Sibling Possessiveness and Poem Tag

Sibling rivalry is quite a common phenomena in many families. I have seen brother-sister duos fighting it out like anything or teasing excessively or two brothers not getting along well or two sisters fighting over stuff and being tattletales about each other to parents. Not to mention many squabbles regarding property and responsibility of old parents and general emotional indifference/detachment between siblings. I know some extreme cases of siblings in which the girl child faces discrimination and one in which the younger brother beats his elder sister like anything and parents do nothing to control. But I’m not here to discuss about reasons behind sibling rivalry or to suggest solutions. But a prologue is essential before my confession. I admit that I suffer from sibling possessiveness. My sister is quite elder to me and I have always been her baby sister. πŸ™‚ And I don’t like any of my friends getting more attention from her than necessary (according to my limit). Right now my sister has this family over her place as guests and I get all grumpy seeing her cuddle and pamper their baby. Ahh!! well thats the way I am. πŸ˜€

Now RJ had tagged me to write a love poem with the mind of a 4th standard. So here it is.

Furniture maker for my dolls;

Comforter for my bawls.

Nurse for my fever;

In sharing stuff she’s the giver.

Feeds me gulab jamuns and cakes;

Diagrams in my copy she makes.

On bed with laughter we roll;

She tops in my opinion poll.

Storyteller in dinner time;

Loyal partner in crime.

Helping in studies as teacher;

Being sometimes a preacher.

Always holding my hand;

Together we are a band.

The best secret keeper;

A very heavy sleeper.

Standing up in my defence;

I’m always her preference.

Strength to me she gives;

In my heart she lives.

I know you have guessed it mister;

She’s my best friend, she’s my sister.

This is my most favorite picture and with this I wish my Didi a Happy Sister’s Day!!

P.S. For a good prose on sisters check out this link.

52 thoughts on “Sibling Possessiveness and Poem Tag

  1. choo chweet; the write up, the poem and the foto.

    To be honest, I was possessive too and when my s-i-l came into the family, I had some serious problems with her. But now, I have no other choice, I am have to get used to it πŸ˜€

    Btw, is that ur sis blog thats linked to DIDI ?

  2. Hey i never knew..there was a sisters day too!!!..i am too very possessive about my younger sis though it might not be vice versa..and regarding my brother..i guess marriage changes a lot..btw you are talented not only in your articles but also in poetry :)..

  3. Awww!!!! Damn cute poem :)hope ur sis reads it πŸ™‚

    lol @ loyal crime partner πŸ˜‰

    Me n my bro used to fight like cats n dogs and many a times i have wished to trade him off πŸ˜€ but now we are better frenz though we can still fight at the drop of hat….

  4. Very nicely done. I too have a sibling (younger brother) but am not very possessive abt him… and he too is not. Maybe because, we never wanted the same things and are worlds apart in attitude. so, we are not on the same boat most of the times. while enjoyin the differences between us, we grew up more like friends cum roomies than as brothers… so, we manage our differences very well…
    Its good to see that u have come up with such a good poem for a sister. (u see, i dont find it very common)

  5. Awww .. POem was really sweet ..

    I have no siblings .. I am the only child of my parents .. So have not faced any sibling rivalry nor any kind of sibling possesivenes ..

    Some friends tell me that u r lucky that u r alone while some say it’s fun to have an elder/younger suster and u r quite unlucky ..

    So I am still confused – Am I lucky to be the only child or Am I misfortunate for missing out sibling love??

  6. I loved the fourth standard poem!! πŸ™‚
    About siblings, you are lucky you have a sister, I always wanted one! I am fairly close to my younger brother, but it’s not the same, I mean one can’t discuss girly things! πŸ™‚
    Also glad to see your new avatar. I like it! πŸ™‚

  7. I can very well understand your feelings. I am the eldest child of the family. I remember my brother, who is 10 years younger to me getting pissed off and jealous whenever I used to pamper or give more importance to the other cousins of the family. πŸ™‚

    This is the perfect way to bully younger siblings! πŸ˜‰

  8. Chweet poem!

    I understand sibling possessiveness. In a moment of truth, my younger sister said that she hated my particular friend. She said she is soon filled with guilt when she realizes that I am happy with my friend. πŸ™‚

  9. @Vimal Thanks! yes thats my sister’s blog.

    @Swathi I also didn’t know 2-3 years back. :)Thanks for appreciating my amateur attempt at poetry!

    @Adarsh Thanks!!

    @Smita Thanks! yes one thing I have observed in siblings not getting along well in childhood is that once they r grown up they become quite good friends. After all blood is thicker than water.

  10. @Harsha Its nice how i m coming to know about other bloggers’ relations with their siblings through this post. Thanks! (coming from a good poet like u):)On the contrary I think sisterly love is more common than brotherly love!

    @Manoj Thanks!

    @Soham Thanks! I guess it depends on how lucky one is in siblings. Those who have had bitter experience will say u r better off alone and people like me will say u have missed out on something really wonderful and unique! As for me, I’m strictly against having single child cuz I think having a sibling teaches one patience, sharing, companionship, sacrifice. Here is one good quote
    β€œI do not believe that the accident of birth makes people sisters and brothers. It makes them siblings. Gives them mutuality of parentage. Sisterhood and brotherhood are conditions people have to work at. It’s a serious matter. You compromise, you give, you take, you stand firm, and you’re relentless…And it is an investment. Sisterhood means if you happen to be in Burma and I happen to be in San Diego and I’m married to someone who is very jealous and you’re married to somebody who is very possessive, if you call me in the middle of the night, I have to come.”

