A Night’s Tale

So it has been one week since I arrived in Bangalore. Been busy cleaning and setting up new home, buying furniture (which, by the way, is way costlier than that in Pune), buying drinkable water :(, fighting rust problem (which was not there in Pune), roaming around in wonderful weather (way too much traffic than that in Pune), watching movies, meeting relatives and trying to stay connected with world through TATA PHOTON whose signal is simply horrible at the area we live. I had thought I would clear all blogging backlog – reading, commenting, replying to comments – but this damn connection! D’s office is close from here so we chose this area to live. But who would have guessed such an incident will occur with me one night!!! :-o

*Bamm! Bamm! Bamm!*

*Thud! Thud! Thud!*

*Bamm! Bamm! Bamm!*

*Imagining neighbors cursing us*

*Thoughts running through my head*

# wish this was the US where we could just dial 911 and call for help

# but this is India so what are our options?

          1. calling neighbors for help

          2. calling building’s security guard for help

# thank god I am here and don’t have to worry about wanting to freshen up.

# it will be kinda boring waiting here. No wonder some people bring books/ magazines. Or some people bring mobile.

# the optimistic in me always looks for the silver lining first which was the fact that this happened while D was at home. What would have happened if I was alone and outer door had been locked too?

# I swear I’ll never ever make fun of CID or make Daya jokes* again. Really need Daya now.

*FLASHBACK*

Day : 07/06/2011 – my second day at Bangalore

Time: 11.30 pm

I went to the bathroom before hitting the sack. Clicked the central lock and turned the knob for coming out of the bathroom. Knob turned. But the metal piece DID NOT go inside. OMG!!!

Bahar se koi andar na aa sake
Andar se koi bahar na ja sake
Socho kabhi aisa ho to kya ho
Socho kabhi aisa ho to kya ho

Called out to D. Tried twisting and turning the knob again and again real hard. No luck.  He even tried the Daya stunt.  No luck. Then D got his tool box and started dismantling the lock calmly while I started analyzing worst case scenario.

*FLASHBACK ENDS*

At last D managed to disassemble the whole lock leaving a gaping hole in the wooden door. Yet the small metal piece refused to budge. D passed me my mobile and I started tweeting :D and taking photos for the blog post :mrgreen: After some more dismantling, the metal piece still refused to move out from its cavity. :(

Then D used the electric drill at last to pry out the metal piece from the wood; reducing the deposit amount to the landlord significantly.

*Whrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr*

*Ddrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr*

Ahhhhh! After 45 minutes of struggle, Freedom at last! I apologized to D for chiding him the time he had bought the first household item – toolbox and electric drill. :D :D

D, my Hero, my saviour!! Who needs Daya when D is here :D

The last condition of the door:-

Next day, the handyman that he is, D fixed up the hole like this. He lamented about the only thing missing from his toolbox – a saw. :roll:

So tell me readers, have you ever got locked inside a room? If so, then how did you get out? Do share your experience in your comments!!

P.S. for the uninitiated, CID series..Sr.Inspector Daya is a character in the series who is the strongest of all the CID officers, popular for breaking open the doors ( and for jokes on the dialog “Daya Darwaza Tod Do!” ) in almost every episode and slapping the criminals.

56 thoughts on “A Night’s Tale

  1. socho kabhi essa ho to kiya ho..
    socho kabhi essa ho to kiya ho..
    hum tum ek kamray mai band hain…
    aur chabi kho jaye.. :P

    by they way great photos… have u considered photography as a career.. kya bat hai tere .. :P

  2. Oh this is the story behind daya- i have been wondering since that day- reading your tweets…
    what a terrible and frightening experience. I am glad you got rescued quickly.
    ~shiver~

  3. OMG! hugs!!
    I got locked into the bathroom by my sis as a kid and she didnt know how to unlock the door so the neighbour’s kid had come over and he unlocked the door… almost 20 yrs down the line – he and his family still laugh about it !! sigh!

    I am so scared of getting locked up in a room – its claustrophobic!
    and Tata photon worked quite well for me.. It was convenient and I carried it everywhere…

    I hope your stay improves and you adjust well .. :)

  4. We had a lock which would get locked when we pressed, and unlocks with a key. So, while going out in a hurry, I pressed the lock and went out only to find out that the keys were inside! Then we called an electrician and cut open the mouth that holds the lock using oxa blade :)

    Destination Infinity

  5. I think its quite common with these modern push button locks (i’ll prefer kundi type lock any day :D) … the house where we stayed in Bangalore had all locks with their spring faulty…. we had to pay locksmith almost 250 bucks to just help open the door every time…….

