Confessions of a TV addict – Part 1

I’d been addicted to television since I was four years old….actually since the day we bought TV. It is rumored by my elder sister that I used to watch anything Doordarshan ( the national and only channel in India at that time) dished out; like Krishi Darshan, a program for the benefit of farmers where experts solved their problems and suggested better agricultural practices. As I grew older, my attachment with TV grew. I used to be completely mesmerized with the moving pictures and the characters. It took my family (mostly my sister) a lot of coaxing, cajoling, emotional blackmailing, scolding, and bartering to get me to study and do vacation homework.

My first passion was animation and it still remains so. I simply love cartoons and animation movies.
In this post I want to share some of the happiest moments of my life when I used to get lost in the world or visual media by the courtesy of Youtube and the uploaders.

Starting with famous series Jungle Book, Baghira was my favorite character…strong and silent characters always appealed to me. Jungle Book was such a hit among children of my generation. The old cartoon series were much better than those being aired on Jetix or CN…all Japanese and violent.

Oh I almost forgot the first ever super hit animation series He-Man!!! It was awesome….”I have the power”

There was an afternoon show featuring characters which were vegetables. Their king was a brinjal called “Baingan Raja” (Brinjal King) Sadly no video is available of that show. Then there was one called “Molu”. As the name suggests the protagonist was a mole. Again no video available.

Then I was totally in love with Genie from the series “Arabian Nights” featuring Aladdin. It was pure humor mixed with adventure. It was an one hour show where half hour was of Aladdin and other half of Little Mermaid.

Then Disney cartoons at 10.30 am on Sundays won hearts of many young and old in India. I loved Ducktales. Talespin was a favourite of my Dad. And everyone liked the pirate character (I don’t remember the name) more than Baloo.

How can I forget “daanu” aka Denver the Last Dinosaur??? I couldn’t find the Hindi version of the opening song.

Then my second passion are fairy tales and fables, especially witty ones like Akbar Birbal, Vikram Betaal etc. Further, as I became wiser, I started liking some real human characters too like our superstar King Khan who was a tv soap actor then. I liked his serial Circus very much…more than Fauji. But I could find videos of Fauji only.

My Didi’s favorite series was Bharat Ek Khoj…..and I never felt any interest in it. Infact it was a very famous show but sadly I didnt like it. I guess it was too serious for me.

Doordarshan also telecasted short films and videos in public interest and to celebrate culture and heritage of India and to promote unity in diversity. Those videos are evergreen and remembered by all who are of the Doordarshan generation.

TO BE CONTINUED…..

80 thoughts on “Confessions of a TV addict – Part 1

  1. This post is a perfect platform of links which can drag you back to past time while holding the palm of TV.

    I will add its link to my favorities!!!

  2. @Abhinav thanks! :D miss those carton shows :(

    @Robert Why u hate HE-Man?? I found Orca cute :)Nope I havent see Zim. u could have left an youtube link for Zim :) I’ll watch it there n let u know my view.

  3. Oh… the good ol’ TV !!!
    “chhipkali ke nana hain… chhipkali ke hain sasur” …. hehehehe

    I still remember how me and my sister eagerly waited for the ‘Disney Time’ on Sundays.

    There was another show… puppet one … ‘Potli Baba’. I liked that too.

    And Jungle book is of course an all time favorite.

  4. i am not that much attached to TV nowadays because 4 years i lived away from home withpout any TV so i am used to live without TV nowadyas ..i hardly watch Tv..
    but yeah during my chilkdhood i used to eagarly wait for chandrakanta ,jungle book,alice in wonderland…duck tales talepin ,i just used to love them
    good ol days..

  5. Oooh i love cartoons an danimations even now… i liked duck tales, he-man, and that “ek titli” so much… probably many mor but am not sure i can go on adding names here. I was crazy about shah rukh khan from fauji.. now i wonder how i even liked him then, yiiiiiiii ! :)

    Even now i love watching cartoons… my fav is disney characters.. tom an djerry! yoo hoo :)

    Went for “dashavatar”, recently released animation movie.(Told every body that i am taking my daughter for the movie, but now you know who wanted to see it actually!);) :D

  6. Well, not that addictive to TV but for movies, YES!… I sometimes watch small funny programs like the laughter challenge and Takeshi’s_Castle… :P
    I don’t watch TV much coz the remote always is there with my mom, where she will be watching those stupid, meaningless, dumb, idiotic, useless…(anymore :P ) serials. DAMN! I hate to watch those serials… I think Ekta must do something about it and start some useful ones…!

