Indians or Moral Police?

Of all the weird, bad, happy and exciting things that happen in my life, the one I’m going to narrate beats all the uninvited weird events that have ever happened to me. But the point of my post is not the event. Its my contemplation on the attitude of Indian society which caused this incident. On Thursday night, I was coming back from a dinner party with colleagues and it was bit late (10.30 pm). Suddenly this guy (read:weirdo) came along on bike and started driving beside me. He said hello and I sped up totally ignoring him and his blabbering. He drove all the way to my home. By then I had started to lose my temper. I stopped my Scooty, turned to face him and our conversation followed:-

Weirdo : What were u doing back there, standing and talking with a guy in front of my house?

Me with incredulous look : What on earth are you talking about? Do you even know who I am and where I’m coming from?

Weirdo : You were standing with a guy in front of my house. Don’t stand in front of my house ever again. Its not a good thing.

Me with my temper lost completely and shouting : Are you mad? I’m coming from xxx and haven’t stopped anywhere to talk with anyone. I think you are mistaking me for someone else.

Weirdo : No its you. Its not a good thing to stand and talk like that. Is this your home?

Me shouting : Yes it is. So?

Weirdo : I’ll tell your dad what you were doing.

Me hopping mad and shouting : Yeah?? By all means do so. Just get off your bike and tell my dad.

By then, my parents came out due to the commotion and he went off saying “don’t stand outside my house again” and me shouting “Hey you, stop..I said stop”. I suppose some girl had been standing but by the time this weirdo came out to do moral policing, she must have left and he found me the only girl passing by at that time. Next day when I told my colleagues about this, one of them told us about the time when he and his friends had beaten up a boy who had been standing and talking to a girl since 2 days around a street corner near my colleague’s home. And they dropped the girl off at her home and complained to her father.

So I was enlightened by the fact that the act of being the man of the house and scaring people standing and talking outside on road is a common activity guys do, at least in my city. But it also made me ask that from where does this sort of absurd and twisted sense of righteousness come? This moral policing comes from the prudish attitude of most of India. If it were 2 guys standing, it would have been fine. 2 girls that too at such a time is out of question. But a guy and a girl standing together and talking are instantly interpreted as a couple and being a couple & expressing that in India is a crime of the magnitude next to saying Ramayana sucks!! On the top of it all, there exists a huge inferiority complex in many for not having a girl-friend or for not being able to talk with girls themselves, stemming from sexual suppression and conservative ideologies. And this creates the misplaced sense of propriety. And of course its the natural course in Indians that if we label something to be proper then we bestow upon ourselves the right to go about forcing it on other people to accept and conform to. Be it Valentine’s Day being a bad occasion or homosexuality being illegal or Cheer leading being immoral or two people just sitting together being obscene. Who decides whats moral and decent? Some scriptures and mythological stories? My colleague who beat up that boy, comes home at 12 am or so and drinks 4 times a week. Just being out with guys and having no apparent involvement with girls makes him moral? The way he turns to look at each girl on road while driving is moral? Demanding dowry is moral but just sitting quietly with a loved one is immoral? In a country having the freedom of speech and expression as a Fundamental Right, is it immoral to stand on road and talk? Getting so much hyper about it is totally unjustifiable. I understand freedom comes with responsibility and modernism comes with sense of dignity and consideration of other people’s comfort but this is no way to make people understand the same.

One more important thing is that even when I was expressing my rage, I’d an inner fear of repercussions and thus did not say what all I’d in mind. I didn’t inquire in that neighborhood for that guy and refrained myself from showing up at his home and giving a piece of my mind, lest I hurt his fragile ego and create more trouble for myself. Alas!! we don’t live in a place where the mind is without fear and the head is held high.

57 thoughts on “Indians or Moral Police?

  1. OMG! This actually happened to you? x-( really awefull. Thank God it doesnt seem to occur in Ahmedabad! But you never know, Somebody might actually take a cue and start it here also! Hey bhagavan!

    *Just being out with guys and having no apparent involvement with girls makes him moral?*

    As for this, i dont think it makes him ‘moral’, it makes him ‘frustu’!

    Reema: Yes, it did actually happen to me ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Do really people in Ahmedabad not do moral policing to strangers ?

