Bad Worse Worst

Bloggers have been raving about the movie Rock On!! and in my blogosphere I have read like 5 review posts of the same movie. So I’ve nothing new to add to it. Just the usual wonderful! must watch! Ooohs and aaaaahs! Blahs and blehs! But I have a reputation to live upto. Hence here is a post comprising of movies seen by me over last 2-3 weeks except Rock On!!. Also its a comprehensive list of MUST AVOID movies.

# C Kkompany :- A crime reporter in love with a don’s sister, a retired old man being mistreated by his son and a man prone to violence out of frustration regarding his short height are friends who form a mafia gang to extort money from the old man’s son but one thing leads to another and so the story unfolds. The comedy consisting of spoof on KBC starring Karan Johar, ridiculing Balaji Telefilms and Ekta Kapoor serials [Ckkompany is her production] and a don who loves watching such soaps somehow bring out an occasional laugh or two but isn’t that hilarious. Acting of different actors (Anupam Kher, Rajpal Yadav, Mithun Chakraborty, Tusshar Kapoor and Raima Sen) varies from fine to bad. One or two songs are fine else as usual in Bollywood movies, if its been long since last dance number suddenly another pops up, totally out of place. There is an item number by Celina Jaitley. Story is just ok and the movie is not too long, that being the only plus point except the little laugh it managed to elicit from the audience. BAD!

# God Tussi Great Ho :- Warner Bros. are suing yet to be released Bollywood movie called Hari Puttar for obvious reasons. I guess it would have better if Universal Pictures sued Afzal Khan for this movie for copying Bruce Almighty. Not only the story but even scenes like hearing people’s prayers in mind and drawing the Moon closer to Earth are copied. What I don’t understand that why do our directors plagiarize famous movies? The audience ends up comparing and criticizing the copy!! Neither Salman Khan is no match to Jim Carrey nor Amitabh Bachchan to Morgan Freeman. Introducing a rival in pursuit of lady love and his antics were a copy of Maine Pyar Kyu Kiya. Salman’s mother is the same lady of that movie. Even the background score was not original. Salman is looking old and alcoholic. The less is I say about Sohail Khan and Priyanka Chopra, the better. Comedy and Salman’s acting are stale. God ji even gives lecture from time to time and even in the end of movie. WORSE!

# Maan Gaye Mughall E Azam :- What was Sanjay Chhel thinking?? Dude, the charm of Pyar Ke Side Effects can’t be repeated. Leave Chhel, a good actor like Rahul Bose should have known better than to try another stint with Mallika Sherawat in a story like that of Maan Gaye Mughall E Azam. Paresh Rawal’s affair with comedy roles needs a huge makeover now. It has become quite stagnant. Mallika’s character seemed that of a promiscuous bored woman. The story starts with Rahul Bose wooing the wife (Mallika) of an old stage actor Paresh Rawal but somehow manages to lose track and gets converted into a story of a group of stage actors helping RAW to fight against smugglers and terrorists. Comedy is fine at the beginning but becomes absurd and intolerable eventually. Music is just ok. Kay Kay Menon is wasted and though the seasoned actors have tried to save the movie, it turned out to be a disaster. WORST!

36 thoughts on “Bad Worse Worst

  1. I did not hv had any guts to go and watch these three movies .. From their name itself, they look bizarre ..

    How and from what did you gather so much strength and courage to watch such movies, please please tell me !!

    And yeah, Rock on was goood .. Not an extra-ordinary flare but it was surely above average !!

    Reema: Sadly movies are only source of entertainment in my small city. :(

  2. Hey This is a nice way to review bad movies. I wasn’t planning to see them anyway so I guess I wont be missing them. Bollywood needs to stop plagiarizing, atleast they should copy B grade hollywood movies that no one knows about.

    Reema: yes stop copying the famous ones :D

  3. The spoof on Ekta Kapoor… where Mithun Da talks about what actually happens in the Saas-Bahu sagas is Hilarious. And Tushaar’s take on the Crime Show on news channels is also very good. The rest of the movie is as usual, but at least the comedy was not over the top a la Priyadarshan.

    The rest two… I can’t bring myself to watch.

    Reema: I dont know what Ekta meant to portray in that scene. She knows the reality of her shows and yet shameless enough to continue dishing out that crap? Tusshar’s take on crime show was really good!

  4. It seems you have a lot of spare money to waste. :P Instead of watching such movies, please give me that money. I am broke!! :P
    Seriously, how could you even think of watching CCompany? :lol:
    And don’t kill me, but when I came to your blog just now, I thought I have come to some sex guru’s blog by mistake.
    You know, those strawberries and all. ;) :P

    Reema: LOL :D As I said movies are only source of entertainment in my city for people like me who cant hang around lest students see me!! :P I was kinda looking forward to watch C Company as good comedy. Amittttt the pervert! Ashish calls u that na? :P

  5. @ Reeemmmaaa- You’re so right….Maan gaye mugha e azam was a torture..what were they thinking??? man I hated it…
    And C Kkompny – I liked the ekta kapoor thingy only and yes Tushar Kapoor’s acting as Aaj Tak’s reporter….hehehehehe funnnyy..But rest TRASH!