    ~Maya Angelou quotes ( American Poet, b.1928 )

  11. @Manasa Ohh dear its a tag!! Check out the link under the word tagged, then u will understand. I made up the poem now, not at 4th standard! πŸ™‚

    @Chakoli Awww thanks!

    @Sakhi Thanks! whats your view on having siblings? do u miss not having them?

    @Nova Heh heh πŸ˜€

    @Nita Didi used to pray for a sister when Mom was pregnant!! She says if she had got a brother she would have disowned him! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ I’m truly lucky!! Ahhh! the avatar..decided to reveal about myself little more πŸ™‚

  12. i have fought a lot with my elder sister..
    but never suffered something like possessiveness . πŸ˜›

    by the way nice poem..
    am i the only one who doesn’t write poems 😦

  13. @Bhavana Thanks!

    @Oxy Thanks! U have a twin?? I think its something wonderful. how does it feel? I have always been curious about sibling feelings between twins.

    @Willow LOL πŸ˜€ Thats a new one. So u were the bullying elder sister? πŸ™‚

    @Poonam πŸ™‚ I guess its more common in sisters.

  14. @Deeps I’m glad u did!! πŸ™‚

    @Vishesh I know brothers secretly enjoy teasing and fighting for the fun of it! πŸ™‚ SO u elder one or younger one?

    @Robert yes thats true. In the case I have mentioned I really failed to understand why the parents didnt control the abusive son.

    @Arvind Ahh! bad boy! Ohh I tag you to write a love poem with the mind of a 4th standard student. πŸ™‚ Hey what happened to ur avatar?

  15. WOW! That’s the best poem ever!!!Better than the ‘benchua’ and ‘cannibaal’ poems I wrote for you back then!

    Happy sister’s day to you too, my little one.

    And regarding rivalry, remember, I cuddle only the babies who remind me of you (this one resembles you a bit in action). I am very biased, I know!

    Your new avatar is good. πŸ™‚

  16. I think when i was in young and other kids used to take sides of their siblings while playing i used to miss having one badly!
    πŸ™‚ But once i entered college, things changed. I am very comfortable being a single child and revel in centre of attraction of my parents πŸ˜›

  17. Yes, We are twins. Me n my bro. Well, If I start talking of what you asked, it can go on and on. May be sometime I ll put a post based on that.. Sounds ok?

  18. @Reems : I am humbled by the recognition. yes, sisterly love is stronger than brotherly one. I see it that way because, in most cases, while growing up, sisters share a more intimate relationship than brothers who happen to maintain responsible relationship. So, when in long run responsibility comes to the fore, the intimacy among brothers takes a backseat and that among of sisters remains.
    The quote contains sharp truth, but in current day scenario, giving a child the most luxurious possible life is taking away from the charm from giving them siblings. In such cases, the parents should make cousins easily accessible to their children so the damage is somewhat healed.

  19. @ harsha

    *giving a child the most luxurious possible life is taking away from the charm from giving them siblings.* What a thought and put in a very well written words. Totally agree! πŸ™‚

  20. awww the poem is so cute ! i dont have a sibling so not much experience bout the fights πŸ™‚ but i do fight n love my cousins who r pretty close to me πŸ™‚

  21. @Reema
    is it sisters day today! really ! πŸ˜• ..i dint wish my sis πŸ˜† thanks for reminding !
    n
    nice sweet poem ! πŸ™‚

    i always feel that im nt a kid wen i talk wid my sis (cousin) or wen shes at home
    n rest of the time im a baby sis to my younger bro even ! πŸ˜€

    @Harsha!
    u said something really great through ur words that made me think!
    //”while growing up, sisters share a more intimate relationship than brothers who happen to maintain responsible relationship. So, when in long run responsibility comes to the fore, the intimacy among brothers takes a backseat and that among of sisters remains.”//

  22. @Soham Glad u liked the quote.

    @Nomad Love u too!

    @Sakhi Thanks!!

    @Oxy Yes! do a post about it. I’ll be glad to read it.

    @Harsha yes parents are trying to compensate with luxuries but nothing beats a sibling πŸ™‚

    @Meghana Thanks!

  23. @Reems – Damn, thats cho chweet! Aww! I don;t have a sister and I miss that. I have an elder brother and we are very “hey dude wassup” types πŸ˜›

    Btw, that pic is ultra chweeeeetttt!! πŸ™‚

  24. True true true…very true πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    am as jealous as anyone can be, too, if i see someone else getting more attention than me from my bro…well, he’s too sweet to ever let that happen…still…:)

    very sweet pic. Glad to kno thr’s so much lov btwn th two of yu!

  25. sorry i had missed this πŸ™‚

    ‘I don’t like any of my friends getting more attention from her than necessary’

    I wateched Jaane tu couple of days back.. this reminds me of Aditi’s bro in the movie πŸ˜€

    cute poem btw

  26. i m too possessive for my sister. nwd my all decision are taken by her. and she has problem with it cos she wana independent on me n i m trying for this. but the biggest problem is we are not having blood relationship. she is my di as well as my god. now she is leaving her current job n i m feeling to unsecure.she told me that her husband is too conservative by nature n he cant believe relation by heart. he believe only on blood relationship even i never met him. i think that she will forget me after leaving the job. i m too tent. wat to do? pl suggest?

  27. @Mann Hi thanks for visiting my blog. Although you seem to be disturbed about the problem in your life, I really am not the right person to advise you about this. Try to confide and seek help from some close friend you trust or a counselor, who would be in a better position to guide you! I am sure people don’t forget loved ones just because of a new life they choose. All the best!

  28. Pingback: Nominations So Far…(Updated 06/Oct…still more to come) « Visceral Observations

  29. Pingback: Final List of Nominated Posts « Visceral Observations

Come On! Say Something!