  2. hmm…hope someone tries to come and moral police me…

    who they think they are?Doing social service or what?i do what i please,it is none of their problem.Find him and sue him for coming and shouting at you in public ๐Ÿ˜›

    Reema: Yes they have taken it upon themselves to be preachers of so called acceptable behavior of Indian girl. I wish to follow ur advice but u know how long legal cases go on in our country ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ˜›

  3. This isreally weird! I would be more worried about this guy knowing where I live..

    Did it occur to you to turn the tables on him and ask him why (i)he is following unknown women and accosting them; (ii) why he wants to know where they live? (iii) is this just an excuse to talk to you? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Two can play that moral policing game, right? ๐Ÿ˜›

    Reema: I guessed it was better to stop outside my home before shouting than outside someone else’s home. I was too busy taking out my anger then. Later on I did want to go to his house and ask these but then …

  4. uhmm

    I noticed the “moral police” looks when she n me went for shopping together here @ cochin .

    later I realized that, this happens even when I am with my sis.. when we go shopping, when we have some icecream or snacks together

    when a boy n girl is together, is there only one possibility ? I mean, a boyfriend girlfriend thing ? they cant be brother n sis ? friends ? cousins ?


    Reema: These possibilities do not enter in these losers’ minds. I tell you, its all out of frustration.

  5. Our society is hypocritical isn’t it! Well, you said it…these so called moral police are the most sick of all. They do the sickest things and that is why they suspect others. They are incapable of talking to a girl without sick thoughts going through their heads and are therefore incapable of understanding friendships. These people are the rapists of society, and I mean literally speaking. They will rape a girl if they are sure no one is looking. The moral police are the worst people in society.
    Nice post!


    Reema: Thanks and I totally agree with you. God knows what colors all these upholders of morality show when they think no one is looking.

  6. Just to correct a few facts, two men sitting at a beach or chatting up in an alley is also perceived as being immoral in my neck of the woods.

    But, we can’t really do anything about it I guess. Our social hypcocrity leads to a lot of interesting blogposts all around.

    And someone said mentioned Kerala in here – Boy oh Boy, I have lived 23 years of my life there. It is MUCH worse than a metro in such matters!


    Reema: Thanks for that addition. So everyone is troubled by the moral police. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Hey thanks for the indirect compliment ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. We read about moral police all the time, this is the first time that someone I know is coming so close to it.

    I wonder what that guy is thinking !!!! that he owns the street as well. May be he is not treated well at home and wants to show off.

    Such people are the real menace of this society. I wonder if they have ever read any one of the religious scriptures which suggests that a girl cannot talk to a boy or be friends.

    And about your colleague, what gives him the right to beat someone up? He should be ashamed of himself acting like a hero, narrating the story.

    Reema: I think its more to do with being the man of the house and making the house and street free of immoral people. My colleague is such an orthodox and chauvinistic person that u cant imagine. But then most people in this part of country are. Its a matter of pride for them to have done such an act.

  8. /I wonder if they have ever read any one of the religious scriptures which suggests that a girl cannot talk to a boy or be friends.//
    should be

    /I wonder if they have ever read any one of the religious scriptures which they suggest that a girl cannot talk to a boy or be friends./

    argh. Hope you get it.

    Reema: I do get it ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Nicely written, I have never heard of moral buzy bodies before. But I shudder to think of a future for sanity among these people. I cant help but associate it with a mental disorder, which has yet to find a light, in todays psychological studies. What we need in India is perhaps more mental assays, than doctors or engineers.
    By the way, I love your blog, but have only been a lurker.

    Reema: Welcome to my blog officially. Thanks. Where do u live? Its good your place is free of such moral police. Thanks for de-lurking. See u around.

  10. Hey that was really bad experience, but in fact not new to me. I have heard/witnessed these few incidences of this type.

    You are a wise and not *common* *normal* girl (You Know what I mean). But please keep this in mind from now on: Trying to reason with such a guy was very wrong move. Remember all girls, please call for backup (in Reema’s case, she should have called her dad/mom/bro out at first place, even before listening to him). Even if you are modern and daredevil, you should always remember that you are dealing with morons. So whatever happens (any bad thing), first call someone for help.

    This may sound ridicules and underestimating to some girls, (not Reema, as she agreed on this point), but prevention is better than cure, always.

    Reema, Cheer up dudy. And keep constant vigilance as I am sure this guy will try to have a go at you if he finds you somewhere.

    Cheers

    Reema: Thanks dear for your advice. I think he was satisfied or scared by my violent reaction that night. He hasnt shown up again yet and I think he doesnt plan to either.

