

    Beautiful post! Look be bang back to my school and college! I was always in The Legendary Back Benchers’ category (esp in 11th, 12th and college) :D :D

    used to play knots and crosses, eat lunch before morning break, eat friends’ lunch before lunch break and pass notes and pjs and create a lot of “strange buzzing noise from the last bench” :D :D
    once, when my chemistry teacher looked at me in the eye and screamed at me for “having no shame, do you realise even boys are more silent, dont smile when i’m scolding you” and all that, i innocently turned bac and stared at the wall behind me :D :D She rolled her eyes and then smiled too, saying”yeah, right, i was scolding that wall alright!” :D

    but well, i managed to pass 12th grade :D :D

    I was my teachers’ only hope for a state rank in college :D (didnt manage that, tho i was college first) :D
    aaaarghhh….miss those days!

    Reema: Thanks!! I used to pass notes and POLO mint lozenges while sitting at first bench in college. Ur teacher was a cool one! College topper! Good!

  27. HAPPY TEACHERS’ DAY!!!!!
    I’m sorry I wasn’t in town y’day and I was quite held up so couldn’t wish u! Lovely post!! And there’s absolutely no doubt which category of students I belong to! ;)

    Reema: Thanks! yes I know which one u belong to :P

  28. i’m afraid i’m a yawner. i can yawn like, a dozen times in a two-hour lecture. :P i thought i’d like to teach, but i’m afraid i can’t!

    Reema: Awww why not?

  29. I made the transition from first bench to last bench and liked it so much that I stayed there for as long as I was a student

    Going by your description, I can safely assume you are not a big fan of flirts or those teachers who are lenient with such ppl :)

    Reema: Welcome to my blog. Oh u r right! The flirts have tried to impress me but I’m like an immovable stone when it comes to rules. :) And this has been a point of conflict between me and some of male colleagues who favor girl flirts a lot. Keep visiting

  30. Awesome Post…
    Happy teachers day!!
    In school i was a back-bencher beacuse i was tall..in college a second/third bencher because my friends sit there…a blank looker for certain subjects…an extra-curricular with some marks…

    I cant stop LOLling for chicks!!!Can teachers think like that??hehehe :)

    Reema: Thanks!! Oh yes I really feel the lack of attention among boys when there is a chick in the class. :)

  31. Wow what a classification ..
    hats off to all those teachers who have so much of patience to handle guys like me :)

    I know the staff have grown wise so i keep changing my position so that i’m not classified by them , but i predominantly stay at the back bench

    allthough your classification includes all the people but i personally feel there can be few more classification to accomodate a peculiar cases like me
    Since you were a first bencher and a teacher now, i personally feel that you lack the back benchers perspective. :)

    i’m glad that i hopped into a college lecturer’s blog on the teachers day

    Reema: Welcome to my blog. LOL :D maybe I do lack that perspective! Keep hopping here on other days too! :)

  32. Belated Teacher’s day :) I always wanted to be a lecturer but after finishing my BE I came to how much tough job it is… Very nice classifications :D I was very curiously searching my category.. I felt bad that i ended up being in good ones :P

    Reema: Welcome to my blog! Thanks! So u were a good student :P Keep visiting.

  33. I was always a backbencher and a simulator. Funny combination?? Well that was how it was. If something is interesting, I would take complete interest but if I get bored, then I would always find someone to play Cows and Bulls with me. :)
    p.s. I really wish that someone from your class reads this post. :lol:

    Reema: yes these classifications are dynamic depending on the teacher and subject!! Why do u and Sandeep keep wishing that? Bad friends!

  34. I used to be a whole lot put together. it depended on who was taking the class… if it was some egomaniacal prof i was a backbencher, there have been days when i’ve slept right in front of my prof and days when i’ve whiled away 2 hours by asking doubts for a coke and samosa in the canteen… all depends on the profs!!

