The Studies Reloaded

The sense of relief and happiness that all students feel after their exams are over, is indescribable in few words. The exaltation is more if the exam is the last one of whatever course the student had been studying for a long time. The sense of riddance from studying on exam’s eve, doing an “all-nighter”, the nervousness, the nausea induced due to tension, sleepiness in exam hall, sudden blankness shrouding the memory and the postmortem of the question paper; is nothing short of a pleasure comparable to the sensation caused by cocaine (as rumored by drug abusers). And after graduation, often we pledge not to fall again into the trap of education system and its encumbrances. But as I’ve expressed my philosophy earlier, one often meets his destiny in the road he takes to avoid it.

After completing my Bachelor of Engineering in Electrical, I joined Master of Engineering in another and totally different stream due to my interest. But few months later I got the job of a lecturer in my core stream and I loved it. As for the M.E. stream, its really hard for freshers to get opening. Recently I experienced the joy of last exam on the day I had my project viva. But I knew the happiness was short lived because to promotion in this profession, one has to be postgraduate in the concerned branch and for that I would have to do M.E./M.Tech in my core stream. So here I am, again treading the path of Studies & Exams to do my 2nd M.E. (along with job), causing some people to be shocked, some to be amazed, some to worry and some to falsely believe I’m a very studious person. Whereas the joke is on me. πŸ˜€ πŸ™‚ In spite of my insincerity and lack of concentration, I have managed to come a long way on this path (credit to my sister, my intelligence, memory and luck) and now I fervently hope & pray that I get through this one too, notwithstanding obstacles such as these :-

These books are only of the 1st semester. And there are 3 more books which are authored by foreign authors and available as soft copies. So wish me luck guys and girls!!

P.S. Images credited to schoolclipart.net

42 thoughts on “The Studies Reloaded

  1. 1stly loads of good luck to you πŸ™‚

    You’ve reminded me of my days. When I was about to finish my grad I had decided that I’ll try for MBA. 1st attempt was not so successful so on the inisitence of my Dad who wasn’t in favor of me sitting idle to prepare for CAT (he knew I’ll idle off ;))I had joined MA Eco.

    Preparing side by side for CAT nd all. When I got thru I left MA and joined MBA. And guess what my Dad had planned for me.
    Since in my old insti there was an option to take 2 yrs gap and join the MA back :-O my Dad wanted me to complete that degree post my MBA

    I put my foot down and decided I had had enuff of education πŸ˜€ can now only study novels ;).
    Later, for the sake of my parents I sat for Civil Services. But I know I can not study anymore πŸ˜‰

    And I appreciate you & when talk about luck & intelligence can say I understand because it is with luck that I am where I am πŸ˜‰

    S

    But

  2. I know how hard it is to study while working. After I started working, I briefly toyed with the idea of studying media management. I gave up the idea as soon as I realised that there were very few seats and I will have to clear CAT. I decided I don’t have it in me to brush up all my mathematic from scratch. I was never bad at maths at school, but my amnesiac mind doesn’t remember any simple formulas. 😦 Plus I was lamenting at our education system, that even for media management that has little to do with complicated maths, I will have to study and attempt in the qualifying exam.

    But wish ya luck on making such a difficult decision. I am proud of you! πŸ™‚

  3. I know studies are hard and totally tiring, and i don’t like studying either, but the aspect of gaining knowledge keeps me going…. and i hope it helps u too, with all ur luck, memory, intelligence, and ur sister πŸ˜›
    wish u gud luck on treading back on the paths of education and remember, its not abt complaining abt the system, but making the most of it even though it has flaws…

  4. @ Reema: With recent experience, I would say it may look hard to study while working but it is very doable. In the last 6 years, my 2nd Master’s and now my PhD are living proof that you can have a very active life, a strong professional life and degrees-in-process while commuting a lot, keeping non-profit interests more than just ‘interests’, travelling, and all other stuff one wants to do. Some people do utilise their 24 hours every day better than many others and that makes all the difference.. πŸ™‚ Good luck.

    @ Poonam: The trick with CAT is not to let it take over your life. And CAT requires no more than Class X level maths. I am sure you can do it.

  5. Don’t tell me you are complaining about studies πŸ˜€
    I know you, you are good girl. You will do take your books seriously πŸ˜›

    *end of text by Grandma*
    *start of text by Suda* πŸ™‚
    Come to Pune, we will do study together, and I will not sleep when you will study! Promise!

