Confessions of a TV addict – Part 2

Continued from Part 1

Part 1 was mostly about Doordarshan and cartoon shows. So now coming to non-Indian serials….the top slot is taken by F.R.I.E.N.D.S…what else!!!! I have watched runs and re-runs and re-re-runs so many times that even my Mom knows which episodes I have already watched and recognizes all the characters. But still they make me laugh as if I’m watching for 1st time. And I miss having such a group of real friends. Here some of the best moments from the show.

Then I liked the serial “Charmed” a lot as I just love fantasy and magic. It was a story of three sisters who were witches. I watched only few episodes when it was being aired. I never thought I would be able to watch starting from season 1 to final season until now when I discovered all seasons are available on the Internet. And I watched season 8 last episode sneakily on Youtube first to see if it all ends well. It does.

Few years back, Sony used to telecast some of the best serials ever!! Bewitched, I Dream of Jeannie, Who’s the boss, Silver Spoons etc etc. in the evening slot and we used to watch daily. Some of them inspired movies which never did as well the series. I simply loved the shows.

And last but not at all the least….it may sound strange but a Chinese/Korean serial dubbed in Hindi which used to aired on the channel HOMETV was my favorite…back in 1997….I watched the whole series 4 times continuously as HomeTV used to re-run a serial just after it used to end. That was the best summer vacation. But sadly it had sad ending, like all Chinese series do. The series was called “Blood Stained Intrigue” and I was simply crazy about it.

The End

37 thoughts on “Confessions of a TV addict – Part 2

  1. I have seen only FRIENDS from the list. According to me, this show is one of the best things that has happened to mankind !!! I havnt met even one soul who disliked FRIENDS. I second your opinion too, each time I watch the reruns, I feel like Im watching it for the first time.

    Reema: Two words- FRIENDS Rule!!

  2. We were so Crazy about friends… I had a room-mate in Bangalore…We called ourselves Joey and Chandler. Me being Chandler and he being Joey. Fun times …! I now watch multitude of sitcoms – Still standing, Everybody loves Raymond, That 70′s show, Grounded for life all that!

    Reema: Oh I used to watch Everybody Loves Raymond and That 70′s show too!!

  3. I can recall…

    Small Wonder….

    Remington Steel… (Pierce Brosnan…..Sigh!!!)

    Talespin….

    Ducktales…


    Reema: I also liked small wonder!! I have mentioned Ducktales and Talespin in the 1st part of my post. Check out that post. I have never seen Remington Steel.

  4. @ Reema:

    “..And I miss having such a group of real friends.”

    I do not know anyone who has such ‘real’ friends. The characters are reductionist caricatures of real life.

    That does not stop me from watching re-runs sometimes. :-)

    Reema: Yes I guess that is also true and a huge comfort!!

  5. There was some quote by Bill Gates to college students which goes something like this:
    ‘In real life, people have to get out of coffee houses and go to work’ :D

    What Shefaly says is completely true..

    But i’ve a friend who reminds me of Chandler very much.. for a number of similar characteristics like cracking stupid jokes (sarcastic ones on friends), playing foosball, trying to woo girls and fail, -to- we guys thinking he was gay initially :D :D

    Reema: Hey nice quote!! And I suppose U r Joey? :P Hitting on women with your how u doin’ line?

  6. hey i’m a BIGGGGG fan of F.R.I.E.N.D.S.
    i have all da 10 seasons on my comp.. my frnds n i watch it like a movie… we nevr get bored of it..
    just by looking at da episode for 2 mins i can tell u wat happens when , the dialogues n evrythin
    i hav a HUGE crush on chandler.. !!!
    i love his comments…

    I also used to love I dream of jeanie.. wud watch it many yers back… wud watch Small WOnder, Bewitched, I Dream of Jeanie, Who’s the Boss, Silver Spoons..
    Then came F.R.I.E.N.D.S and Full House, Hogans Family, Three’s Company..

    Now all i find on television is reality shows… !!!

    I don’t watch tv at all anymore

    Reema: I also dont watch TV anymore except news and channel V sometimes.

  7. Well, I too ahve watched re-runs of Friends. Have you ever watched Wonder Years? I dream of Jeannie by Sidney Sheldon used to be my favourite. I was then growing on staple diet of Sidney Sheldon books too.

    I have known many Malaysian and Thai fans of Korean serials. THis is the first I have seen an Indian raving about Korean serials.

    Reema:Yes! I have seen Wonder Years but didnt like it when the protagonist grew up. Ohh I loved this particular Korean serial!