  11. Indians are very generous with advice and try to donate a lot of it everyday to anyone they meet, regardless of the recipient’s interest in receiving it. And good solid advice about moral behavior is just one of the favorite kind of advice they like to donate.
    So scolding and intimidating people indulging in immoral behavior (like talking to the opposite gender) is just one of the prompt advisory actions they take to prevent escalation of such events into larger immoral events like necking, kissing and God knows what that may lead to – right in front of house of a good Indian.
    And scolding the wrong person is not all that bad, the guy might have vaccinated you against the future disease of immoral behavior. After all, you have the signs of the disease in a milder form, riding a two wheeler on your own, all alone, at 10-30 pm, out so late, in fact you could be returning after talking to a guy somewhere in front of someone’s house. So he has given you a piece of mind for good measure, in case you do consider such immoral behavior in future.
    I told you long back, India is born out of parthenogenesis.

    Reema: Good sarcasm ๐Ÿ™‚ 1 BILLION people out of parthenogenesis! LOL ๐Ÿ˜€

  12. This is very sad. I would advice you to simply stay away from such idiots. It is like when you throw a stone mud it would spray upon you and the mud doesnt get affected. Evolution and natural selection will see to that these kind of weeds get extinct soon. I wonder what he will do if he has to work in an environment of Men and Women!

    Reema: Yes thats why I didnt go looking for him. Natural selection??? I dont see how that would weed out such people. ๐Ÿ™‚ Good idea though.

  13. You shud’ve taken inspiration from Kung Fu Panda! ๐Ÿ˜›
    The moral policing u’ve experienced is more funny than serious! did that guy build the road before his house? or did he feel bored stayin at home and thought of following some random person(read:girl)? it is just a possibility and a strong one at that. I second Lekhni’s and Suda’s comments too, and so my comment is becoming shorter… ๐Ÿ˜› keep good care of urself lady.

    Reema: LOL ๐Ÿ˜€ I wish I knew any of the self defence arts. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Thanks dear.

  14. Pissing off! That’s what it is! This moral policing is crap! Who gave ‘them’ the right to save our culture, if that’s what they think they are doing in the first freaking place?!

    Oh, so pissing off! Unwarranted advice!

    Next time, note down his number.. Then go to the police & sue him for emotional harrassment! Freaking insane!!

    Reema: I hate unwarranted advice so much! yes, I was cursing myself for not noting his number. Next time,surely. But I hope there wont be any next time.

  15. Pathetic indeed. We might always say that we have moved ahead in our thoughts and our society is quite open minded but the basic fact is that we haven’t changed.

    We females face these situation in some or the other form everyday. Two opp sex ppl talking = couple, this assumption is made by strangers, by colleagues in office, by friends in college, everywhere. Some people come and say the way the person in your case said and then there are people who talk about us behind our backs.

    There is no end to it. You couldn’t react the way you wanted to, why? Because we always live in a fear even when we are not wrong. The most I have done is stared back but then has that helped things??? No!!!!

    Seriously, sometimes I feel that I had that much guts n power to go and hit the person who does things like this.

    On a lighter note, kaash I get to become the female Krissh ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reema: U r quite true. Even colleagues and friends jump to this conclusion. There is no freedom for a girl to even react properly !! Ahh Smita with a black mask and super powers!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Good idea!!

  16. This is how things are in smaller cities in India i think.. it’s sick.. but that’s how it is..
    even now people aren’t comfortable with girlfriends/boyfriends… the concept is alien to India.. will take time to change.

    Some time back i was contemplating on writing about how free we really are in independent India but somehow gave it a pass.. there are hundreds of things like you’ve mentioned.

    You’ve an exciting life, no doubt ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reema: I think the staring and thinking bad is there in big cities as well. Its just that people dont go preaching total strangers there. Its not even the matter of gf/bf. They are not comfortable with a guy and a gal talking to each other. Yup sometimes too exciting for my liking. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  17. Come on Reema!!!!!
    In a country where Rape is justified saying that its the fault of the girl who was wearing revealing dress, this is a very small issue. Don’t take it to heart. ๐Ÿ™‚
    People in India are lot more worse.
    I’ll tell you a funny incidence. One of my friend(male) did his B.Tech from a small town in Haryana called Jind. There, it was difficult for them to wear bermudas and go out. People used to comment on their dressing sense and called Bermudas revealing clothes. ๐Ÿ˜†
    So, you can very much imagine.
    Lets face it. We love poking our nose in the affairs of another people no matter how big a failure we ourselves are.


    Reema: Ohh yes!! I should not mind it. I should be thankful I guess ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ People commented on guys wearing bermudas?????? ๐Ÿ˜ฎ Yes, giving unsolicited advice is national past time.