  7. I used to love Ducktales and Talespin but I only saw Jungle Book when I got older despite having the whole show on Video Tape.

    Plus all the classic Cartoon Network shows like Tom & Jerry, Dexter’s Lab, Scooby Doo etc. were my favourites. Later on it was anime’s like CardCaptors, DragonBall Z [before it got boooooooring] and Pokemon [before it got boring too!].

    I still watch Tom & Jerry sometimes but I have seen almost all the episodes. :D

  8. Yaaayy :D thank god someone else remembers Baingan Raja too…It was my favorite…..and then I liked Talespin a lot- Baloo and Ritika Mahalingam -wooooooowwwww… And I loved Jungle book like other kids…..I also liked Pingu and variety variety………
    Thanks Reema- am quite nosstalgic now….wow wish I could somehow get Baingan Raja from somewhere….eh…….if you too get it-please tell me!! :)

  9. Oopss and I just now remembered the title track- baingan raaja aate hai…yaayy…and I also like tehkikaat……….
    Am off to watch Mowgli episode on youtube now!!
    Ah you have bugged me now!! :D

  10. ooopps again- I remember daanu’s track too- chipkali ke naana hai daanasur daanasur…chipkali ke hai sasur daanasur daanasur..
    yayay..

    I hope you wouldn’t bar me after posting so many comments one after another…. ;)

  11. My parents never allowed me to watch TV and movie till class 12. So as an adult, I have become an TV and movie addict.

    I get very few hours of sleep. Reason when I return home at 8 after work, I keep TV on after that. The days I get to watch a nice kovie, I sleep soundly on time. But the days there is not anything worthwhile, I keep surfing Tv in hope to find something watchable. Till then I keep awake.

    I will watch these videos with time. But your this post gave me an idea of posting videos of my fav shows. Sounds nice to me, I can tell my sister and friends to open this post to know about my fav TV listings. :)

    • I am in need of the Ducktales episodes. Please provide me the link if you have uploaded, or suggest alternative method for sharing those wonderful cartoons.

  12. arabian nights -thumbs up ! i loved that show!

    n we r all getting nostalgic too often these days,hum sab getting old ?!

  13. @Adarsh yes I remember Potli Baba. :) I also liked it.

    @Arvind Infact I’m also not attached now because of same reason..4 yrs in hostel doing engineering :) And now I have a comp :D heyyy atlast someone who liked chandrakanta!! me too!!

    @Sakhi I liked SRK more in “Circus” :)how was dasavtaram?

    @Joel Dont know why but I hate Laughter Challenge. yes talk about women empowerment! Moms have gained control of the remote in every family. :)

    @Shefaly ohhh yes :D :D My family had tough time putting restrictions cuz I used to do my homework fast, knew all answers and came first in every unit test to annual exam even after being v insincere :D :D ( thank u God so much)so they had no point against me :P

    @Ashish I never liked animes. So u r a Pokemon fan..Plz tell me whats the hype about? Tom n Jerry is an all time refreshment. :)Cartoons on Sahara? I didnt watch that channel.

  14. @Mahak Wow!!! A baingan raja fan!! :D oh yes i loved Pingu too :)Ohh u r most welcome to post as many comments u want!! :D

    @Poonam Oh so u r now watching TV with a vengeance :) Glad u liked my post :)

    @Nikhil Only ducktales is in common?? :P :P not enough. :D Oh i would love have the collection!!

    @Sakhi No no mai pehle mai pehle *Bawling*

    @Meghana :D yes maybe we are..atleast I’m..u know recently bday effect n all :P how r exams going?

  15. wow…that was nostalgic.

    guys would remember street hawk,knight rider,johnnny socco and the giant robot,

    and some movies too..flight of the navigator,enter the dragon was also played on t.v at that time..