    Reema: Sleep right in front of professor???? I can never dare to do that and infact no student in my experience has dared to do that! As I said to Amit, it does depend a lot on the teacher and the subject!

  35. :) Belated Teacher’s day wishes.
    Hmm…I think I was a third bench out / blank looker who sometimes became a guest star (thing was I never bunked class…I used to go out on official assignments on union duty!) but would not call myself an extra-curricular either ‘cos I did clear all my papers at one go! touchwood & Thank Someone!?! I guess my classification is as confused as my life itself though those were “the best days of my life “;)
    Did not quite notice, you have not written which one you fall under! or have I missed it?

    Reema: Thanks! Hehehe the author wishes to remain unclassified :P Though I have mentioned my activities in my replies to various comments above.

  36. reema: did you read one of my latest posts about my recent embarrassing incident? well… that was for a teaching job! :lol:

    Reema: Oh that long post I guess? I have yet to read it. Reason is in my latest post. :(

  37. haha… does that happen too?
    I didn’t come to know of any such thing :)

    Reema: Oh that piece of inside information is from my student life. Girls unlike boys, are subtle and usually dont let teachers observe such stuff :P

  38. You missed the best category!!!!!
    The OutStanding Students!!!
    (Out Standing) like me!!!!
    Description: Guys(and few gals) who always come late and hover outside class in corridors ducking passing teachers and HOD’s.

    Anyway, I fall in more than one category.
    1. The Flirts: Most of lady teachers used to think me as innocent Geek (very unlikely combination) (Also I was really innocent according to ALL girls in my class except one… guess who :D )

    2. First Benchers: Tiny teachers tend to stand behind class or simply near to benches. Few of my teachers used to teach standing at first or second benchside. So I used to sleep on FIRST bench :D . After few days, few girls friends noticed me and then we sad on parallel benches playing chit mail (writing things aka messages on a small paper and throwing it at each other)
    Imagine sleeping at first bench!!!! :D

    3. The Legendary Back Benchers : For all MAN teachers, my position was last bench always. After registering presence by saying Yess Sirrr as slowly as possible, we always waited the juniors (girls) to come out of their class and then used to slip out of class by back door and get back after WORK DONE. :D Sometimes I used to enter by front door to disturb the class.

    One more category I would suggest is Saint!!! (Pahunche Huye Baba :P )
    One of my lecturer(lady) who was… well I don’t want to be rude, but she had worse figure a girl can borne with (sorry mam, no harm meant). And thats why, she used to be angry at smart people. :D So her life’s best target was me. She used to say, “Stand up Sudarshan”…… me standing trying not to smile (she hated even a nice smile)…..she continuied,”Tell me….blah blah…?”….. me with holy saintlike expression on face… “errrrrr”….she again,” ok, leave it, tell me ….blah…blah?”….me more saintlike( noww whole class looking at me superstitiously like I was angel sent by God himself…… “well, no, I can’t answer”…. people suppress urge to clap…….she,” oh yeah, then blah blah …. atleast?”….me in a deep voice(shaking head), “Ma’m!!!!!”…….. class smiles and few guys say so that only I can hear, “thats the spirit man!!!”…… all girls looking at me with… you know … mixed expressions (and one very fierce,,,,,, guess who :D )….. she (teacher), “God, what a student!!” (“thanks for the compliment”, in my head)…..”blah blah…blahblah? you blah blah.. and whole class blah blah……..” I interrupt smiling my best, “Isn’t it enough for the day ma’m?”… this time she takes in my smile and finally I succeed in breaking her shield and she smiles back….”Suda… (wow)… you know, no one can change you, and stop smiling…” She tries to control her smile but fails. Somebody snorts with pure anger on my left (some girl…. guess who? I didn’t realize for 3 years that it was you-know-who doing it always).

    Hushshsh, Cheers. May be I will make this comment a post on LLL , if you don’t mind. :)

    Reema: OMG!!!!! Such a long comment. :) U were one naughty student!! And you know who seems to be the typical sincere girl student.

