My Dual Life

Its been two months since I again became a student to do my second Master of Engineering in my core branch i.e. Electrical Engineering. The first day of M.E. (Power Systems Engineering) was a portent of what lay ahead. Getting up at an unholy time (6.45 am), bathing so early in morning, attending class from 8 to 11 and taking classes after that till evening are totally draining me out mentally and physically. For those who remember my earlier post on categories of students and those who were curious to know my classification, nowadays I can be classified as

# The First Bencher :- One of my Professors in M.E. writes on the board in such a small cursive handwriting that it is not resolvable or readable from the first bench even with a pair of binoculars. Though I admit I haven’t tried using a binoculars yet. Maybe I would one day. When I was the class monitor in school, then only I’d learnt that one has to write for the audience not for oneself on board. Another speaks in low voice and another’s subject is so boring that I have to sit there to avoid sleep. :P

# The Yawner :- Just as the Professor turns his back to us, I yawn and stretch. 6.45 am is like dawn to me. :(

# The Stimulator :- In all the 5 subjects, there are only two which really interest me and I’m active in that class. Whether I’m fun to teach or not , that only my professors can tell. :D

The Professors teaching in this course inspire me to do a post on “What not to do as a Teacher”. A teacher attending another teacher’s class gives him/her a better understanding of the art of teaching and makes him/her analyze consciously or subconsciously the good and bad points. The most important thing about teaching is that a number of qualifications and experience need not mean he/she is a good teacher. I’ve this Professor who is a Ph.D from Roorkee in Electrical Engineering but he teaches assuming that we already know the subject (which is by the way totally new to us) and sets us impossible assignments. He only explains the solved problems and doesn’t believe in solving one himself so as to show the procedure at least once. He expects we all know MATLAB programming which is similar to C and C++ programming and which we of course know!! Dude, we are from hard core Electrical!! So I got my first assignment and frankly I have no clue how to write a MATLAB program for it. (Yes, yes I know I’d resolved to learn MATLAB. No need to rub it in). So if any of my beloved readers know it, please help me by giving the program.

Next Professor is one who has like 9 years of experience but all he does is look from his notes and teach. The undergrad students have told me a true incident in which once his notebook’s current page turned due to air and he started dictating from that new page!! In Engineering teaching profession, once a Lecturer/Professor has build up a substantial experience in number of years, then nobody dares to raise a finger at them. They earn not because their skills but because their experience. So the onus of clearing my exams lies on my shoulders only. And here is a sample of what I’m going through.

Power System Dynamics

Power System Dynamics

Scary Equations

Scary Equations

Power System Protection

Lots and lots of wires

Lots and lots of wires

So as you can see and understand, I really have the urge to be The Resourceful in my upcoming tests this weekend but I can’t do that. So I guess I have to rely on my IQ of 146 as estimated by this website (Thanks Vishesh for giving me the link) for helping me clear my exams. The results are displayed below. Very gratifying indeed!! (First it gave 152 then in depth analysis report gave 146!! Unfair!)

My IQ Test Result

My IQ Test Result

And I hope the world does come to an end as being hyped by Indian media due to the World’s largest experiment to test particle physics theory to be conducted on 10 September 2008 so that my tests will be cancelled. :P

P.S. My numbers of posts per month are continually decreasing and so is my habit of prompt reply to comments on my blog as well as commenting on others’ blogs as soon as I read a post. And now have got these tests around the corner. Kindly excuse me. I lead a dual life.

35 thoughts on “My Dual Life

  1. All I can say is BEST OF LUCK!!! with ur assignments and tests, and most importantly, with bearing those profs.
    and if it doesn’t work, there’s always “HOMEWORK, BE DONE!” ;)

    P.S. here’s a link: http://www.math.ufl.edu/help/matlab-tutorial/

    P.P.S. my iq is 147 :P

    Reema: Thanks dear!! I have many such tutorials and books. I want the particular program :P I too wanna be spoon fed once in a while. How much is in ur in depth report? I got 152 but in depth report showed 146!! :(

  2. It should feel different to be a teacher and student at the same time. I think you can get through the test on your own, good luck with that. Hopefully, Large Hadron collider will not destroy our planet!

