The Food of India

There is no love sincerer than the love of food.

~George Bernard Shaw, “The Revolutionist’s Handbook,” Man and Superman

And I love good food!! I got this interesting and mouth watering e-mail and had to share with all of you. Oh my god! There are so many things I haven’t eaten yet. This will serve me as a list of all the food to be tasted before I die. ๐Ÿ˜€ Although there are some dishes like Red Ant Chutney of Chattisgarh (delicacy among tribals) which I would prefer not to eat.

Some other good quotes on food:

One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story

And I find chopsticks frankly distressing. Am I alone in thinking it odd that a people ingenious enough to invent paper, gunpowder, kites and any number of other useful objects, and who have a noble history extending back 3,000 years haven’t yet worked out that a pair of knitting needles is no way to capture food? ~Bill Bryson

Hunger is the best sauce in the world. ~Cervantes

Dyspepsia is the remorse of a guilty stomach. ~A. Kerr

48 thoughts on “The Food of India

  1. About the most important virtue of India to me is its diversity in its food. You could go eating all you life in every city and yet discover new dishes.
    The other virtue that I like India for are its women, but you know that by now, don’t you?

    Reema:Yes I know ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. I love Indian Food. Period.

    I mean we have such a diversity and yet it tastes good ๐Ÿ™‚

    Red Ant chutney?? This reminds me of the various preparations in Orissa. People their used to collect white flies (they are visible during rainy season & get attracted to light) and cook them. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    But yes I have a bias towards North ka khana, all spicy and yummy!!!

    Reema: Me too! Period. Never heard of the white flies thing. Though Oriyas are good cooks! I had crab in Puri prepared by our hotel chef and it was yummy! Errr are you vegetarian? Oops!

  3. Wah wah .. Muh me paani aa gaya seriously !!!

    Hv not taken a breakfast and came straight to office so really hungry and now reading ur post .. U can understand my situation ..

    But that red ant chutney wala thing just subsided my hunger ๐Ÿ˜‰ ..

    Happy Eating !!

    Reema:My post’s purpose is served ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. Red Ant Chutney??? Is it really made of Red ant or what? :O

    Even I wonder how people eat noodles with those chop sticks in a second in those chinese movies ๐Ÿ˜€

    Reema: Yes its made of red ants. I’m sure I’ll never be able to use chopsticks.

  5. Hi,

    I am Richa from SiliconIndia, I trust my email finds you in good health and high spirits. I am also an avid blogger and thought itโ€™s a good time to initiate an interaction by updating you on some of the recent happenings at SiliconIndia.

    โ€ข We are now a strong community of 1 Million professionals
    โ€ข There are 10,000 active bloggers who participate in active blogging

    We have leaders like Narayan Murthy, Azim Premji to fresh graduates who share their opinion & thoughts to contribute their knowledge and advice through blogging.

    We would love to see you, embark on blogging here and sharing your perspectives to the rapidly growing SiliconIndia community and appreciate your community initiative here.

    Please mail me back at richa@siliconindia.com with your suggestions and feedback.

    Richa Sharma
    Blog Editor โ€“ SiliconIndia

    Reema: Welcome to my blog. Interesting. I would have liked it better if you had mailed me instead of writing this in comments.

  6. U ask ME what love for food is! I was fasting for two days and it is a fast done with only boiled water (no food what-so-ever: no liquid food either) … I understood today that how much i love food…

    And you are here with a food post!! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ I am game for any vegeterian food!!

    Reema: ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

  7. Bissi Bele Bhaat is a dish from Karnataka?? I always thought it was a Tamil Nadu dish as people there eat it very religiously.
    Well…after seeing the map, I am proud to say that I have tried a lot of Indian dishes. ๐Ÿ™‚
    And have you been to Delhi Haat?? Its one place in Delhi where you can get food from all the states under one roof. What a variety!!!!
    Only catch – Its an open area. So better visit in winters. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reema: I have not even heard of the dish. I have not been to Delhi yet. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ If I do ever, I’ll surely visit Delhi Haat.

  8. I too have saved this email.

    And listen, I am reading your blog from my reader. Only I was not hitting it for fear of getting your blog blocked. Because when they block a web site, they do it very well. It becomes inaccessible from every possible way.

    I wanted to comment in that post about weirdo. People who stupidly interfere in our lives. They need a smack in their face.

    Reema: Ohhh!! I hope my blog hasn’t been blocked. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  9. OOOOH, I am hungry! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    Just to keep you updated, I had nem yesterday, a chinese dish like spring roll, with stuffed chicken or stuffed shrimp.
    We are having a new kind of achar nowadays, actually picked Mexican Chillies, Mario and Rosa gave to us. It is tasty!
    I also am missing the bamboo achar from Assam.
    And you know I had the chance to try cooked snails few weeks back, but I copped out.
    I love this list and love the quotes!

    Reema: ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Some updation! Humph. Snails???? If you had eaten that, Maa would have fainted.