  18. Never heard of such police before !!!

    But please be careful, that moral maniac might not stop with this !


    Reema: Errr its a term u know. Not actual police. Thanks for your concern ๐Ÿ™‚

  19. Well, thanx reema, this is the final nail in the coffin of india for me… the first one was the news about the iits in today’s paper… i am moving..seriously, i can’t bear it anymore, 12th exams go, and i am outta here….


    Reema:U will be doing college abroad? I thought you were preparing for IIT in Kota? U remind of a character of Rang De Basanti ๐Ÿ™‚

  20. This is crazy !!! ..

    Why on this earth one should mind if their neighbour is dating someone?? .. Completely insane !!

    If now you see that weirdo again, give him a punch on face on behalf of me !!

    Reema: Not even dating and not even neighbor. I guess it was just some girl standing and talking to a guy.

  21. whos the weirdo…. people here have too much time to poke their nose into other’s matter rather than looking into their own house…..!!!

    Reema: Welcome to my blog! I dont know who he is!! yes Indians do have plenty of time to preach about morality. Keep visiting!!

  22. I still am MAD at him. Write a new post soon, so that I don’t have to look at this post daily, my blood pressure rises every time I think of the guy. Be careful. But I think he must be satisfied with his achievement, but you never know with such weirdos.
    Women are not free human beings in most of the world. How can you be called FREE if you have fear in your heart, you cannot walk on the road without looking around in fear, you cannot wear what you want without fear, you cannot be in a crowd without hands groping at you…
    I had thought I would hate it in France because I never wanted to leave India for a day, but I know I will remember this one year with happiness, simply because I walk without fear. Even at 10 pm, I walk without fear. I have not known this peace since 1984, and I walk daily just to cherish this freedom.
    I got stuck in an extremely crowded metro one day as there was an accident and many trains were canceled, and you know NO GROPING! wow. No one looking around for opportunity to grope either (you can make that out, and men don’t realize that most of their idiocy is visible on their face)
    I also feel ashamed to say that the most obviously leering looks women get in Paris is probably in the Indian area near Gare du Nord. You just walk a lonely stretch of road in that area and immediately all your alarm bells are ringing, and you feel transported back to India. You will automatically scram fast.

    Reema: Yes there always exists a fear in the back of every girl in India the moment they step out of their homes. I will make new post soon. ๐Ÿ™‚ Blood boiling reminds me of a scene in movie Singh is Kingg. I’ll tell u later

  23. And the irony is ..that even after so much of moral trafficking in our country..there is so much of eve-teasing…the more we curb ..the more the eve-teasing is what i believe!!!


    Reema:Errr I think u meant policing not trafficking. Trafficking means smuggling ๐Ÿ™‚ Sexual suppression is a the reason for eve teasing I believe.

  24. This is a very sad incident. And this will only go with time. And i guess people of our parents generation think like this more than the ones in our… So hopefully things will change for the better soon!

    Reema: I hope so too. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  25. I feel really smart and informed after reading all of that.

    Funny how talking to the opposite gender is accused of being romantic. I am pretty funny and open to both genders and I have been accused of being a flirt, whore, skettle, forinacator, heartbreaker, etc, a lot. Gossip often hurts me and I am beginning to avoid situations where people talk about me, but I am strong about one thing: Talking to boys is not wrong, forination is. Here in Belize, so many girls don’t know what it is like to have a brother-friend and end up having children before they are married. Or guys are not used to having sister-friends and end up being unfaithful and abusive. In society, young people need to grow with each other to learn how to understand the value of each other.

    Moral Policing, that sounds like something you would see in Afaganistan or something. I believe in being accountable, having an wiser person to peep in to your life and check up on you. But not strangers! Who would know about the circumstances and discern in love how advice should be given?

    Reema: I’m sad that you came to know such a bad aspect of India. yes, advice is good from a person who knows like our family or friends but strangers??? and that too when one hasn’t done anything!! Grrr..

  26. very absurd indeed! just as absurd as men saying that they have the ‘right’ to ogle at women who dress in a way that some skin shows, whether is it shoulders or legs or cleavage. i don’t blame you for losing your temper, i probably would have if i was there!

    Reema: Totally absurd. In India raped women are even blamed to have invited that to happen to themselves by wearing what is termed as provocative!!! Thanks for your support ๐Ÿ™‚

  27. Now this is a new kind of moral policing I haven’t heard of! Many wierd things around us! If he doesn’t want you to talk to a guy at that time, then what is he doing? He was cading you on his bike…a bigger crime ๐Ÿ˜€ ha ha…kya karna hai yaar in jaise logon ke saath? The best way is to ignore them!!