    Reema: We are alive! yipppeeee!

  3. I always used to wonder if the teachers forgot how it felt to be a student when they got there! Binoculars?! really?
    Ok! your assignments…greek latin & celtic might probably make more sense to me :D if it were c or C++ I would have offered some help; but even that, there would be many who would I suppose ;) Am sure you would do gr8 in both your roles. All the best!
    Will take up the IQ test later…don’t know if I would get a respectable score even! :)
    The collider…well let’s wait and see :D

    Reema: Some teachers forget but I think thats what helps me most in connecting with students. Yes binoculars!! One day I will take a snap of his writing maybe. Thanks dear. We are alive!! yayy!

  4. Ahhaaa .. Very High IQ .. That’s coool ..

    Those equations were extremely scary .. I m sure that I will get nightmares today .. They gave me goosebums .. We had a subject of electrical/electronics in first year and I deeply hated it .. I just cant bear those transisters, resisters and impedence and what not .. My god, they scare hell out of me ..

    All the very best for the tests .. I’m sure u’ll pass out in flying colors ..

    Reema: Thanks!! I dont why electrical scares students so much. After so many years even, I’m glad I took this branch. Thanks!!

  5. scary !
    All the best. :) you are on your own dear. ;)
    I know that is not helping, but I want to be happy that am not studying anymore for sure….

    Reema: Thanks!!

  6. LOL… I’m ‘shocked’… No puns intended! :D
    I took that IQ test too and it gave me a 153… Hehehe… That’s not really a standard test…
    And why did u have to go study electrical??? You could have studied biotech like I did… No tensions! :D

    Reema: :D I got 152 dear but the in depth report 146!! WTF!! We had no such branch then in our state’s engineering colleges else I would have been more than glad to pursue that branch as I’d Bio Maths in class 11 & 12.

  7. Your students are lucky. Their teacher cannot forget what it is like to be a student.

    Reema: Oh sometimes they r unlucky too as I see through their lies and excuses!! :)

  8. Hey yawning is parallel process..
    infact if u are yawining it is said that ur mind is wrking more…

    keep yawning dear :DDDD

    and what else

    best of luck :DD

    Reema: Good logic! Thanks!

  9. Hehe…
    and i agree with Chakoli…we yawn when we fight against sleep ;) So, yawning is actually a good sign! teachers shud be proud of students who yawn :D

    all the best!

    Reema: Thanks!

  10. Its quite something to do a degree once! U r doing a dual degree? Good Gosh woman! You are awesome!

    Good Luck! :-)

    Reema: Awww *blush* its more like the need of the hour or rather my life. Thanks!

  11. Hey exams are always a nightmare.. No matter how good or how ill prepared you are… the feeling is so different… Its been so long, I think I miss that feeling :(

    And like Nikhil said, I took up the test as well… and it have me also a score of 153… And I have undertaken IQ tests before, this one appeared quite sub-standard!! Maybe we should try a more reliable source like mensa or something…

    Reema: Trust me u dont want to feel it. I thought I was over feeling it but fate had something else in store for me. :D I have 152! I have 152! not 146!

  12. I can not fathom myself in any of the roles.. I did give a shot and imagined and was scared… no ways.. u r a brave girl though…

    Reema: Aww thanks!!

  13. ooh !!! these assingnment question’s give me creeps :(
    i hate electrical.. :(

    and matlab is very boring…
    i had it oin my 7th sem ..
    sucked ot the core.. though i love c c++ ..
    calvin strip was awesome :D

    Reema: Again an electrical hater!! why?? I’d learnt C and C++ in my BE but now its wiped out. Calvin rules!

  14. It is difficult to keep up with blogging isn’t it, I am facing this difficulty too, although for different reasons. I hope you manage to find time though.
    That’s an interesting thing you said about good teachers and bad teachers. The bad ones make you lose all interest in the subject!

    Reema: Its really tough! All the mental strain takes away the creativity required for a writing new post. Students just sit through a bad teacher’s class for attendance only!