    Cheers
    Suda

  6. oh god,i identify with those lines

    “And after graduation, often we pledge not to fall again into the trap of education system and its encumbrances.”

    its my current state of mind πŸ™‚ and good luck for ur second M.E endeavor πŸ™‚

    @Shefaly

    I think if you are passionate about the subject and love it enough ,you will enjoy doing n number of Ph.D’s in it πŸ™‚

  7. @Shefaly: I gave just one practice paper for CAT in my life. I realized, in some cases, I knew how to go about it. But I could not remember basic. I knew answer is 6C3 (combination) but did not remember how to calculate it! Can you beat that.

    DI and language I am good, its just Maths that rankles me. Mostly because of lack of interest. Also, the exam looks impractical to me. Nowhere in real life would I need to deal (esp not for media management) with such complex situations even if they have seemingly simple solutions.

    I don’t regret not doing MBA, but I do resent myself not to take it up as a fight (something that is ingrained in me). I just didn’t have will.

  8. Oh. That would be tough both studies and work. But then you are in teaching profession right? that would give you holidays, semester breaks and if the college is known for strikes, u got everything u need there ! πŸ™‚
    best of luck for ur studies.

  9. Hey buds, all the best! why should anybody get shocked? πŸ™‚ but i am sure you are going to be great!

    work hard and success will be yours!

    Again, all the very best! πŸ™‚

  10. @Soham Thanks!!

    @Smita Dads!! Mine had wanted me to go for medical! I said one in family is enough (my sister) and I cant study 18 hrs a day. Thanks for ur wishes!

    @Poonam thank u so much!! I too cant remember all tricks n shortcuts for aptitude questions πŸ™‚

    @Perx Thanks! I aint complaining. πŸ™‚ I look forward to the challenge and hope for the best because its a difficult Engineering specialization.

    @Shefaly Yes I agree cuz I believe one finds the time to do whatever one wishes to do, be it study or keep in touch with friends. I did my 1st M.E. along with job only. πŸ™‚ So its like a second round. Thanks!

    @Chakoli Ohh u too an Engineer? which stream? In case of books I follow “strictly stick to the syllabus” πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  11. Good luck girl πŸ™‚ ..be strong ..ur different ..believe in urself n beat the whole thing around u ..be the best in what ever you do πŸ˜‰

  12. Man don’t remind of those engineering books 😦
    They were too good to act as pillow …:D πŸ˜€

    Wishing you loads of luck. hang on there !!

  13. @Suda Ohh I aint complaining!! Am I sounding complaining in the post? I’m just sharing my recent biggest happening and endeavor in life!! But ofcourse IF I’d a choice I wouldn’t do studies for so long voluntarily. But if I’m in it then I’ll give it my best shot!!
    If I come to Pune why would I study with YOU?? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

    @Meghana Thanks dear!

    @Nita Thanks! Wish theb ambition came with little sincerity ;):D

    @Taju Thanks! I’m in teaching profession and thats exactly why I have to do this 2nd M.E. and its also due to the same reasons as u cited that I can get the courage for pursuing studies and work πŸ™‚

    @Sakhi Its shocking cuz somehow people around here find so much studies shocking in general, especially for a girl of marriageable age :)Thanks dear!

    @Sandeep Thanks!!

    @Robert Ahh u know what I mean πŸ˜€ couldnt think of any other drug…how about LSD? πŸ˜› πŸ˜€ Thanks!!

    @Rekha Thanks for such encouraging words!

    @BlueMist Ohh u too? which stream? Books as pillows can give only crick in the neck.:P πŸ™‚ Thanks!

  14. ” credit to my sister, my intelligence, memory and luck ”
    So, you think you are intelligent? lol
    Your books remind me of my four years in a place called engineering college..
    So, are you teaching and studying in the same college?

  15. @Dev Ofcourse I think I’m intelligent!! Isnt that obvious from my posts?? πŸ˜› πŸ˜› LOL πŸ˜€
    But seriously I think so cuz I dont totally believe in luck n destiny And I know that I cant give credit to hardwork cuz I’m not hardworking :)my sister can vouch for that! Cant give total credit to my sister as she helped me in studies upto school level. And also not to memory cuz one cant clear Electric machines or Power systems or Networks paper by mugging up πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    yes in the same college.

  16. Obvious from your posts? lol..
    ok ok kidding..ofcourse you are intelligent..very intelligent..:P
    But you know what, I did manage to clear all my engineering courses without any intelligence( and Iam 100% sure about that) or even hardwork..:) So, am not sure if one requires intelligence for that..

