In Memoriam

One day I found it sitting on the printer on my computer table staring at me without batting an eyelid. I somehow managed to shoo it away. Few days later I saw it climbing down on the curtain on the window behind my computer. I made all sorts of clapping and flapping sounds to scare it away. I even shook the curtain to make it go but the brave soul it was, it clung on stubbornly. I was scared to sit at my computer with it staring at me. Else unlike my sister, I have no problem with it and I peacefully co exist with it in my room. So I decided to use a deodorant spray to shoo it off. I sprayed on it liberally and as expected it scampered off. Next day I found it on the floor beside my dressing table dead as a doornail and that too upside down with all its limbs in air.

This post is in loving memory of a useful creature whose crime was just that it was fatally attracted by my computer table or computer. The murderer deodorant spray should be investigated for its chemical composition. After all we use it on ourselves too. The funeral has been conducted. But don’t be sad. I have pictures of the dead body of the victim.

Please observe one minute silence and pray for its soul to rest in peace. Express your heartfelt condolence messages in the comments section.

P.S. I can’t remember right now but there is one fellow blogger who is very scared of lizards (except my sister i.e.) Will you please raise your hand? 😈 Muahahahahaha!!

60 thoughts on “In Memoriam

  1. Eeeeeuuuuuw!!

    I once had a baby lizard fall on me. I must have been 11 or 12. I hate them with a vengeance. They are pointless and should be exterminated with focus and might.

  2. Yeah i know !is that Amit who is afraid of lizards πŸ˜€
    btw u shud nt have killed that one u see ,ppl call me lovingly, lizard ..that is palli in Malayalam ..i.e p+alli

    still i just hate this creature crawling around! with those greeny effects on its body..yuckkie

  3. I wrote a silly poem once. It went something like this:

    Let a fly bother me
    A lizard stare at me
    An ant bite me
    But no cockroaches for me!!

    I mourn for your lizard. πŸ™‚ They eat mosquitoes by the way.

  4. that’s bad. poor thing.

    but your posting this during dinner time….thank goodness i just finished.

    i am more freaked out by frogs though.even dead ones.

  5. LOL …
    reminds me of jaane tu ya jaane na cat death scene…
    anways .. u have become a murderer indirectly … πŸ˜›
    there is a small lizard that lives under my computer table ..it just loves to jump on my leg every now and then ..
    he he ..
    even now it would be looking for an opportunity to jump on my feet..
    i think twice or thrice it jumped from somewhere on my hands and shoulders πŸ˜›

  6. yakk…How did you even get the idea of clcking a snap? BTW..what deo did you spray on it? πŸ˜›

    When I see them I imagine what our fate would be if they dramatically blow up to the size of dinosaurs…ha ha ha

  7. @Shefaly I too had 2 incidents of lizard falling on me. U know in Bengalis a lizard falling is an omen that one would become king/queen. πŸ™‚

    @Rekha Is it Amit? we will have for his comment. I didnt kill it intentionally!! I sprayed as it was not going. As I say the deo should be analyzed for chemicals present in it. People call u lizard???? :O

    @Nita LOL u hate cockroaches?? Me too! I’ve no prob with lizards but this one had come too close for comfort.

    @EH I simply hate frogs sitting inside shoes in rainy season!! I have had body contact once or twice. eeeuuuuu!

  8. @Robert Huh! I didnt do it intentionally! I would have used an insect killer spray then. Sorry dear its really dead.

    @Vimal πŸ˜€

    @Arvind Sheeesshhh and u have no problem with it?? Eeeewwwwww!!