  15. i am looking forward to the test at CERN.Lol,there was a time,when i dreamed of going there ;) LOl i skipped those pages…:P Don’t want to know i don’t know enough :P

    Reema: U dreamt of going to CERN? Good aspirations!! Ahh u dont want to share my pain :( :P

  16. i wish i cud have helped u with those assignments..but i have no clue about that subject :( …and as one of the girls above said, its quite something to do double degree!!! all the best dear….

    Reema: U back from vacation? Thanks for the thought dear! Thanks for wishes.

  17. @reema
    sorry, can’t help u with the program, cuz i’m not even sure what matlab exactly is….
    and i’m talking about my indepth score only…147

    Reema: Oh I have hyperlinked MALTAB. u check out the link if u wanna know. Oh ok!

  18. reema, i wake up at 5 every day for a work that starts at 8.45am… :D but only because i need to get my internet fix before i get out of the house as i don’t have my own computer at work. and i drop off by 10pm at night because i usually get so tired! but looking at those diagrams, i think i won’t want to wake up for a class like that… ever. :P

    Reema: At 5?? OMG!! I can never do a job which would require me to get up that early!

  19. Those diagrams made no sense to me :D

    Its tough, isnt it? kabhi student, kabhi teacher !!Hmm..all the best; for your students, for your teachers and also for you :D

    Reema: yes its tough with dual roles :) Thanks!!

  20. Your post reminds me of my Eco prof who used teach from small notes, notes which had gone yellow, they were that old. We always thought of stealing them :D

    Plus there was this prof who used to machao khujli everywhere….it was irritating but the way guys used to make fun of him was hilarious :D

    lol @ your wish :D but good luck dear :)

    Reema: Thx god I never had any khujli wala prof!! Thanks!

  21. I tried Matlab a few times, so now I have officially given up ;) But I guess you can not do that so quickly, can you? Good luck with that program.

    Its really difficult with the teaching bit, do you just teach, or have to assign wok, and check it too?

    Reema: MATLAB is a part and parcel of this course. Oh I do all the duties-teaching, giving assignments, checking them, taking tests, checking those too and demonstrating practicals in lab classes and checking readings.

  22. Hi,

    I am Richa from SiliconIndia. I am also an avid blogger for a while now and participating actively in Indian blogosphere. I read your blog posting and found them very interesting and informative. We would love to see a copy of your blogs posted here, whenever you are posting it on blogger.com. Here are some of the benefits of posting your blogs here:

    We have a strong community of 1 Million professionals
    Best blogs of 2008 to be published in a book “SiliconIndia bLoG PrinT”
    Best blog to be printed in SliconIndia & SmartTechie magazines each month
    Chance to be featured on homepage everyday
    There are 10,000 active bloggers who participate in active blogging

    We appreciate your community initiative here and in helping build a more powerful India! Also, if you have any ideas or want to volunteer to help for SiliconIndia, we would be more than excited to get your help. Pls mail me back at richa@siliconindia.com with your suggestions and feedback.

    Richa
    Blog Editor – SiliconIndia

  23. Reema,

    First and foremost, I want to congratulate you on the comment above mine. I think thats a very good compliment you have got from Richa and maybe by participating on there, you could lead a triple life :)

    Secondly, I don’t belong to this Electrical field so couldn’t make a head or a tail of the pics and the programming that you were talking about. However, none the less, I think, it’s most amazzing that you are pursuing something that you really wanted and a Dual Degree at that is even more amazzing. Good Luck for the upcoming tests. :)

    Reema: Oh this Richa has commented the same thing once before and I have seen this same comment on other people’s blog too. Its a kinda spam I guess…online advertising. Thanks dear!!

  24. Reema,
    Great that you are working towards achieving your dreams. It’s tough, yes, but not impossible. Good luck in your Dual Life and Dual Degree, one I would take a second life to complete!

    Would take the IQ test as well. Looks interesting. Thanks!

    Reema:Thanks dear! U r welcome!

  25. Pingback: Blog Name and Best Post « My Random Thoughts

  26. Pingback: It All Ends Here « My Random Thoughts

Come On! Say Something!

