Fun Time of Year – Part 2

So while a friend is giving test at work, another is slogging hard with his female colleagues, another doesn’t even have a holiday on Dusshera and rest of you being equally busy, I’m enjoying today the first day of my 3 days holidays i.e. Mahaashtami, Mahanavami and Vijayadashmi. I’d said in my part 1 post that I have yet to do the shopping. So finally I was able to prepare for Durga Puja by buying 3 dresses and 1 pair of shoes. I’d also said that my next photos will be those taken from my new digital camera. After much brainstorming with my sister and bugging her and to a much lesser extent Suda and Sakhi too, I finally bought my first digital camera. Yippeeee! Presenting Sony Cybershot DSC W170 :-

Continuing the fun time, yesterday i.e. on Mahasaptami I went with my family for Pandal hopping and had a wonderful non veg dinner at a newly opened restaurant after visiting only two pandals. Thankfully I didn’t have any bad waiter experience. So here is a slideshow of the first photos taken by my new camera of my shopping and pandal hopping.

I also shot a video with the camera. Here is the video of playing of Dhaak during worship of Maa Durga.

But sadly its not all play and no work. I too have work to do. I have to evaluate 130 answer sheets of the recently conducted mid semester tests. Sigh! But that will be done on Dusshera. Right now in evening more pandal visits and more photos!! There will be a part 3 to this post series.

37 thoughts on “Fun Time of Year – Part 2

  1. 130 answer sheets??????????? :-O

    Congarts for the new camera and the results are real good :)

    I too have an off on Dussehra, planning to sleep eat & sleep :)

    Reema: Thanks!! Happy Dusshera!

  2. Arey wah.. great snaps and you didnt send me those sandals ka photo on mail!! :P :P

    Officially, congrates on new camera!! :)

    Enjoyeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!! :D

    Reema: Oops I forgot! Thanks!!!

  3. Nice photos. I think the camera is doing its work well.. How much did you get it for? ( I am also on the look out for a user friendly camera)

    Reema: Thanks! I got it for 17000/- including memory card.

  4. Hey nice digi dear! Good resolution of snaps… 8 megapixel?
    130 answer sheets…enough of pandal hopping teacher, get back to work. :D

    Reema: Thanks! No its 10 MP. Sigh! holidays over :(

  5. That’s a lovely camera. Congratulations!! 130 papers is a lil too much. All the best!

    You are really lucky. I have only one day off :(

    Reema: Thanks! Holidays are one of the benefits of a teaching job :)

  6. Shoes? You mean chappals? :D
    Those are NOT shoes!! :P
    Anyway, nice pics… Your dresses are supposed to be worn on jeans, right? The ultra-modern look…? :D
    Congrats on your first digicam! I remember how excited I was when I bought my first camera! :D

    Reema: Humph! Ok Mr.Editor. Thanks! No dear those are the kurtas of kurta-salwar pairs. Don’t u remember the pic in blue suit?

  7. whao ..!! 10 mega pixel .. !! :D
    thats awesome … :D
    130 answer sheets …thats a lot …
    PAss them all :P

    Reema: Cant pass them all as those are class test answersheets. Have to grade those strictly so that they perform well in final semester exam.

  8. Congrats for the cam..

    Pandals are awesome.. never seen any of this kind in real till date… i guess I m missing some fun..

    Keep taking pics…and posting too…

    Reema: Thanks!! I will surely

  9. Have a fun time with the camera ;)

    But 130 ans. sheets on a single day ..

    Gosh thats gonna be aching for sure..
    ATB for the correction :P

    Reema: Thanks!

  10. hey nice dresses and loved those ethinic sandals too…and btw congrats for the camera..we too have sony’s cybershot..i love the camera!! we share lot of similar taste :)

    Reema: Thanks! Same pinch!

  11. Thats a nice cam. How much did it cost ?( I know, I know, I could google it!! )

    We have no days off as well, but I am on leave since last Thursday, thanks to conjunctivits :(

    and like everyone else…130 answer sheets ??????? Do you put marks based on paper weightage :D

    Reema: Thanks! It costs 17000 including memory card. How is your eye now? No I grade answer sheets according to correctly solved questions :D

  12. Congrats on your cam. Happy Snapping away!! :) The pandals look good…hope to see more pics of the other pandals you visit.
    Happy Mahanavami! (since it is close to navami already now :) )

    Reema: Thanks dear !! Will post more pics soon.

  13. Aha! Camera aa gaya!!!Camera aa gaya!!!
    Now we will be having some good photos. :P
    Congratulations!
    And 130 is a huge number. Just give some to your Mom n Dad. :)

    Reema: Yeyyy! Dhingchaak dhingchaak! Thanks! I don’t want to torture my parents :)

  14. Hey 3 days of holidays is cool. I guess it must be all festive mood in India while we work here in US :( Good camera, congrats on that. 130 Papers to correct is huge but i am sure you will get by that easily. Nice Pandals.

    Reema: It is festive mood here but still the IT and other private sector have no holidays except on Dusshera. Thanks!!

  15. make hay while sun shines! all work and no play makes reems long for a holiday!! ;) as is evident from the post. i think i can sense the excitement of having 3 full days all for urself… its not the same with me… unfortunately :( prolly ‘ll have fun only for a few hours…

    Reema: yes I’m in a festive and holidaying mood! Ohh why? Do u have tests or something?

  16. Nice, clear pictures Reema! Now we shall see more photos from you I guess! Always livens up a blog. Maybe some headers too?
    btw, I want to ask you how you reduce the size of a video to post on utube. Is there a software for it?

    Reema: Thanks!! yes more pics but I’m an amateur who doesn’t know much of photography. So my headers wont be as cool as yours :) I have replied to your query on mail.

  17. @Reema
    No, I am not back….. life is still unpredictable….. future is still dark….. not even a tiny piece of idea for what will happen tomorrow…….. you know it!!!!
    conclusion: I am not commenting on your posts :D , but I can’t resist replying when my dear Nita Mavshi ask for help :)

    Reema: Keep the faith! Hope to have you back soon.

  18. no tests… i’ve got a few private classes to attend…. and by the time i performed pooja of my vehicle, it was 8 in the evening… whereas whole of my family did it together earlier in the day… :(

    Reema: Oh ok.

  19. @ Reema:

    Somehow reading the title reminds me of this song:

    http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=T8YCSJpF4g4

    PS: When I lived in Calcutta, my first day in the city was Mahaalaya. I saw in 2 days, some 48 Poojo pandals, which my landlady said she hadn’t seen collectively in 30 years. :-)

    Reema: Nice song!! :) OMG!!! I’m sure it must be many years back when traffic was less. Now it takes so long to go from point A to point B that its impossible to see that many. Then of course in Kolkatta there are pandals in every neighbourhood.

  20. Pingback: Durga Pujo 2008 - Photo and Video Feature « My Random Thoughts

  21. oooo Nice pictures gurl! Seems you have been really having a blast with all the pandal hopping. Sadly for me, Have been working my A$$ off thanks to the financial turbulance. I havent been able to attend a single durga pooja :(

    Reema: Thanks! Oh it must be really hectic and stressful for you over there.

  22. 130 answer sheets! you are surely going to go mad :D
    but nice pictures ! and thanks for sharing the pics of the durga pujo with your new digital camera! oh sorry forgot to congrats you for your new purchase! enjoy cybershotting! :D

    Reema: Thanks and the pleasure is all mine!

Come On! Say Something!