  39. beautiful post loved it …… true classification of every class i have been in. Btw i have come accross one more category in BITS. The studs …. those who look least interested….. may be hardly attending classes but have such strong grasp of topic and ask questions which make the class interesting.

    Reema: Welcome to my blog!! yes but that happens in elite institutions. My classification is of the students of average engineering colleges which are more in number than these institutions. Keep visiting!!

  40. happy teachers day!!! :)

    I have always been the 3rd benchie!!!! (and i thot no one knew! ;) )aahh! the ever doubtfuls were my trauma! they wud start just wen the lecture was about to end!! have also been a guest star for some of the ones i knew i cud skip on and then aah! ‘the point of existence!’ :D that is STILL me!

    Reema: Welcome to my blog! Thanks :) I know this problem of doubtfuls, so when someone in my class stands up to ask smthg I ask them to come outside and then ask. I remember the agony and that helps me relate. Keep visiting!

  41. You missed the category “Stenographers”. These are the ones who write down everyword the prof says, including “cough cough” when prof coughs.
    Their notes are photocopied by the backbenchers, and unfortunately the backbenchers score more than these stenos.
    I myself was a backbencher right from early school days though (simply due to being one of the taller guys)

    Reema: Welcome to my blog! LOL :D your description of Stenographers is so apt. See u around!

  42. Congrats on the great post Reema, and Happy Teachers Day! Some how I missed many of your recent post on my feed reader. Google reader is going hay wire!!! I have always been the 3rd bencher during college. But now I am the first bencher because MBA is my priority, not sleep.. LOL!

    Reema: Thanks!! As you can read in some comments, some say first bench is the safest place to sleep!!

  43. Found your blog on desipundit. Interesting classification. Btw, a fact about first bench is the best to sleep as your right under the teacher, so outside his/her line of vision.

    Reema: Welcome to my blog! Thanks. Just today one in my class was sleeping while sitting on first bench. When the class ended, I asked should I give u attendance? He was embarrassed. So it isnt the case that we dont see first benchers. :D Keep visiting!

  44. U forgot the ones who are indifferent. Not always slow, heck they usually are adequately equipped to get through the course without the teachers. They are in class for the heck of it and to please their folks back home.

    Reema: Welcome to my blog! Thanks for that add on category. Keep visiting!

  45. Hi ,

    do you remember our john sir’s saying ..He too had his own classifications . he used to say ‘back-benchers’ are tomorrow’s chief ministers . :)

    Reema: Welcome to my blog. “Our” John Sir???? I think you have mistaken me for someone else. or do u know me? Thats a good one! Keep visiting!

  46. LOL Funny post.

    I’m like the third bencher most of the time, although I occasionally sit in the first bench for my favourite classes.

    Count me in as a reader.. I’m subscribing to this blog :)

    Reema: Welcome to my blog. Thanks!! See u around.

  47. Pingback: My Dual Life « My Random Thoughts

  48. Pingback: Nominations So Far…(Updated 06/Oct…still more to come) « Visceral Observations

  49. haha…great post!!!..
    I sat on the first row sometimes..because the Profs assume you’ve done your reading and don’t pester you with questions!!!!!
    I love the Calvin and Hobbes ending toO!!!

    Reema: Welcome to my blog. Thanks! Keep visiting.

  50. Hi Reema,loved reading your post :)

    I was a thirsd bencher during schools days,but during college days,I used to be in last row..Well,we had 4 rows alone,just a small class of 40..But for some starnge reson,I was looked upon as a ‘intelligent studious’ girl..lol..that not many familiar teachers didn’t bother to disturb me even when i fell asleep..lol..miss all those days..As i told,there were 4 rows alone and i would do things (err,not anything serious,just eating chocolate,drawing my own monkey pictures,etc etc etc),as pretend as if professor is not watching me..When one day i stood on the platform to take a seminar..gosh..i was so embarassed..My seat wa so visible that even a small movement would be noticed..