  8. Freinds anyday:))

    actually… when we were in London… on those free channels..this was the only thing to wtach for :)

    was interesting :))

    Reema: Yup FRIENDS rule!

  9. I never watched Charmed and the Chinese stuff on your list, for rest of them, I was called gluestick.. cuz I got stuck to the TV wen any1 one of those is on air.

    Reema: Me too!! I even bunked tuitions in evening to watch Bewitched!

  10. Hi 5 for F.R.I.E.N.D.S.!!
    Yeah, i was a friends nut too, still am, have all the seasons on dvd, and watch them whenever there is nothing else to do… I am so crazy about the show that i am trying to develop into a mixture of joey and chandler’s personalities actually ;)

    Reema: LOL :D why not ross?? why doesn’t anybody try to be like ross?

  11. U r a sweetheart.. That was amazing.. I grew up with FRIENDS and its a part of our lives (us siblings). And we have all seasons stacked up.

    Why don’t u write a post/or do tag related to FRIENDS. Something innovative.. I am sure you will come with some innovative stuff…

    Btw, it’s hard to say just one fav, yet who would be your favorite?

    Reema: Awwwww *blushing* I too have all the seasons. Thanks for the compliment. I will try. Oh definitely Monica!

  12. i guess i have read this in ur blogspot archives .. :O
    i used to follow only i dream of ginne.
    i was not that interested in freinds though i used to see it .. :P

    Reema: Yes its there but I decided to republish it in wordpress when I shifted to wordpress. OMG!! U didnt like FRIENDS???

  13. Yay! I have one of the FRIENDS..actually all of us do…Nikhil is Chandler Bing :)
    But in all seriousness, those are just characters – well thought out by the writers.
    I love love FRIENDS, used to watch Charmed too. Some others – Wonder years, Sabrina the teenage witch ( I know lame ;) ), House MD, Gray’s Anatomy, MASH (my all time favorite almost equal to friends), Remington Steele (one that started makin me like Brosnan :)), Studio 60 at Sunset Boulevard….list really goes on…
    Whoa now that I see what I have typed; I realise how much of an addict I was; though now I hardly watch TV here in India. Reasons may be we have only the free channels here (long story!) I used to have my TV switched on all the time when in the US, it was my constant companion when no one was around.

    Reema: I have to see now what is this series Remington Steel!! Every woman is raving about it. Nikhil is definitely Bing!!

  14. Gosh!! I still watch Friends – absoulutely my all time favourites as well :) Now a days, sundays are dedicated to watching ugly betty, private practice, desperate housewives are hilarious and the ghost whisperers …..

    Reema: I liked desperate housewives too but now I have not watched so many episodes due to late time of the show that now i dont feel like watching it anymore. I like Ghost Whisperer too!!

  15. Friends is the only serial I watch with any regularity and that too I have watched the episodes earlier! On my birthday my daughter presented me with a series of all the Friends! Now one day I am going to sit down and watch all of them… again! :)

    Reema: So sweet of ur daughter!!

  16. aww Friends is loved by so many. Too bad I could never get used to it. They just seemed so ‘caricatured’. Well into their thirties and they were still stuck in their early teenage.

    I enjoyed and still enjoy Seinfeld! AN eternal classic. Now, Everybody loves Raymond takes the cake post marriage. ;p … and of course Jon Stewart’s Daily show and Stephen Colbert’s Colbert Report.

    and hey, what about House????

    Reema: Yes Everybody loves Raymond is a must watch for every married couple! :) I have never seen House though my sister loves it!

  17. Friends undoubtedly beats them all! Considering I am Pheobe buffet/ay, I think I call it an immensely popular sit-com! :-D

    Charmed.. was a fave sometime back..

    Oh!! Remington Steeeeeeeelllllllllllllllllll!!!!!!!! :-D

    Have u seen this one about 2 friends.. one is called ‘Six’.. these 2 high school girls… Damn it! Can’t remember the name, but that was a fave too!

    & ALF!!! :-D

    My latest fave thoughis, “How I Met Your Mother”!!! Its Brilliant!!! :-D

    Grown up Doogie Howser rocks as Barney!!! Simply Fantastic, that dude is! Must Watch! :-D

    Reema: Its Buffay!!! 100%! Sadly I used to be a TV addict now I have internet :P

  18. Don’t kill me but I have not watched a single episode of FRIENDS. :) But I am thinking of buying the DVDs. I have heard so much about it that I have to see it. (Ya, I know you are going to scream like that guy in the PSPO add)
    I have also not seen Charmed but I have seen the rest of the programs. The one which came on Home TV was my favorite too.