    @Soham So this post is dedicated to u too. πŸ˜›

    @Manoj Ohh u know something good/funny happens and I think I’ll blog about it!! πŸ˜› A blogger mentality. So taking pics was necessary. πŸ™‚

  9. REEEEEEMMMAAAAAAAA – that fellow blogger is ME…and I am not gonna come to your blog for good number of days (till you write more posts and this one goes really at bottom) as I already got so icky after seeing those picies…….
    I saw the pic also after so many months since I have left India……
    You know when people ask whats the best thing in NZ- I say no reptiles…

    EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYUKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKK

    am so scared………how will I sleep today? Did I share with you guys that I saw Anaconda 3 last week and then saw it in my dream and screamed out loud….
    WHy did you do this to me??? Mummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy 😦 😦 😦 😦 😦

  10. My deepest condolences….;-)

    BTW can u visit my home?? I have a lizz which has been bugging me since long πŸ˜€

    In my hostel days when I used to bhagaoed honey bees with deo everyone used to laugh at me but sahi asar hota hai πŸ˜‰

  11. aw. how sad.
    I rather think lizards take all the blame for nothing. I mean they eat the insects, don’t they.
    That spray was evil. Or maybe it was poisonous in large quantities for a creature so tiny, and *sob*, innocent.

    *observes two minute silence*

  12. @Vishesh It was a deo.

    @Mahak Ahhh. I thought it was you but i wasn’t sure. So i didnt mention. Heh heh I will soon make more posts so that this one goes down. I had watched one scene of Anaconda-1 just after dinner and I felt like puking. Since then I never watch any reptilian movie. Why u inflicted torture on urself when u r scared of reptiles?

    @Smita Thanks for ur condolence. πŸ˜€ Reema-the lizard killer,eh?? πŸ™‚ Honey bees with deo?? good idea. We have honey bees problem in staff room at college.

    @Manasa Heh heh no post mortem. The funeral was conducted hurriedly. πŸ™‚

    @Nids welcome to my blog! Lizards are good for eating insects and all but then again they r eeewww! creeping and crawling. Shedding tails. And some big ones are really ugly. Keep visiting!

  13. Be careful! PETA may protest against you. why oh why did u make it so public? did you bury the body or cremate it? coz, by chance if it is proved that it was your spray that suffocated and caused its death, an inquiry into your action is possible. πŸ˜›

  14. may the liz rest in peace !

    they dont freak me out but they r ugly !
    i have a close frnd who saw a lizard the night before the exam and took the exam next day with a solid fever ! phew

  15. YUK!!!….holy shit! Honestly I haven’t read this post. I cannot…I hate lizards! cheee…the pic of that sucks…I am about to puke now…gosh!!!

  16. Lizards are very useful creatures, people should respect them. They eat cockroaches and many other dirty insects. They help us keeping house clean (and they themselves make it dirty afterwards)…….
    ………
    ………..
    …………….
    Ok you killer, do you need an investigator who will spare you? You know my number!! πŸ˜› Ek khoka aur kisi ko shak nahi hoga πŸ˜€

  17. Okay, I particularly don’t like lizards either. There are quite a few in my house and we co-exist because there are more mosquitoes than lizards and these guys eat them so it’s fine. But once there was this stupid lizard that fell from the roof onto my computer table, right behind my CPU. But it didn’t stop there. Apparently it was fascinated by the little lights of the modem and stuck it’s tail right into it. Few minutes later, there were sparks, the lizard died and so did my modem. And then the lizard started turning into weird colors, white and purple. When I went to the table next day, the lizard was alive, it was on the wall and it had a burnt tail hanging behind it. My modem however didn’t resurrect. 2000 bucks thanks to one stupid lizard. Blah. :/

  18. damn you reems.. he could have turned to a lovely charming prince had you kissed him.. he was waiting to make lucky.. but you chose to kill him instead! 😐

    One minute silence observed for the soul which died as a lizard instead as a charming prince πŸ˜›

  19. YOU know what – today only one tiny lizard who was hiding behind the dustbin in my kitchen, suddenly jumped on my feet when I opened the dustbin to throw the trash .. Man, I was on the verge of dieing .. I saw my death so closely .. but whileI was dieing, I remembereed you and ur this post.. yukkkkkkkk .. That moment is still not fading away from my eyes .. yukkkkkkkk ..

    I really cant understand why have you created such ugly reptiles?? .. what’s the need?? ..

  20. @Harsha LOL πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    @Meghana Oh! one of my friend once saw a lizard in bathroom with her and screamed so much that all neighbours came to their home. She was frozen due to fear and bathroom door had to forcefully opened!

    @Joel 😈 Muahahahaha! Sorry!! couldn’t resist. πŸ˜›

    @Suda ek khoka to duur I’ll give u one lafa. chalega? πŸ˜›

  21. @Arvind U r brave!!

