My Take on Sex and The City

WARNING :- Its a chick flick and I seriously doubt whether men would like it. Those who do..well…their girlfriends/wives are lucky to have such men. πŸ™‚ Also this post isn’t a review. Its my pondering about the movie and friendship. So skip if you want.

I feel those who have seen the series “Sex and The City” on television or atleast have the general idea about the characters & story and liked it are bound to enjoy the movie. But for those who have not, its like watching “Harry Potter-13 years after” without having seen from Sorcerer Stone to Deathly Hallows. One may enjoy the special effects but still miss being really hit by the movie (in a positive way).

As for me, I watched the episodes whenever I could and in many of them I liked the way in which the workings of a female mind were quite accurately depicted and some questions regarding love & relationships were raised which I’d asked myself at some point in my life. Also it made me glad that we live in a society free from such stressful and demanding dating scene. Thats one good point of a not so liberal society..saves its people from lot of mental stress.

First of all I liked the opening song; Labels or Love by Fergie. Read the lyrics here. And its so true!! Nothing cheers up a broken heart or depressed mind like a shopping spree πŸ˜€ Shopping is much easier than looking for love. And when labels give a girl so much happiness then why run after love? πŸ˜› As Fergie says “I know you might hate it but I’m a shop for labels while them ladies lay and wait for love”. Pump up the volume and listen:-

# Sometimes we just want our friends to rejoice with us in our joy and not advice or point the pros & cons all the time.

# Sometimes we just can’t let go of our insecurities that exist in deep recesses of our hearts. One incident is enough to trigger them to resurface and we choose to act according to them.

# Sometimes even the bravest of us, the most radical of us secretly feel more strong in numbers…and feel weak when our single friend leaves our camp to join the “married” camp.

# Sometimes we labels our friends subconsciously and stereotype them in our minds and get shocked when they do anything different.

# Amidst all celebrations or pressures of life , we tend to lose sight of the other person’s and a relationship’s needs and expectations. We shouldn’t wait for a calamity to happen to open our eyes. Wake up before taking one’s partner for granted.

# Sometimes we need our good friends to stand up for us and to hold us when we are falling instead of judging us.

# Sometimes its better to be the bigger person and find it one’s heart to forgive. Everyone deserves a second chance if they are truly sorry.

The different wedding gowns were oooh la la!! And there were some very funny moments too. Mostly the instances of friendship were touching and true. To know what the 4 women ultimately do about their lives and relations, go and watch the movie. πŸ™‚ The comparison of Mumbai and Manhattan rather Indian society and New York culture is nicely depicted in an article by Namita in TOI . You can also go through Nova’s take and Poonam’s review on the movie.

Best Dialogue – “They say nothing lasts forever. Dreams change, trends come and go but friendships… never go out of style”.

40 thoughts on “My Take on Sex and The City

  1. How did you manage to have the combined feedback, in your blog. Is there some widget or tool available? I use blogger, and dont have any. Any pointer please!

    Well your Sex and the City movie review, is good. Like that Hawkeye guy has written!

  2. A chick flick…? well, i’ve never seen the series nor the movie… so, i guess i’ll stay away from it.
    But as a person who wants to enjoy a very happy married life, i think i should what ladies are made up of… if this movie halps me realise it, then i’ll give it a try…

    PS:I love to see brides in wedding gowns… perhaps these are the only moments when they look their best… πŸ™‚

  3. Nice point of view. Like you, I enjoyed the TV series and the movie too. I love the style of narration too. You have a nice blog going.

  4. Hey! Nice one…
    “# Sometimes we labels our friends subconsciously and stereotype them in our minds and get shocked when they do anything different.”
    Very very true…this has happened tu me…but i gained some really new and gud friends after givin them shocks! πŸ˜€

  5. Nice one…all of the above observations are sp true…and shopping is easier than finding love…hehe…great philosophies there…
    mind blowing post…
    And i have no idea why guys feel so insecure when their girl friends watch an episode of Sex and the city…

  6. Woww..I loved the movie myself and though did not follow each and every episode, I had a fairly good amount of idea about them. Yes, I just loved their depiction of friendships..I saw the movie when I was in the US — I think they have completely sensored the Indian version. πŸ™‚ I bet there were a lot of cuts out here to suit the Indian Cinemas.

  7. Nice thoughts on friendship Reema. I have seen about 1-2 episodes of this series and didn’t like it. Everyone seems to think of nothing but dating. I couldn’t relate to any of the characters.

