Sister and Me

sisters5

A younger sister is someone to use as a guinea-pig in trying sledges and experimental go-carts. Someone to send on messages to Mum. But someone who needs you-who comes to you with bumped heads, grazed knees, tales of persecution. Someone who trusts you to defend her. Someone who thinks you know the answers to almost everything. -Pam Brown

I was a guinea pig when she tried out her experiments and ideas like making that swing fan over our bed to be used during power cuts! Not only sending on messages but carrying the dictionary, bringing the jhadu, hanging the mosquito net..I have done it all. I have gone and got myself hurt every other day while playing but she was there to save from my father’s scolding and to apply bandage on my poor knees. I used to come crying loudly – “O re didi dakh na ki holo” meaning “Didi, look what has happened” while shedding copious tears. She had soothed me when I complained that the doctor pierced my hand with a needle and made a circular mark with pen. When I was very ill back in 2000, she was more distressed than anybody else. If I bug her 100 times with same question and she would answer me patiently every time!

me and sister

My sister taught me everything I really need to know, and she was only in sixth grade at the time. -Linda Sunshine

She used to read a lot and whatever she found interesting she would share with me whether I was interested to listen or not! She still does that :)

If you don’t understand how a woman could both love her sister dearly and want to wring her neck at the same time, then you were probably an only child. -Linda Sunshine

She would irritate me by singing jingles of advertisements, by asking me to do work when I was happy rolling around on bed, by making me learn Sanskrit and Bangla in summer vacation and so on!! There have been huge verbal duels (we never fought physically) too. But thats best part of it..you know you can fight like crazy but still that person can’t break the relation…Its a blood and soul relation after all!! The joys of having her as my elder sister are far more than the cons of it! :) and I can’t even think of one!

ME N DIDI

She would come to my rescue every time parents tried to scold me. She would listen to my chatter, my stories. She would play dolls with me and drink false tea at my tea party. She would appreciate my drawings and she would make handicrafts for me. She would do my homework and make diagrams for me. She would be waiting for me at gate when I returned from school. She would try to advice me…try because I don’t listen to advices :D She would always keep my best interests at heart. She still does that! :D

Sisters don’t need words. They have perfected a language of snarls and smiles and frowns and winks- expressions of shocked surprise and incredulity and disbelief. Sniffs and snorts and gasps and sighs- that can undermine any tale you’re telling. Pam Brown

She and I share all sorts of code words and code names. We don’t need to speak out to understand each other or to communicate to each other if we are in a crowd. We understand each other’s facial expressions :)

She is your mirror, shining back at you with a world of possibilities. She is your witness, who sees you at your worst and best, and loves you anyway. She is your partner in crime, your midnight companion, someone who knows when you are smiling, even in the dark. She is your teacher, your defense attorney, your personal press agent, even your shrink. Some days, she’s the reason you wish you were an only child. -Barbara Alpert

She has seen both the angelic and devilish sides of me. She has been my secret keeper, partners in many crimes, midnight snack and talk companion. And from class 4 maths to class 5 Sanskrit to class 12 biology she has been my teacher. But there was never a single day when I wished I was the only child!! I can’t imagine what I would have done without her!

The mildest, drowsiest sister has been known to turn tiger if her sibling is in trouble. -Clara Ortega

She is a calm, patient, shy and reserved person. (I am just her opposite….though I may appear the same.) But woe begone if someone dare hurt me in any way! Once she went up and fought with neighbors because I had fallen down from bicycle due to their dog.

An older sister helps one remain half child, half woman.

No matter how older I get, no matter if I get married and have kids of my own, I shall always remain her kid sister!! And I am afraid she would still call me by those strange nicknames! (Don’t ask what are those!!)

So my dearest Didi, today on Aug 5 that is sister’s day I want to tell you that – There is no better friend than a sister.  And there is no better sister than you. :) :)

sisters_day_candles

Coincidentally this year both Rakhi and Sister’s day were on the same day!