    Sigh..I relaized this at the end of four years,so no chance to act good..

    Your post made me go back to my days 2-3 years back..thanks for that..Lot of memories down the lane..as fresh as today’s morning flowers..

    Reema: Thanks! I’m happy u liked my post.

  51. Pingback: My Random Thoughts - Special Edition « My Random Thoughts

  52. Pingback: Final List of Nominated Posts « Visceral Observations

  53. Pingback: Avant Garde Bloggies Awards - Winners « Visceral Observations

  54. Pingback: A Tinge of Narcissism « My Random Thoughts

  55. ROFL!!man you must be some teacher and def must have been some student :D
    You are bang on target with all and I mean ALL of your categories :D

    I was the outlooker then a defaulter then a third bencher:D

    and in college completely Calvin :lol:
    used to ask just these kind of questions and drove my History lecturers batty! :D

    so cute you pretended to be a vegetable seller?:D
    so cute :)

    Did anyone buy from you?:D

    waiting for your post on lecturers :D
    that should give an insight ;)

    loved this post!absolutely loved it!and I can see why and how so many have identified with it :D

    Reema: I am glad u liked the post so much :) The thing is even as a teacher I havent forgotten my student days so I see through my students better and understand them better. My mom just used to say we would like to buy the sabziwali :D

  56. Pingback: Blogging Experience So Far… « My Random Thoughts

  57. Pingback: Vote for Me at Indiblogger « My Random Thoughts

  58. I was unique in this. I was in the first bench, un-interested in most of the subjects except computer programming. There was another guy by my name who was also in the first bench of the next row. He used to be the topper in all the subjects except computer programming. But the irony was, I was doing my ECE!! And most of the papers were like Optical Fiber Communications and Electrical Circuits and things like that, which I never understood!

    Once I went to a teacher (for failing in class tests, I always passed in Univ. exams) and told her that I will not study something that I don’t understand completely (or even a bit), and she told me that I was fit to go back to UKG where a lot of pictures are shown to teach names of fruits, places etc! From that day, I have been pondering about it ;-) Should have taken CSE!! I don’t work as a programmer, that’s a different issue all together, but could have got a better percentage, nevertheless.

    Destination Infinity

    Destination Infinity

    • Yes this is very important. One must only take what is suitable for one’s aptitude and understanding. Electrical subjects can be very hard to understand at times. I chose Electrical over electronics and telecom and never regretted. I found Electronics subjects to be all Greek and Latin.

  59. Im not on the list.

    I’m probably what you’d label a “second bencher” – Aside from it being literal ofcourse, i was the kind who paid attention only so long as there was something worth paying attention to. I scored top of the class marks, cheated when necessary, helped others cheat when necessary, turned everything into an oppertunity to please the girl and made fun of those who couldn’t.

    I also cared, which is unusual for someone like me.

  60. Interesting classification. Taking a dig at the students on Teacher’s day, eh? Wait till someone classifies the teachers. I can come up with hundreds extempore – OK, I’ll leave it at that. You know what I mean ;)

  61. Well I used to be the first-bencher for two reasons – Firstly, I had no choice since I was among the shortest in the class (in school). Secondly, the only way you do not fall asleep during the lecture and face consequences later is by occupying the fist seat. ;)

    Loved your blog!

  62. Ha ha Interesting post. Being an Electronics engineering student four years ago, network Analysis was my nightmare also. Only those who have suffered from traumas of subjects in Electronics and Electrical Engg streams can feel the pain of your post from heart.

    Great!

  63. Pingback: The Post Tag | My Random Thoughts

  64. Ha ha ! Hilarious post Reema ! Me and P were back benchers in school, oblivious to everything going on in the class and rudely awakened only when given punishment. Graduated to the third bencher after that and became a first bencher in college just to avoid the back benchers who had graduated to third benchers :)

Come On! Say Something!