  8. @Ramesh Welcome to my blog! Combined feedback? didnt get u. Thanks! See u around.

    @Harsha Ahhh I take u want to marry an Indian girl. So watch Saas Bahu serials πŸ˜› πŸ˜› Not about girls of New York!

    @Laksh Welcome to my blog! Thanks! See u around.

    @Joel Thanks!

  9. @Priya Thanks! yes I guess thats a litmus test for friendships. And u know which is real and which is false.

    @Bhavana Thanks!! I suppose the guys think of it as feminist show and dont want their gals to get brain washed.

    @Deeps Ohh good.That makes two of us who loved the movie. yes we get the censored version in India.

    @Nita Thanks! I didnt relate to their dating problems but yes as I said in my post,it really makes one feel glad that we dont live in a society where either date or u r an social outcast.

  10. Never seen the series but somehow interested in watching the movie…

    Loved your take..

    I never had a “so called” best fren in my life until 3 years. And when we discovered eachother as frenz things changed. We are comfortable with our silences, if she tells me she has to tell me something i know she will, if she wants me to go somewhere she knows i’ll never say no.

    And the best part about our frenship is that we don’t judge eachother, we listen to eachother…

    Ooops! looks like I said too much πŸ™‚

  11. it made me glad that we live in a society free from such stressful and demanding dating scene

    I agree with you and Tina. That dating stress is really too much. I saw some of those TV movies because I am interested in NY’s life. Although for a man that series is like a manual of some workings of a woman’s mind, so some angles of it are interesting. I’ll gladly read that article comparing NY and Mumbay.

  12. Well, I wanted to see this movie. And who told you boys don’t like chick flicks??? Cummon, you should know better. πŸ˜‰ But, its another thing that we prefer them mute. πŸ˜›
    Nice review….sort of. Guess, I will download it.

  13. I can never bring myself to watch it πŸ˜›
    You are very right about friendships and I don’t have much idea about dating and all, so I’ll keep quiet πŸ™‚

  14. @Smita Thanks! So wonderful to hear about ur best friend and u! God bless ur friendship.

    @MoR Heh Heh its Nita not Tina. πŸ™‚ Hows the dating scenario in Italy? I guess its really stressful in NY or maybe in whole of America as compared to Europe or India. yes some angles shown in the series were v true to workings of a female mind.

    @Amit LOL πŸ˜€ Just to ogle at the chicks. No need to listen to them,eh? πŸ˜› Thanks..sort of. πŸ™‚

    @Arvind Ohh maybe u can watch it to handle ur future gf better πŸ™‚

    @Adarsh Ahh the silence of the single mind. πŸ˜› Give it a shot for the same reason as I advised to Arvind.

  15. This is one movie I missed. Ofcourse, I have not watched any of the series in the television so far πŸ™‚ But this movie evoked a lot of interest in US for obvious reasons πŸ™‚ Good review! And I compeletely agree when you said “I think people in the west admire and desire success, talent, money, youth, and they also put a premium on hard work and honesty.”. I can relate to it too πŸ™‚

  16. ha ha ha..see the blunder of “copy-paste”..here is what I agree with you πŸ˜€
    “Nothing cheers up a broken heart or depressed mind like a shopping spree “

  17. I have not seen the TV series nor the movie! so am unable to comment much but have read, nova’s take and poonam’s review and now yours.

    what, madam, two movie reviews in a week’s span! πŸ˜› πŸ™‚

    i like this dialogue a lot β€œThey say nothing lasts forever. Dreams change, trends come and go but friendships… never go out of style”.

    great one! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Hail friendship! and i am sure that suda is going to back me on this… hai na suda! πŸ˜‰

  18. @Reems : Ahem! i was interested to see brides in wedding gowns! i pity myself for not being able to marry a blonde at anytime of my life. But, i dont think the indian women are down by any means!

  19. I am sorry. I always have problems with names, even easy ones.
    Hows the dating scenario in Italy? I guess its really stressful in NY or maybe in whole of America as compared to Europe or India

    In Italy the dating thing is more moderate and probably closer to India. Here the males have more a dating obsession, their own way (the silly Latin lover thing etc.) but I guess males are more or less the same everywhere. As far as I know America is kinda weird and is the land of extremes. We have NY but there is also rural America, Mid-West and that so-called Bible-belt area ….

  20. @Manoj LOL I was confused as to where did I write such a thing, then I read ur next comment. πŸ˜€ Thanks!

    @Sakhi This was long pending in my draft actually. Got around to post it now. :)Hail friendship!!