58 thoughts on “Sister and Me

  1. I have always believed Raksha Bandhan to be siblings day. I don’t like brother protecting sister theory behind the day. It should be a day of siblings celebration.

    I don’t have a sister but your post conveys what a beautiful relation it is.

    Happy Sister’s Day!

  2. Is that so? I didnt know.

    Lovely memories. I feel likewise. Though I have no sister of my own, I have loads of cousins and have never missed a sister.

  3. Such a sweet post Reema. I too had no idea that there was a sisters day. I think when the gap between sisters is more than 4 years, as seems to be the case here, the protectiveness of the elder sister becomes pronounced. I don’t have a sister, but I always wanted one!

  4. sister’s day :)

    cool

    and lovely narration

    when you comment, can you please leave your wordpress url too.. it would be helpful for me to hop back immediately, cos i dont use rss feeds/blogrolls..

    heavily populated.. thats y

    cheers

  5. Happy Sister’s Day !! :)
    I don’t have a sister though sometimes I wish I had one. I have an elder brother and I share the same kind of relationship with him!! He’s just like a friend to me since, like most elder brothers, he’s not at all possessive and lets me do what I want to, though he advises me at every step :) Even if I don’t take his advice, he stays by me :) Just as a friend would do. It’s nice to have siblings. :)

  6. Wonderful, sweet post Reema.. :-) I am now thinking why me and bro were not like you and your sister… we had very little fun :-(
    happy sister’s day to you and happy rakshabandhan :-)

  7. I always wished I had an elder sister. There were a couple of cousin sisters who were elder to me, and they were guiding me so much, when I was young. So, I actually wanted a elder sister like that. But having a brother is sometimes good – you can play cricket and fight with him. Which we did a lot!

    Destination Infinity

  8. Happy Sister’s Day! Such a sweet post. I have 2 elder sisters, and I share the same sentiments :D Your sis, Nomad, must be so proud of you :)

  9. what a lovely post… there is a way with sisters isnt it :)

    we are 3 sisters we fight like crazy but then the next min we are back hugging each other :)

  10. I am the oldest of 4 girls and the closest to my 2nd sister. There is a special bond between all of us. I can so relate to this post.

    What a beautiful tribute to your sister.

  11. I think they are all different kind of relationships. 2 brothers, 2 sisters, 1 sister 1 brother. Its different in all the three cases.
    I had a friend who were 2 brothers and 2 sisters. I was always jealous of him because he had the best of both the worlds.
    It was a very sweet post. So, do you meet often now?

  12. wonderful post.. I was the only child and used to be proud since I was pampered like hell.. but now after reading your post, I feel I would have enjoyed having an elder sister :( But yeah I have younger bros and sis (cousins).. I love them like anything.. get them everything they want even before they ask for it.. :)

  13. “Sister keeps us in check without holding us back”

    Gyal, what can I say? This was pleasure to read. My sister is 16 years older then I and we grew up in different countries, I have neices my age! When she came to Belize for my brother’s wedding i realized that I was missing out. That is why I have my sister-friends that I can love and be girly with. They keep me in check.

  14. awwwww THis is such a cute post Reema:)

    This reminded me of the beautiful one written by Poonam for her sis :)
    They both are really protective of each other

    I dont have a sis so have always secretly yearned for one :)
    and thats why your post made me think about it again:)
    your love for her shines thorugh in your words:)
    I remember your comment on Poonam’s post too:)

    What a beautiful bond!:)
    *touchwood*
    the pics are so cute :)

    (((((hugs)))) for the sister duo :D

  15. I did not even know 5th August was Sister’s Day!!

    And this lovely post reminds me of my sister and me, only I am the secret keeper who has seen her devilish and angelic sides and she will always remain my kids sister… and we only have around an year and a half difference :)

    This post touched a chord… and I can see I am not the only one who is feeling this way :)

Come On! Say Something!