  10. Me too got this email long ago. But Im wondering what made you write this post !!! Had a very starving day, is it? ๐Ÿ˜€

    Btw, we celebrate a lot of days, but is there a HAPPY FOOD DAY or somethng???

    The calvin strips are too good!!!


    Reema: Oh I just though of sharing a good email. ๐Ÿ™‚ Have to find about food day. There must be one surely. Watch my blog for more upcoming Calvin strips ๐Ÿ˜€

  11. Rambodoc: Don’t insult ourselves! I think India has its share of variety and class in men as well!

    By the way, interestingly enough my last post on my blog was also about food!

    Reema: Will check out your post!

  12. I just finished lunch and back here its FOOOOD!!!!

    no matter at which part of country we are… food and yummy food is always thr to serve our taste buds ๐Ÿ˜€

    Reema: Food is life ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜€

  13. @ Reema:

    Pavarotti’s (RIP) interest in food was there for all to see. It is all his parents’ fault. They named his Pava-rotti (read it aloud and think ‘bhaji’) and he spent his entire life with food on his mind (and waist, and tummy..). But then music is the food of love, and how he indulged in it too!

    [OK is that profound enough? ๐Ÿ˜‰ ]

    It so happens that I am going to take the afternoon off today to spend with a blog-friend, a TamBram from Delhi, and together we are off in search of masalas (for me) and idli-dosai in Tooting, an area of South London. ๐Ÿ™‚

    @ Nomad:

    The snail is only protein, very tasteless on its own too with just butter and garlic doing the trick, hence all the bread it is served with – to wipe up the molten butter and transfer it to one’s arteries ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reema: Very profound ๐Ÿ˜› So how’re the idlli dosas (not homemade) of UK? same taste?

  14. I hadn’t got this as an email forward, but its a better forward that most other stuff one gets, mostly unverified stuff which turns out to be some scare or the other!
    Amazing isn’t it, our diversity. I like authentic food and would love to taste red ant chutney. The weirder the dish, the better! well, not as an everyday thing, but at least twice a week! at home we are all variety freaks.

    Reema: You would taste red ant chutney????!!!!! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ variety is one thing weird gooey eewww food is another.

  15. How about putting all the food in miniature size like that map and eating it … nah … I will be sued by moral police for eating the India Map. This is a very interesting post, nice comic strips. You made me hungry, now I am off to have my breakfast!

    Reema: Thanks!! And as I said this was my post’s purpose ๐Ÿ˜€

  16. @Shefaly: ๐Ÿ™‚ I would have tried the snails had I never seen one. I am usually optimistic and willing to try new food, unless it looks raw or revolting or I dislike the look of the ingredients (i.e., when it was alive). So if I didnt know it was snail, I would have tried it!

  17. That map is quite interesting…though Iam not sure if it exactly sums up important dishes of each region..for instance, having lived in Himachal Pradesh during most of my years in India, I dont recognize Sidu and Aktori ..there were some other famous dishes ( ankola, patande, karhi chawal etc ) which dont find a mention here..
    Again, makki ki roti and saag is I guess mostly overhyped as punjabi dish..I suspect if most of the punjabis really eat it that much nowadays..
    Also, I never heard about mutton pulao as a speciality of chandigarh..
    Anyways, it was a nice map and I will save it for future..nice quotes too..

    Reema: Seriously Makki di roti and Sarso da saag is so over rated!!! And so is Rosogulla! I prefer gulab jamun more than rosogulla or sondesh, being a Bengali. Glad you liked the post.

  18. Me a dessertarian too ๐Ÿ™‚ but will try anything vegetarian ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reema: I’m strictly a non vegetarian along with being a dessertarian!!

  19. This one is good. It would really help once one starts going places. But I can’t believe that they included Butter Chicken in Chandigarh. That’s the place where you get the worst Butter Chicken. You’ve so got to come to Punjab, mostly Ludhiana, Jalandhar or Amritsar if Butter Chicken is what you’re looking for. Another thing that’s very famous in here is Chilli Chicken. And then of course there’s Dal Makhni.

    Reema:Please don’t torture me like this. I love Chilli Chicken!

  20. Wow…awesome.. i feel hungry !!!
    I love north indian food..
    LOl ..and as usual calvin steals the show ๐Ÿ˜€

    Reema:Yes he does!! ๐Ÿ™‚ My post is incomplete without him

  21. Hehehehe!!! ๐Ÿ˜€
    Foodie, me too!!
    And by the way, ma’am, ” sincerer” is not a word..!! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Here’s how the very first sentence of this post should’ve been:


    There is no love more sincere than the love of food…

    ๐Ÿ˜€

    Reema: Muahahahaha ๐Ÿ˜ˆ

  22. @ Nomad: You are letting an eeeuuuuw get in the way of a culinary experience? ๐Ÿ™‚ The first time I ate snails, it was at a rather good French restaurant in the UK – Chez Gerrard. My French friend and fellow diner held one of the snails up on his fork. They retain their original form, miraculously enough, even when cooked. He then proceeded to give me a detailed speech on the anatomy of the snail. He was expecting to polish all the 12 or 18 snails off on his own. He had a surprise in store. When he finished, I said, hey great, now let’s get on with eating. So I did. The waiters gave me an ovation. Try ’em.. Serious. Nothing beats wiping off all the garlicky butter with a big piece of rustic French bread afterwards.