    @Harsha Blonde girls, eh??? πŸ˜€ πŸ™‚ A different taste I must say. Who is the inspiration? πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜›

  21. @MoR I suppose every country has extremes culture,customs and society wise. In India too there exists lots of extremes and different strata of society.

    @Hodekin Wow!! What is that u dont like about the show?

  22. @Deeps It has come in theaters in metros. And Nova from Bangalore and Poonam from Delhi have written reviews. As for me I live where every English movie doesnt come. So I watched it on comp.

  23. i’m one of the lurkers that you described in one of your other posts πŸ˜‰ but i felt i had to comment …

    you said: “it really makes one feel glad that we dont live in a society where either date or u r an social outcast.”

    i say: “having lived in a society which considers dating a normal part of life and having had parents who thought dating was dishonorable, i was forced to rationally think about this whole concept of dating. what you see on screen is really not the truth. i had a fab social life and so did my ‘white’ single friends. yes, there is always the subliminal pressure of being with someone but it is any day better than trying NOT to be with someone. meeting new people, dating, exploring what you want, who you are … it is all a part of growing up. unfortunately, i didn’t do it because i felt it was wrong (thanks mum) but now that I am happily married (thank god), I look back at my youth and feel bad about missing out on good years of me life. i’d definitely encourage my kids (when i have ’em) to go out there, meet people, have fun. i definitely don’t want them to say that they are unhappy being born to parents who would disown them if they dated.

    if given a choice

    a society that gives me the freedom to live as I want (date or not) OR a society that makes the rules for me …. i’d choose the former any day. Even if I choose NOT to date and perhaps be branded a social outcast, it’s MY choice. However, in the latter case, I don’t really have a choice. Choice has been made for me already. I am not supposed to date. Certainly don’t want any part of that. Love my freedom too much for that.”

    Light and breezy blog. Thanks!! Will be back often. πŸ™‚

  24. @Roop Welcome to my blog!! rather the comment section πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜› Thanks for the insightful comment. As u urself said a subliminal pressure exists of having a bf/gf..so that shows there also doesnt exist the complete freedom!! Well I personally have nothing against the dating society and its healthy too cuz this invisible wall between opposite sexes in our society is a reason behind sexual crimes. But what distresses me is the way they are sexually free with each n every person they r dating in 2-3 dates. I find it more distressing when they have had 5-6 bf/gf before marriage. And I also think this is what makes dating so stressful in their society for those who date.
    Thanks!! See u around!

  25. It doesnt really happen in all people, Reemz. None of my friends slept around. They were all white and came from respectable families. It really depends on the value system that your parents instill in you as it does anywhere else in the world including India. I know of plentyyyyyyyy people in India my age (cousin’s friends et al) who had sex around the time when I was only beginning to understand the concept. In villages, there’s plenty going behind the scenes. It is inhibited doesnt mean that it is not happening. Only difference between west and countries like India is that people don’t cover up polygamous sexual relationships but in india, they do. It is a taboo after all. Wouldn’t it be safer for all if it wasn’t a taboo? πŸ™‚

    u welcome!! moving on to ur new post now :p!

  26. @Roop Oh I wasnt generalising. Also my knowledge of the western culture is limited to the tv shows and movies. πŸ™‚ Glad to know all are not like that.

  27. I have always found “sex and the city” super lame. I wish the character Ms.Parker played could be anyone except her. She is freakin ugly…lol. She reminds me of an old hag (no offense if anyone here likes her). She basically took the sexy part in that series.

  28. @Ravi Though I liked the series, I agree with u that they could have got someone else and better looking than Sarah J.Parker. She is really ugly with her longgg face. No the sexy part is of Samantha ofcourse!

  29. I just watched thought that I could comment here πŸ™‚ Ever since I watched the first episode of sex and the city I felt like OMG! I can’t believe myself watching the lamest of all soap operas. But I was taken by surprise by its long version. The movie is sensible and addressed the need to have good friends when you grow old. For the first time Ms.Parker looked beautiful in this movie….earlier I found her EEWWWW…. lol

  30. Reply to Roop Rai’s comment on July 30:

    Hello Ms.Rai…Apparently all your white friends must be either fat or grew up in christian missionaries. I bet they have never heard of John Mayer or Jesse Mccarthy. Like in India there are no takers for ugly women in US too.. lol

  31. My inspiration for blond girls is Pamela Anderson lee. She is so smart and choses her roles wisely that gives her everything except showin off her skin… lmfao

Come On! Say Something!