    [i]….all Japanese and violent.[/i]

    i know…most of them on indian channels aren’t that good…except for a few which should be watched in japanese with subtitles…

    But reema i should mention some of the best animation movies ever made are japanese…
    here are a few recommendations i bet you would like…its by studio ghibli.

    spirited away,
    my neighbor totoro,
    kiki’s delivery service,

    Grave of the fireflies….this is a real tear-jerker….dont watch it if ur too sensitive

  16. Well, theres the story for one. Plus the series was good till the end of the second season. If you’re a fan of classic cartoons, this may not be your cup of tea what with all the battles etc. But try and watch the first season and I think you’ll like it.

    Cardcaptors on the other hand was simply amazing. :D

    There were some pretty good cartoons on Sahara including Zorro, Columbus, The Jungle Book etc.

  17. I hate heman because I think the animation is bad, the writing is bad and generally it doesnt stack up against the transformers.

    :^)

    LOL

    Hate is a strong word tho. I guess I only dislike it.

  18. I remember Doordarshan days very well..Mungeri lal ke haseen sapne..Bikram aur betaal..Yeh jo hai zindagi..We used to wait whole day for one half an hour serial..those were the days..

  19. @E.H. Welcome to my blog!! Thanks for the recommendations..I’ll watch. A tear jerker animation??? i watch them only for fun n laughter :)so wont watch that one. Keep visiting!!

    @Ashish thanks for the info :)

    @Robert yes u always say that no? hate is too strong a word :D hey update ur feed reader or bloroll or bookmark. I see u arrive here via my blogspot blog.

    @Dev Same for u..update ur blogroll with my new url. :) sometimes I think one channel was better than 60-70 which we just go on surfing but mostly there is nothing good to watch.

    @Joel Entertainment is good but Ekta Kapoor is worst form of it. :D

  20. Even I remember Baigan Raja. :D The title song was something like…Jio Jio Jio mere baigan Raja. :lol: And there was a program just after that called – Best out of waste. Do you remember that?

  21. Good. I’ll be visiting regularly.
    your blog is quite interesting…especially when you end your posts with a relevant Calvin and Hobbes strip.

    That tear-jerker anime movie was quoted by a movie critic(Ebert) as the Schindler’s list of animation movies.

    So if you don’t watch your missing out on fine cinema and if u do watch you end up with 2 days of depression.
    it belongs in my top 3 with “Into The Wild” and “Life is Beautiful” for now

  22. Nice nostalgic post ..

    I used to watch Jungle Book, Mahabharat(I loved all arrows and fight), vikram-betal, disney cartoon ..

    By the way, I hv updated my blogroll and your new blog at wordpress have been added there ..!!

  23. LOL!
    Wonderful post, very nostalgic.
    I can sing ‘baingan raja’ dressed up in a purple dress for you and upload to utube :)
    And I remember your sculpting activities.

  24. theexpendable.blogspot.com

    nothing much to read there anyway…i spend most of my time reading blogs than writing my own :)
    -e.h

  25. A bit late for this post I guess. The title didn’t entice me but 42 comments did!
    Actually when I was a kid there was no satellite television so I never got addicted to it. I can’t bear to watch TV. I watch news channels for a while. I cannot watch a movie on DVD either. I see them all in theatres!! I probably sound wierd. But yeah, I’ve seen some movies on DVD. I am trying to get used to it.

  26. @Nita Better late than never ;) No dvds? I cant stand watching movies in theatres unless its a very good movie and worth watching only on big screen. And I miss the forward option when a song comes on screen. :D

  27. This is an awesome collection and you made me nostaligic. I loved the Animation Sundays – Jungle Book, Duck Tales, Tale Spin (pirate character is Launch pad and was voiced by Javed Jaffri). Genie is also voiced by Javed Jaffri, he is an amazing mimic. I also used to love Vikram Betal. Good old days!

  28. @Aditi Welcome to my blog! I never saw fraggle rock. And how could I forget gayab aaya in my post!!! thanks for reminding me :) loved the show! See u around.

  29. This is a nice blog. I too watched jungle book and chandrakantha. I also watched Raja Aur Rancho and super human cyber squad with madness. But I am wondering how do you missed the epic Mahabharath?

  30. simply lovd all those good old doordarshan shows. each one was wonderful
    even the ads,,,, remember ek naariyal ped se tuta…
    then there was..jab main chota baccha tha….
    TV now a days is complete junk
    CAN ANYBODY CONTRIBUTE TO THE TITLE SONG OF BAINGAN RAJA??