    Note to self: write about more eating experiences. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  23. @ Nikhil:

    Hate to say this, buddy, but there was a reason why I didn’t “proof” that sentence. GB Shaw actually used that word; besides ‘sincerer’ IS a proper word. ๐Ÿ™‚

  24. oh I’d sooooooo eat that red ant chutney!!!! THEY ATE MY FOOT LAST WEEKEND! Still itchy! ldfkjalkdfjalksdfjsdlfk dont get me started, Reem!

    Reema: LOL ๐Ÿ˜€

  25. Ah, I detest food only after sleeping and I know these are necessary evils. I wish we could be spared of these in our lives. I wish. Sorry, at least in my life. I hate eating and sleeping. I mean ‘I hate’ in the sense they waste my time. My invaluable time. Although your post reeks smell of delicacies.. Yummy for all, Gloomy for me. Apologies.

    Reema: ๐Ÿ˜ฎ Oh my god! Well I guess all sorts of people exist! ๐Ÿ˜› I love sleeping and eating. Thats what I studied and earn for.

  26. @Reema, Shefaly

    Oh crap, and I call myself an editor! Bah! ๐Ÿ˜€
    Ok, point noted and I shall update my vocab! ๐Ÿ˜€


    Reema: Muahahahaha ๐Ÿ˜› :mrgreen:

  27. @ Reema

    The food is made by real South Indians so the taste is authentic. Where it is made doesn’t make a difference. Besides, the friend is a real TamBram so she doesn’t eat in places that don’t serve the real thing.

    It was a Sarvanaa Bhavan if you are curious. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reema: Good. Else here in my city and also in Kanpur, authentic tasting South Indians dishes are not available even in South Indian restaurants. I mean the taste is different from what I’ve eat en in South Indian homes.

  28. Its an interesting map although it is not quite representative of the typical cuisine of the Region especially in the East . But yes , every time I receive this forward it makes me feel quite hungry!


    Reema: Welcome to my blog!! yes I did notice that being a Bengali. Keep visiting!

  29. Oh you’re Bengali ? Come,visit me – we shall have some ilish maach , now that its the season for it !

    Reema: Awww thanks for the offer!! We get ilish here too at my city. Just had it 2-3 days back.

  30. Very informative post. If it’s not a lot of trouble, could you email me the map? I tried saving it, but the picture quality is not up to par. Interesting method of connecting food quotes in your post. Nice blog.

    Thanks!!

    http://wescribble.blogspot.com

    Reema: Welcome to my blog! I’ll mail you surely. Thanks!! Keep visiting!

  31. Wow—nice one Reema…..I like gujju and typical north indian food…I am sadly not into souh indian food….
    And Delhi- you should totally check out the chaats and food of Chandni Chowk…its lip smacking!
    Haaayyeee me missing Delhi now and the chaats and lovely nagauris!!

    Reema:I also don’t like South Indian food much as I don’t like tamarind etc much. How are the Indian restuarants at your place?

  32. As it is for all to see, we really have a lot of diversity in culinary arts as well! One line that is commonly said in many parts of the world (except in France maybe, they swear by their own cooking), whenever the food topic pops up, is that Indian Cooking is like an art. And I have my taste buds to testify for it as well!

    Reema:I think every country endorses its cooking as best..be it Italian or Malaysian or French or Indian.

  33. Ummm we do have many Indian restraus here- but they prepare the dish keeping the Kiwi tastebuds in mind-as in everything is mild and little sweet…
    BUT BUT BUT- say congrats to me – we have our very first authentic BIKANERWALA here- finally..
    O I love the food there-typical Indian desi khaana….yum yum…I went there yesterday and had kachoris and samosas…
    ๐Ÿ˜€

    Reema: Congrats!!! Kiwis like sweet tasting stuff? I didn’t know that.

  34. Beat me in being a food-o-holic…! on an regular day, i have the following routine :
    2 glasses of butter-milk-oat-meal, not-so-heavy breakfast, heavy lunch, light dinner. Coupled with MY lunch box at 1030, friend’s lunch box(es) at 1130, juice with some chat at 130 and some “light” snack in late evening.
    If it is a friend’s treat or any festival or an occasion at home, the intake increases by 30-40%…

    Reema: Oh my god!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  35. Pingback: Random Thoughts on Republic Day « My Random Thoughts

  36. Pingback: Incredible India! « My Random Thoughts

Come On! Say Something!