    BUT mark my words- take out time and see Mumbai meri jaan and you can’t miss – A wednesday!
    I saw ‘A Wednesday’ today-damn goood. Naseeruddin Shah is awesome…

    Reema: I’m going to see A Wednesday in evening!!! Yippee!

  6. And yes delicious strawberries- hmmmmmmmm…..lovely–am off to gulp strawberry smoothie straight after this

    Reema: I liked the pic but I hate strawberry flavor!

  7. The strawberries look good…guess this is for a gal who likes red?!
    Was not thinking of watching any of the 3 movies….so now it will be a definite no! Thanks :D

    Reema: yes!! I liked the pic because of that only.

  8. strawberries???? :O :mrgreen:

    No wonder Amit was thinking….. anyway, we can only guess :D :P

    And HOW DARE YOU WATCH CKomapny (or something like that)? You said *I was kinda looking forward to watch C Company as good comedy* ??? come on dudy, I think you are stressed or your mind is busy or simply you have been hit on back of head (waha choda magaz aka brain hota hai)…….

    Ok dont hit me now, but thats what my reaction will be for everything realted to Balaji Telefilms and Ekta Kapoor and Tussssshar Kapooooor. :D

    Cheeeeers Dudy :D

    Reema: Oh this Amit has set off an irrelevant discussion on strawberries! I LOVE RED COLOR! I feel eager to watch comedy any day rather than something like Jaane Tu Ya Jaane Na or for that matter Mumbai Meri Jaan. Wo jo magaj hai usko dusre kaam ke liye mangta hai isliye picture me nahi lagana mangta hai.

  9. How do you manage to watch all these movies despite your profession ?? ;) .. anyway yet to watch Ckkompany and Maan gaye Mugal e azam ..

    anyway if you still have the time i suggest watching Mumbai meri jaan and Wednesday.. ALTHOUGH there are lotsa reviews about the crap movies but yet to find reviews of the great movies here at blogosphere..

    hardly a good movie is reviewed here :(

    Reema: Well, as I said on Sandeep’s post, having a fixed timing and comparatively relaxed profession does give a lot of time to watch movies and writing reviews is a part and parcel of blogging :). I saw Wednesday. It was very good! Hey that isnt so! Check out my category “Movies” for reviews of good movies. Also check out these blogs for movie reviews.
    http://nitawriter.wordpress.com/
    http://mashedmusings.wordpress.com/

  10. Whenever a Bollywood movie has an English name, they screw up the spelling quite miserably, don’t they? :D
    Kkompany??? WTF..!! :D
    Now you know why I avoid bollywood… :D

    Reema: Ohh no dear. The Kk is an intended pun at Ekta Kapoor serials!! :D

  11. Rock On is a rip off of Barvo My Life and The Happy Life.

    Bollywood is truly creative. They have progressed from ripping off well-known Hollywood movies to obscure South Korean movies. Way to go!

    The Happy Life

    Release date in South Korea : Sep 12, 2007

    SYNOPSIS :

    Sang-woo, the leader of college rock band Volcano, dies and sets up a reunion for Gi-yeong and the other members of the group. Former bass player Seong-wook lives a hand-to-mouth existence working two jobs. Drummer Hyeok-su is a single father struggling to make a living as a car salesman. The jobless lead guitarist Gi-yeong dreams of taking over Volcano as the new frontman. When he suggests they reform the band while the old friends reminisce at the funeral, they all spurn the idea. But Gi-yeong persists and gets each to relent, setting the stage for a rock and roll reunion.

    http://www.koreanmovie.com/The_Happy_Life_kmintro_541/

    Bravo My Life

    Release date in South Korea : Sep 06, 2007

    Friends Celebrate `The Happy Life’ “The Happy Life” thoroughly resembles “Bravo,” with four men reliving their youth by forming a rock band. Even one of the characters, Hyeok-su, also a gireogi father like “Bravo’s” Seung-jae, and also has a pet turtle for company. Here, another set of four veteran actors, including one former child star, give life to colorful characters. “King and the Clown’s” director Lee Joon-ik and male lead Jung Jin-young get back together in “Bravo.” Jung plays the role of an unemployed father, Gi-yeong, who lives on a daily allowance from his working wife while trying hard not to embarrass his teenage daughter. One day, he reunites with members of his college rock band Volcano at the funeral of their lead vocalist Sang-woo. Former bass play Seong-wook lives a hand-to-mouth existence working two jobs while trying to maintain his upper-middleclass lifestyle. One-time drummer Hyeok-su makes a living selling secondhand cars to support his wife and children in Canada. Gi-yeong is inspired one day to revive Volcano: After much persuasion, the band regroups for the first time in 20 years, with the late vocalist’s young son Hyeon-jun, played by grown up child-star Jang Geun-seok. Although Volcano members manage to escape the mundane while onstage, they must face the anticlimactic moments of reality offstage. If an exciting rock performance is like a much-needed breath of fresh air for “Bravo,” it’s like a sigh for “Happy.” While the drama culminates through the grand finale performance of “Bravo,” “Happy” shows how these men deal with ordinary life after tasting the sweet sensation of the stage spotlight. Like “Bravo,” “Happy” celebrates friendship and family values, and shows that what is often called a mid-life crisis is but a small bump on the road. “Happy” will open across theaters Thursday.