    Reema: Welcome to my blog! I dont remember that ad? What was it about? Keep visiting!

    • hi samy.. Its title song was like.. “baingan raja aate hain.. baingan raja aate hain.. sabziyon ke raja.. Baingan Raja !!” but i cudnt find any videos of it..

  31. This is pretty pretty cool. Thanks for sharing. I have downloaded those cartoons like Duck Tales, Tales Spin, The Mask, Quack Pack etc. from bit torrent. I still love watching them.

    Reema: Welcome to my blog. Those were fun days! Keep visiting!

  32. I am so overwhelmed.I am so glad someone misses Baingan Raja as i do.Even after 20yrs now i would love to get its video from somewhere if i could.

    Talespin and ……. wow.
    I feel awesome hearing these names once again.

    Thanks for this grt post.

    Reema: Welcome to my blog! Thanks. If u get the video anywhere do share with me. :) Keep visiting!

  33. Brings back fond memories. I remember watching each and every one of those shows. From what I recall though, wasn’t Molu a penguin? There was also one with Simmi, the fish. Oh, and there was this ad about people throwing trash on streets.. it was very comical but with a much needed civic message.

  34. Great Post….Very Refreshing!! Brought back many childhood memories…. running back home from school, waiting for sats and sundays(relatively unknown feeling these days)
    My Favorites from DD are :
    Telematch : Combined form Fun and Sports to give entertainment.The Games played were very innovative (Takeshi’s castle & Wipeout are rubbish compared to this old masterpiece)
    Didis Comedy Show: Have great laughs
    Fraggle Rock : My…i dint even remember the name correctly.Thanks to your post i know it. Puppets have never been such a fun or to be specific Muppets.
    Potli Baba: Quality stories with India specific content. It was very good creation of DD, my fav too. Miss these quality programs.
    Sinbaad the Sailor : Title song went sumthing like this…Agar Magar Dole naiya. It Was the cartoon that introduced me to the world of Animated cartoons, so its my fav.

    For Cartoons fans of 90s n beyond i have made a post in my blog
    http://reverberations-of-life.blogspot.com/2010/02/have-you-seen-these-cartoons.html

  35. I have seen all the above listed cartoons but never seen the baingan raja.I don’t even remember its trailor.Please tell me its airing year and please post its picture drawn by you according to your memories.I will be very thankful to you.This will also help other viewers yo recognise your “Baingan Raja”.Thanks.There was also a good cartoon named “Chamatkari Telephone” in
    the year 1991 or 1992.Do you remember it?

  36. how about dada dadi ki kahaniyan? i think it used to be on Sunday afternoons? :) used to be awesome. plus all the shows mentioned here… hehe doordarshan wasn’t so bad afterall huh?!

  37. kindly send if someones got agar magar dole naiya from sindbad the sailor , looking for it want my daughter to listen to it thanks n regards

  38. I was looking for “molu.” No one seems to remember it. Such a pity!!! And no videos either. I’m glad you mentioned it at least.

  39. hey its wonderful n really nice tht so many of u remembr baingan raja .. it was one of my fav too.
    Thr was another serial i guess , whr a person would teach hindi script and draw anar frm a and aam frm aa n so on ,,,, can any1 help me with the name of this serial , It was aired in the afternoon after baingan raja

  40. i too remember my Baigan Raja.. i was discussin Baingan Raja today with my sister, was googling about Baingan Raja & landed up here.. Its title song was like.. “baingan raja aate hain.. baingan raja aate hain.. sabziyon ke raja.. Baingan Raja !!” but sadly i cudnt find any videos of it..

  41. Remembering Baingan Raja……….. presenting songs of same for all of you……
    Chalo hamare sang ki koi rang nayein dikhayenge, ek anokhe ajab desh ki sair karayenge. sabziyon ki bauchar liye, aur khusiyon ka sansar liye… lo baingan raja aate hain, baingan raja aate hain……..

    Amazing world of vegetables were seen in this serial. I can remember one instance when tomato ego awakens, and he considers himself as fruit. But atlast illusion ended, and story settled. Really refreshing and dashing memories we all had. When these things echoed in our life, we go back to our past and refreshes ourselves. Thanx to all of you…….

Come On! Say Something!