    Reema: OMG!!!!! Amit hasnt seen FRIENDS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :-o Aailaaaaaaa! But I forgive u cuz u have watched Korean Serial!!!!! I’m so happy to find someone who has!

  19. Why dont you check out the “How i Met Your Mother” ??
    Its from the makers of FRIENDS and i feel its much better than Friends .. my opinion though.. ;)

    @ Aparna Gonibeed: i love the Barney !!! dary .. legendary :)

    Reema: Oh I will surely check it out!

  20. Friendssss !! I saw all the videos you’ve posted again !!
    I love JOEY the best…!! He is really amazing !!
    I love Ross’ UNAAGI or JOEY DOESN’T SHARE FOOD !! :D
    I’ve seen all the seasons again and again !! I can go on about it, I’l stop here :D

    I used to watch Sabrina – The Teenage Witch 4 years back. They’ve never aired it any more. Zee Cafe was fun with Full House, Wonder Years and Dawsons Creek. Have you seen The Big Bang ?? Its hilarious !! They stopped airing it a few months back.

    I used to be a Disney Channel fan…now, I just love Life With Derek.
    I loved Drake and Josh too !!

    I watched Heros and Prison Break season 1 and 2 on DVD. Loved them both, though they were a bit dragging….

    I used to watch The OC ( <3 Seth Cohen !! ) till they killed Marissa and everything sucked later on.

    Reema: Never saw Sabrina though I have read the comics. Zee cafe just repeated serials that used to come on star world. Till date Star World is the best channel! I have left watching TV since sometime so never saw all the series U have mentioned.

  21. FRIENDS is my favourite TV show. I have DVDs of all the seasons. I watch them on TV virtually everyday. Chandler is my favorite character.
    My other favourite shows are Everybody loves Raymond, Two and a half men, Home improvement and Gillmore girls. In Hindi I love Sarabhai vs Sarabhai.

    Reema: Nobody even talks about poor Ross! I have heard a lot about Sarabhai vs Sarabhai. Have to watch it someday.

  22. i have watched only a few episodes of fRIENDS but loved watching “Remington Steel… (Pierce Brosnan…was he cute!!!)” *bigger sigh than Rashmi’s* :)

    I like watching suit life of zack and cody & my wife and kids! these are fun to watch! :)

    Reema: Fir wahi serial. Ab to dekhna hi padega aakhir mamla kya hai.

  23. I loved I dream of jeannie..the actress who played jeannie was so incredibly beautiful..
    You seem to watch lot of TV Reema..

    Reema: Oh yes I did till I went to college. Hostel life got the tv addiction out of me.

  24. Am sure while writing you would have been nostalgic :)

    Have seen quite a many episodes of Frenz and loved it.

    I Dream of Jeeanie to we used to watch religiously :)

    I also used to watch Small Wonder. The robot girl was too darn sweet :)

    Lovely post

    Reema: Thanks!!! VICKIE was too good! U know there was a Hindi serial “inspired” by that series? Needless to say it sucked!

  25. Tell me that! I have been watching the Best of Friends series as well as the season on both Zee Cafe and Star World whenever my TV and I are available for each other. You start living with them.

    Reema: Its just pure unadulterated fun which lasts half hour!!

  26. Nothing can beat F.R.I.E.N.D.S. :D

    I loved watching Bewitched and I dream of Jeanie.. I wish I had magical powers like them. Bewitched is on Hallmark Tv now..

    Reema: Oh really!! But I think our cable provider gives Hallmark TV. :(

  27. No one likes to be Ross, he has had 3 divorces, of course by little fault of his own, but still… and he is a geek.. and he is not so good with girls.. and he doesn’t have good sense of humor like chandler… so i guess thats enough reason..
    on the other hand, we have chandler, master of jokes and joey, master of seduction… i say put ur hands together and we have girl at the copy place in a tub of jam ;)

    Reema: Loved the last line of your comment!!! :D

  28. My sisters loved Charmed and I got hooked late and then watched the previous seasons.

    Love Bewitched and Jennie. I grew up watching The Cosby Show too..very funny.

    Of course Friends…

    Now I watch Grey’s, and LOST. Have you watched LOST..OMG that show is addictive

    Reema: No I don’t like reality shows so I avoided LOST.

  29. I remember sony airing Different strokes, it was about a mixed family with the famous catch phrase “what you talking about Willis” oh that was fun.

    Reema: Welcome to my blog! yes I watched that show too. The small kid was cute. Keep visiting!

  30. thnx a lot….i was frantically looking for the show “who’s the boss”..but couldn’t recollect the show name…brings back so many memories..:)

    Reema: You are most welcome!

Come On! Say Something!