    • hmm I don’t think a plastic sheet would have helped moving the stuck metal piece. or that it is that easy. :| do u have any personal experience in opening such a lock with plastic sheet?

  6. My flatmate almost got locked in not because we have locks on our bedroom doors but because the handle had completely loosened. We probably would have had to break down the door )shudder!) if she had been stuck in and the handle and fallen out… you were obviously not panicking enough to be taking pics! :P

  7. Poor you…. You know, in our society if you conduct any activity like Drilling, or moving the furniture or get new stuff delivered after 6o clock you get a fine slapped by the association too :-(

  8. Interesting .. Ok I have this silly question .. you wrote that you went to the bathroom and tried closing the door it wud not close then you called D and all that happened trying ot get the door sorted .. In all this time which was more than a hour or so .. DID you actually manage to go to the Bathroom for the reason you went in , THE first time .. he he he he :)

    Getting locked oh yes but to mea its easy break the lock :) he he he and in my kind of job I have broken a lot of locks nad door and its quite a nice feeling THAAAAAD :)

    I have done the other way round though, left for india for 2 weeks and left the front door open :O

  9. Hilarious that it sounds now I can imagine how you would have felt to have gotten yourself locked up…thankfully I havent been there and not done that :)

    But the metal piece…fevicol ka majboot jod tha lagta hai ;)

  10. On my first job, my boss’s room was locked and I had to get in ASAP for some important documents. A credit card came to the rescue. Rest is history. Best kept history :D

  11. hehehehehhe…you tweeted and took pictures!? ROFL

    Yes, i once got locked inside the loo — at Suraj’s ancestral home — and i yelled, screamed, howled, sang a few songs, took a second bath …and was freed after 2 hours, when someone had to pee!!! “thank god for pee” was all i could say to a completely bewildered cousin :D :D

  12. I got locked once in a bathroom when I was a kid and could not open the door. My uncle climbed and jumped walls and somehow entered the bathroom and freed me :) It was so scary that time!

  13. Getting locked is a big problem.One day i took leave and my husband left for office.I accidently locked the door and i have to stay in the house for next 10 hours.I removed the automatic door next day!

  14. Yes I’ve been locked in quite a few times, our bathroom has a similar lock. But somehow, thankfully, we’ve never had to break it open.. There’s some fidgeting to be done with a knife and it just pops out :D.

    Sorry for replying back so late to your asking where I’ve been on my blog. Exams and work are the cuplrit.. And laziness combined with a block I suppose. Will get back to it soon. Thanks for keeping a tab :).

  15. Adventurous life!! :) Welcome to Bengaluru with a bang :) D sounds like my dad who inculcated the same habits in me! Having a toolbox with everything. Mum said that among everything she brought from her maika, my dad treasured the wrench that he got!! LOL!! My purchase when I went to the US and set up home, was a toolkit with everything (including a saw ;) )
    No experience being locked in, but yeah been locked out. The first day in our new apartment in the US…we brilliantly dropped our house keys with our car keys at the dropbox for car service! Neighbours took pity on us (had a friend with us too). Slept at their place!! became the best of friends :) Otherwise would have had to spend $150 on a locksmith + driving him back and forth! Went the next day to the service centre & picked our keys up. From then, left a spare set at the saviour’s place and they left one at ours :D

  16. WHOA!!! Nice… I have once been locked OUT of my house. I went to a locksmith who said he had to ruin the door (Like in the pics above) in order to open it as it was a computerized lock or something. But I came up with a new plan. I climbed up to the balcony and helped him up too. Then he opened that lock which was a normal one thankfully. :)

  17. Never happened with me but when I go inside I take my mobile & a book inside. See I go fully prepared :D

    Must have been irrtating though?

  18. welcome to Bangalore :)
    weather is great. Yes. Now. But summers in Bangalore have changed a lot. I been here for 4 years now.
    Traffic, yes, one topic to start a conversation with a fellow Bangalorean. The only way is to live with it. You can try avoidingit, but it will catch you eventually.
    Rented houses :- I wonder what your landlord is going tosay about this broken door. Pretty sure he/she will deduct the price of the door from the deposit.

    Expense – Very expensive place.

    All in all great place to live !

  19. Pingback: My Random Thoughts 2.0 « My Random Thoughts

  20. Pingback: Annual Report – 2011 « My Random Thoughts

Come On! Say Something!

