Archive | May 29, 2008

A Teacher’s Reward

Come to think of it, I have always been a teacher. And had wanted to become one since childhood as seen in this diary entry at age of 10 years. [yes I know my handwriting is bad :) ]

A teacher’s best reward is when a student goes out into the world and makes use of the knowledge gained and acknowledges the one who imparted it to him. As a child I used to teach all sorts of things to my first student…right from alphabets to dances of India [inspired by geography book] by pulling the student’s cheeks in different ways to explain difference between Kathakali and Yakshagana and of course practical demonstration by the teacher inspired from “Baje Sargam Har Taraf Se“!! I had subscribed to a children’s magazine TARGET and it had all sorts of tidbits in it..[Has any of you read it? loved the mag but it got converted to TEENS TODAY and then got discontinued] It had a travel section and in one issue it covered China. The author had given 7 Chinese sentences and their meanings…like Xia Xia (Thank you), Ni Hao Mar (How are you), Dui Puchi (Welcome) etc etc [I don't remember the rest 4 sentences]. I took it upon my little shoulders to teach those as a foreign language to my student. I used to take oral tests to make the student memorize but as the student was more interested in pulling my frock and leg, I gave up.

Two days back, that student called up from France and said “I met some Chinese people today and when I talked to them in the sentences you had once taught me they were very happy with me. I called up to tell you that today your first student has achieved success”. I was so amused and so very happy!! It made my day!! [Of course I said this too "See how it proved useful and you were never serious about it"]

Thank you dear student for humouring me and for being a wonderful playmate.

The teacher Reema in specs and her first & best student Didi
*************
Miss Wormwood: Yes, Calvin? You have a question?
Calvin: Yeah, I was wondering if we could stop the lesson here and adjourn to the playground for the rest of the day.

Miss Wormwood: Of course not. Now then, let’s all turn to page 24 and…
Calvin: Miss Wormwood?
Miss Wormwood: Yes?
Calvin: How about just me then?

**************

P.S. Knowledge never goes waste.

[Image credited to schoolclipart.net]