    Reema:I tried ignoring him but when he followed upto my home and started preaching thats when I lost it.

  28. I studied a co-ed school, a really prominent one in the city. Guess what? Talking in a friendly manner to a guy there was perceived wrong! You can be friendly, but not great friends cos a guy and a gal can never be great friends!
    And your experience! Gawd!! I would definitely have felt like giving the guy piece of my mind; but would have been told by my mum…don’t! you would get yourself into more trouble which we can do without!


    Reema: Yes it doesnt matter if its a reputed school or college, the mentality and views on morality is same every where in many people. Its sad in a free country we cant even give someone who has done wrong a piece of our mind without fear.

  29. Reema, didn’t you read Nomad’s Comment ? Thats how, I am feeling too. My anger rises at very mention of this incident. If I was there with you, I am sure I would have tried to tear him to pieces for his behavior. I controlled and refrained myself from saying this in previous comment but thats how I feel, “Our mothers and sisters aren’t left on road to be abused by such bastards” and they will get punished if they try it.

    Pleas write a new post soon (and make it longer if possible)

    Reema: Cool down. cool down. I will post soon ๐Ÿ™‚

  30. @Apar
    I respect your feelings but again you are making same mistake as Reema did in her anger without realizing. Don’t ask for trouble until you are sure you have enough backup. Thats how all wars are.

  31. Oh I know exactly what you mean!! Damn annoying..

    All I have to do is light up a cigarette outside my office, and I end up getting approached by people, especially men, of all shapes and sizes telling me why a woman shouldn’t smoke!..

    My friends and I drive back after a late night movie and the cops stop us and stare suspiciously at all the guy friends in my car and aak me what relationship I share with them!!!

    A passer-by thinks nothing of asking my (male) friend in the passenger seat as to why is he letting a woman drive the car!!..

    The list is exasperatingly endless, unfortunately


    Reema: Welcome to my blog! The incidents you mentioned are really annoying, especially the last one!! What was that passer by thinking?? Keep visiting my blog!

  32. u r wise lady!!!! Just don;t sit and curse ur stars but stand up and fight ๐Ÿ™‚

    Love ur blog…am hooked on ๐Ÿ˜€


    Reema: Welcome to my blog and thanks!!! See u around.

  33. What happened to you was really disgusting..

    Sometimes, I really feel sad about the so called Morality of us Indians which is never justified.

    Reema: Morality meaning and definition is mixed up and misdirected in India.

  34. Suda: I guess I should think, but when in anger, who does? right?
    Perx: I differ too…my best friend is a guy. ๐Ÿ˜€ The opinion was told to me to get some “sense” into me supposedly ๐Ÿ™‚

  35. No sweetie, we don’t have such things in Ahmedabad! And here people and girls would not tolerate it also. The scenario is different. But you never know, if that can happen in mumbai and delhi, it can happen anywhere!!

    Reema: Yes Men in Ahmedabad may catch on.

  36. Hmmm… I am sorry I am late here… I have no excuse.,.. Please find it in your heart to forgive me…
    What you should’ve done is start screaming, “Murder! Murder!” and everyone would’ve trashed that bugger! ๐Ÿ˜€
    Some people tend to retain some amount of conservative habits in their genes because of the lack of a social life and good friends… they are the unfortunate, unintended byproducts of a disastrous experiment carried out 9 months before they were born!! ๐Ÿ˜€
    Ignore them! They’re not worth your anger and your precious words! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Reema: Ok ok I forgive you. ๐Ÿ™‚ “they are the unfortunate, unintended byproducts of a disastrous experiment carried out 9 months before they were born!” LOL ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ Shouting murder sounds a good idea! Next time surely!

  37. @Reema
    Yeah, but did u happen to catch that news that in 2 years the subject cut offs for OBCs will be 2.5 in maths, 0 in physics and 1.5 in chem…
    they just have to get 50% of what the last selected candidate of general category gets… well i guess by the time i would have passed out, iits won’t be considered any better than the state colleges…
    I was already not in favor of getting into an iit for quite some time now, cuz, well, as i have gotten to know, its no better than any other school in india, and new ideas have no space there whatsoever…. we can’t just let go of our primitive ways of cramming and examinations, now can we? I mean for example, how can knowledge gained over a period of 13 years be tested by 1 board exam? I had come here hoping that knowledge would be the aim..as it should be with education, but i was disappointed…
    I believed that we could change india too, but then I realized something that we do not want to change…I mean they say educated indians are different, but I don’t think so, just a few of them are… I believe once Amit made a post about how they put themselves out for dowry which proves my point….
    I’m just staying here cuz they say if u have prepared for IIT, you have prepared for MIT too. So, I hope I get into that…

    P.S. I suppose u are talking about Siddharth from RDB, right?