    @Ish See thats why I was scared of it coming near my computer and short circuting anything. I had to do something!!

    @Sandeep Dear, it was a lizard not a frog!! And I better remain single than kiss lizards or frogs!:P

    @Soham Errr by “you” I hope u mean God?? Cuz I had no hand in creating such ugly things πŸ™‚

  22. Oh that poor poor thing!! I am in awe of them…for their infinite patience (they sit/stick themselves to πŸ˜› one spot forever!) and the way they stay upside down on the ceiling with no fear πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    and coincidence as it may seem…i saw a dead one on my dining chair the other day….and i told my bro he’d probably killed it by sitting on it πŸ˜€ he was stricken wid guilt 😦

    Ok…countdown starts frm 60 to 1 now!

  23. @ Allirekha: Isn’t it called “palli” in Kannada too?

    @ Nita: You don’t like cockroaches? In Class X, we dissected cockroaches and earthworms. They are relatively small – relative to mice and frogs, that is – so need to be handled more. I still get people on my blog searching for “Indian girls crushing bugs” (don’t ask!) because I wrote once about how I crush bugs with my hands. For some odd reason, there are many spiders here so I kill them whenever I see them..

    @ Reema: I have always been the Queen of All I Survey.. Even before the lizard fell on me. πŸ™‚

  24. I hate the buggers too! There are two illegal immigrants in my room, refusing to leave! Would you mind telling me what spray you used? πŸ™‚
    BTW, the narration was neat and interesting.

  25. @Priya LOL πŸ˜€ Seems u and ur brother are quite tolerant towards lizards. My sister cant be in the same room with a lizard.

    @Shefaly Ahh! U know thats my favorite quote “I’m the monarch of all I survey, my right there is none to dispute” πŸ˜€

    @RG Welcome to my blog! Heh heh I can’t reveal the deo name lest they sue me πŸ™‚ Thanks! Keep visiting!

  26. @Shefaly: I would love to see you in fear factor then. πŸ™‚

    @Reema: You murderess, celebrating your crime. I too am not much bothered about them. I hate rats and cockroaches too irritate me, though we did experiments with both in lab.

  27. @ Poonam: I do not know what that is but I imagine it is like those silly programmes where people have to eat bugs etc. Eating would not be an issue. I have eaten many things that make people faint πŸ˜‰

    Rats are harbingers and vectors of disease. I think you may have used mice. :-/

  28. No, Shefaly. You are mistaken. You will be put in a closed room/box with lizards swarming all over you. πŸ˜›

    True, we used mice. But rats are not absent in labs, sad to point that out. 😦

  29. @Reems
    I have an aunt who becomes extreemely shy n conscious if thrs a lizard in the bathroom πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    @Nikhil
    ‘Bah’ is a patented word…yu cant use it at yur discretion !! πŸ˜›

  30. @Sandeep As I said I would instead like to stay single. πŸ˜€

    @Nikhil Ahh!I sprayed unintentionally. Its the spray that needs to be tested.

    @Poonam I plead innocent!! Eeeekkkk plz don’t remind me of rat dissection. I still remember its skin’s feel on my fingers. Yuck! thank god we did only one dissection in whole 11-12th.

    @Sakhi Hey nice avatar!! For the nth time I sprayed unintentionally meaning only to scare!! πŸ˜€

    @Suda u know whats its called in Bengali? TIKTIKKI. πŸ˜€

    @Priya Shy,eh?? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    @Xylene Yes I read it long back but hadn’t commented. Brave knight in shining armour,eh? πŸ˜› Wife beater for others. πŸ˜€

  31. Poor Soul, may his soul rest in peace. Eeeeewww I hate frogs as well..and more than them the snakesss…..EEEEEEEEEEEEEWWWWWWWWW is wat my reaction is even when I see them on TV.

  32. @Reema
    My deepest condolences. I don’t have anything against any animals except the cockroach. That is one more reason why brother liz. is my friend. Yes, I said brother.

    @Nita
    I like the way you think. πŸ™‚

  33. Pingback: The Post Tag | My Random Thoughts

Come On! Say Something!