  17. @Dev πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ naah not very!!
    I refuse to believe that u r not intelligent (as observed from ur posts πŸ˜€ )..if not hardwork or intelligence then what did u do? Cheat or Bribe? Even the former requires lots of intelligence πŸ˜€ Nakal ke liye bhi akal chahiye πŸ™‚

  18. Having a fixed/written curriculum, prescribed books and a time line for exams is the best thing that happens in our life. Feel good about it Reema and enjoy the experience. Future life is like an open ended set.

  19. @Reema – I am sure you would do well. All the best πŸ™‚

    My mantra is, “You gotto do what you gotto do!” πŸ™‚

    Btw you shouldn’t study, I think you should learn. A thin line of difference πŸ™‚

  20. I too have a post graduate degree but in a different subject. Well, but I was not working. πŸ™‚ I think its a little difficult but not impossible. Its a matter of moalding your brain that way.
    Best of Luck. πŸ˜€

  21. @reema, no you had the right one for euphoria.

    I just think its a lame one(the buzz I get from holding my breath lasts longer). Actually I think just about all drugs except CAFFIENE are overrated.

  22. “I refuse to believe that u r not intelligent (as observed from ur posts )..”
    My dear, you are also getting fooled by words in my blog..believe me, words promise a lot but people who write them deliver very little..:)
    As for me scraping through my courses, I guess my teachers-who did internal assessment- were fooled by my innocent face..lol

  23. @ RJ kabhi kabhi tu dimaag wali batein bhi kar leta hai! *Btw you shouldn’t study, I think you should learn. A thin line of difference*

    Wah wah!

    @ Reems

    Yeah i understand what you say. When i went for my studies my parents were adviced (unsolicited, of course!) to put that money in the bank for my marriage rather than spend on my educations! Imagine the audacity!

    Our society really needsa dractic change!

    GOD, are u listening!

  24. All the best, ma’am! Now you know what your poor student must feel like! hehehe…
    I’m sure you’ll get amazing results! Cheers! πŸ˜€

  25. Oh those books make me feel dizzy. They are so huge. Even have seen the books of my brother’s (BE in CS)…they are also so huge…! phew!

    Anyways, I wish you all the very best to you Reema. You’ll do well and I guess you are strong enough to do it… πŸ™‚
    Crack the board.. πŸ˜‰

  26. @Kiran Yes thats an imp thing about the temptation of a student life. No decisions to make. Just stick to an already planned thing. Thanks for such encouraging words πŸ™‚

    @RJ Thanks! But i think there is no difference between study and learning..rather learning is the result of studying. If i dont study how will i learn? I get what u meant though, instead of study maybe we could say mugging up and learning?

    @Amit Thanks dear!

    @Robert //the buzz I get from holding my breath lasts longer// LOL πŸ˜€

    @Adarsh Thanks dude!

    @Dev Ok ok peace!! U r not intelligent but I am πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜€

    @Sakhi God helps those who help themselves. So the people need to take the initiative to change first πŸ™‚

    @Nikhil Ohh I know what students feel like and thats why i easily connect to them :)Thanks dear!

    @Chakoli Ouch!!! πŸ™‚ πŸ˜€

    @Joel I guess thank god for small mercies.. atleast i m not in medical field πŸ˜€ Some of my sister’s books are so fat n heavy. Thanks!!

  27. Nikhil, results ?? :O

    Reema, am I really supposed to answer your sweet question here? πŸ˜€ or should we keep our little secret with ourselves?
    And you will study with me because I have no work, and there is no one here who have no work AND know you AND can stand you!!! (see I have “AND”ed every condition and not OR or XORed)

  28. Wooow…Goodluck lady! Bet, as long as you are out to pursue your dreams, you will get there! I still need to figure out to start doing my dream for an MBA. Amen, I should start soon!

  29. @Suda Sshhh! Diwaro ke bhi kaan hote hai πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Booo hooo am I so horrible that people need to “stand” me?? 😦 Huh!

    @Deeps Thanks!! All the best to u too for MBA.

  30. i am bored of BE itself… and i feel electrical is the most boring subject in the world/.

    πŸ™‚
    anyways good luck of tat..
    nice calvin and hobbes strip πŸ˜‰

  31. @Arvind LOL After all these years I still feel satisfied that I studied Electrical πŸ™‚ Anyway thats a common thing..ETC guys/girls hating Electrical. God knows why!
    Thanks!!

  32. Pingback: A Test Of Patience | riccichan

Come On! Say Something!