    Reema : yes I did read about that news. MIT?????? Very good! all the best. yes I was talking about him. ๐Ÿ™‚

  38. err…..i know that…i was jus trying to be sarcastic….. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Btw, next time something like this happens (though, I wish it doesnt!), going by nikhils words, scream…scream at the top of your voice…..noones ever gonna believe a guy if a girl screams ๐Ÿ˜€

    Reema : Oh ok! yes I intend to follow Nik’s suggestion if there is a next time.

  39. How sick…i feel sorry for that guy, rather than for you — for not having a life! My god, i wonder why these things happen…and such people probably pat themselves on their back for haveing ‘guided a misled girl in the right direction”…bah!

    *Donโ€™t stand in front of my house ever again. Its not a good thing.* Did he mean the ‘standing’ part or the ‘house’ ? ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

    i hope he soon shifts residence to the Trivandrum Secratariat…people camp in front of it for days, staging Dharnas ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

    Reema: I think he was more focussed on his house part. He had said with lot of feeling as if he was deeply hurt!!!

  40. Ur posts always bring out incidents so unbelievable that they indeed have to be true. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reema: ๐Ÿ™‚ My life is full of weird incidents. Hot and happening-thats my life!

  41. @reema:

    I loved this new way of replying to comments in a comnet itself .. We dont hv this feature in Blogger !!

    @sakhi & @reema:

    We do hv moral policing in Ahmedabad too .. People of india are conservative as such but in a’bad, no tom,dick and harry would dare to approach a girl or someone to advice him on such issues .. otherwise he can be a victim of harsh bloody thrashing for sure ..

    Reema: Move to WordPress!! ๐Ÿ˜› I’m starting to like Ahmedabad ๐Ÿ™‚

  42. It’s a beautiful city .. Come visit it once .. city of malls and multiplexes .. Decent restaurants to delicious food-maker laari and dhabas ..

    From your stay to ur breakfast,lunch,dinner everything will be on me .. I will be a great honor to host u though !!

    Reema: Awww!! Thank u so much for the offer.

  43. well poor you… people are crazy in this place… u should have jus walked off and let the idiot talkin to himself

    Reema: Welcome to my blog! I tried to get rid of him but he followed me to my home. So I couldn’t ignore him. Keep visiting!

  44. Guy n gal talking is considered a taboo among many people even now in India. Wonder when people will grow up!

    Reema: I hope they grow up soon! Its about time.

  45. Scary !!! I think it’s outdated prudish attitudes that are very much prevalent. I am now in US and can only sympathize with you. I remember we had to stick to a curfew by my parents to avoid this kind of ruckus which I thought was unfair. Because my brother didn’t have the rule for him.

    Weird people exist everywhere but moral policing of this kind reeks of pure orthodox mental tyranny.

    Reema: Welcome to my blog. Even when my parents have no problem and consider me old enough to know my limits, these weirdos try to do moral policing and that too misdirected!!! Disgusting! yes it really is mental tyranny. Keep visiting.

  46. Pingback: Recent Links Tagged With "random" - JabberTags

  47. Pingback: Avant Garde Bloggies Awards - Winners « Visceral Observations

  48. This is an episode of pathetic overtures, coupled with hypocrisy which seems inbuilt in Indians. Having stayed,traveled, worked across India & world let me assure you there is relative difference everywhere but the Moral Police wants to rush to the fore everywhere.

    Hopefully with time, some of it improves but you always have thakerays, backrays, gackreys & party using it to get their 2 bits of fame.

    At the same time, the people, media forget episodes quickly where a girl has been policed….and she thanks to so called well meaning relatives close it.

    Keep it going, screw the world. Live on your terms! Girls have to be tough! All the best

    Reema: Thank you!

  49. Well, u knw wat? I dont think he mistook u or moral policing …i just felt from the way he went away, he was just trying to creat a scene ….

    PS : twitter helps a lot u c :)discovered this post from there !

    Reema: Yes I intentionally tweeted it there! Just reviving old posts!

  50. Pingback: That Time Of Blog Life « My Random Thoughts

Come On! Say Something!