    http://www.koreanmovie.com/Bravo_My_Life_kmintro_535/

    http://www.bravomylife2007.co.kr/

    Reema: Welcome to my blog. Thanks for the information!! See u around.

  12. Lol…
    strawberries? i wudnt see it at all … i hate tht flavour!

    and Rock-On…was “ok ok”…maybe all those reviews and hype made me expect a lot…
    the movie was a collection of a lot of cliche’s and predictable events…but the characterisation was nice…and overall, it was good. A must-watch for the sake of music, tho! Brilliant music!

    Reema: Ohh Amit @#&*%$. Yes it was good not extraordinary like DCH.

  13. ahhhh I guess you missed Bachna ae Haseeno.

    Do not watch it, but yea if you want to write another worse than worst movie review you can sure go and enjoy!!

    Reema: Oh I have seen BAH. But as usual there were too many reviews in blogosphere. And moreover I found it average.

  14. Okay adding to list of movies to avoid.
    The other night, we sat down to watch One Two Three(I think thats the title). About 3 Laxminarayans.. We switched it off 1/2 way.
    Again..must watch Rock On

    Reema: Oh I had found that movie quite hilarious :) Pepuls!! The storys was bakwaas yet it dids make mes laughs a lots. :D

  15. So you actually saw these 3 movies?? I must say you are quite adventurous. I mean, how on earth did you even feel like watching these movies? ha ha ha…but ya..useful reviews…i will definitely avoid these movies. I saw “A Wednesday”..and I must say itz a very good one. Haven’t seen “rock on”. Guess itz good! But I guess it has been a long time since any movie has created waves at the box office. I think only SRK and Kajol will do that with “My Name is Khan” :D

    Reema: Yes I actually saw these movies. Rock On and A Wednesday are good. SRK and Kajol are doing a movie together? I didnt know that.

  16. Like san, dont feel like reading reviews of these movie! Saw Wednesday yesterday!! write areview on it! its an awesoem movie!! :)

    Reema: Amit has already written its review so I lost interest.

  17. This would be the complete list of movies which I dared not to watch. I in fact watched Kung fu Panda last week when I had a choice! :)

    Reema: Oh I loved Kung Fu Panda. I have written a post on that movie too.

  18. Heh heh, strawberries gone???
    Did u watch these movies without fast-forwarding?

    Reema: Due to unfortunate circumstances strawberries have been replaced. FYI I saw the movies in theater with no ff option.

  19. Have never heard of the 1st two movies you’ve quoted :D

    Right, Pyar Ke Side effects is the best compared other Mallika-Rahul’s movies.

    Reema: Don’t you watch trailers of movies on TV? :P I liked PKSE a lot.

  20. I think you are on a rampage. (to live upto the reputation). Don’t waste your money like this. :D

    Reema: LOL :D Dont worry I saw the good ones too but their reviews had been done to death by others. :)

  21. MGMA gave me terrible headache. I usually can sit through any crap but this was too much.. or may be I watched it soon after Phoonk (I had not recovered from that trauma)… That day I had seen three movies back to back.. aforementioned two and Mumbai Meri Jaan.. Only MMJ was somewhat a better watch..

    Reema: MGMA was horrible!! I havent seen Phoonk yet and have no plans either.

  22. I am so happy that I didn’t see any of these movies! :) thanks reema for the reassurance, coz otherwise I feel really bad if I miss a good movie.

    Reema: Welcome!! :)

  23. I havnt watched the first two and will never watch too. U already read what I have got to say about GTGH ! Bad year for Bollywood, na?

    Reema: Yes real bad year..Hope Kidnap is good.

  24. not just in bollywood ..bad for Indian movies :D… these days i waste not a single paise n time for a movie…
    Look like all bloggers are kinda movie buffs! :P

    Reema: Oh yes it does seem all bloggers are movie buffs and those who aren’t they are students and busy with studies!

  25. Gosh! I haven’t seen any of the above, though I do intend seeing Rock On Soon! LOL, movie reviews are fun to read though and esp the comments that follow them :)

    Reema: Attraction for movies run in the veins of Indians :P

Come On! Say Something!

