Vishwakarma Puja – Photo and Video Feature

Yesterday Vishwakarma Puja was celebrated in my Department of Electrical Engineering. Lord Vishwakarma is a Hindu deity known as the divine engineer and architect in Hinduism.

Hindu mythology is full of Vishwakarma’s many architectural wonders. Through the four ‘yugas’, he had built several towns and palaces for the gods. In “Satya yuga”, he built the Swarg Loke, or heaven, the abode of the gods and demigods where Lord Indra rules. Vishwakarma then built the ‘Sone ki Lanka’ in “Treta yuga”, the city of Dwarka in “Dwapar yuga”, and Hastinapur and Indraprastha in the “Kali yuga”.

Vishwakarma Puja is celebrated on Kanya Sankranti day which comes after Ganeshotsav. All engineering and architectural community celebrate this day and worship Him. Craftsmen worship their tools in His name. He is supposed to provide excellence and quality in work and blessing for proper working of machinery and tools. Though the festival is mainly celebrated in factories and industries with much grandeur, we have the tradition of celebrating it in our engineering college’s laboratories and workshop also. Here is a photo feature of the whole event. Place the mouse on the photos to read the captions.

Next is a video where a student is explaining to me the meaning of the technical rangoli made by the girls.

Then these two videos are of Electric Machine Lab of my department where the Puja was conducted.

The Mechanical Department celebrates the day with more fervor. They cook khichdi in huge amount and distribute it as prasad in the entire college. But all departments except Electrical and Mechanical do not celebrate the day. I think they should….Lord Vishwakarma can be a great help in keeping computers virus-free, softwares glitch-free and can even make oscilloscopes display correct waveforms!! And of course He gives students a half day in college and prasad to not-so-religious-people-with-sweet tooth like me.

43 thoughts on “Vishwakarma Puja – Photo and Video Feature

  1. This day was celebrated when my Dad was in Gorakhpur. That day we were allowed to visit the plants and what fun it used to be. The prashad used to be of sweet boondi.

    What fun we kids used to have, a visit to the forbidden territory. It used to make us feel closer to our Dad and it used to make us realise the difficult situation he used to work in.

    You reminded me of those lovely, carefree days :)

    Lovely post.

    Reema: My dad too used to get a whole packet of different sweets but family visits were not allowed. In the puja in college, I got boondi and coconut. :) Thanks!!

  2. Reminded me of my college days!!!

    Our Department(Mechanical) celebrated performed Puja of Lord Vishwakarma and all other equipments like lathe machines, drillers etc..

    It use to be fun too…..

    But techincal rangoli is something new and very creative. :)

    Kudos to your students!! do send them my regards.

    Reema: Oh u r a mechie!! Last year Our Mech Dept had enacted a play too! Errr cant pass your regards to students as they dont know my blog :) Thanks on their behalf!

  3. i didn’t know ,we had such a God,rather forgot all about him :P no translation in the video?

    Reema: Trust me you dont want to know the weird interpretation. Still I’ll give u.
    Me: Resistance, Inductance, Capacitance
    Lab staff to student: U didnt explain the meaning to ma’am
    Me: Why have u made it?
    Another Student: Say it na
    Student: Ma’am this Om sign in red is the supernatural power. The red portion surrounding is something (I dont remember) through which the power is spreading. The blue is the sky and the pink is the cosmos and a fault (electrical term) is happening in it and current is flowing through the passive elements.
    My Colleague: All I can see is a rangoli.
    All laugh.
    Me: We have never done so much analysis ever! But really the rangoli is very nice.

  4. Checked Photo Slide.. Will check out the Video later.. In hurry to scoot from work..

    Btw, I always wanted to ask this.. Do you students know of your blog..???

    Reema: No they don’t and I intend to keep it that way :)

  5. Great work by your students! Kudos to them! I’ve never experienced such occasion before. Thanks for this post, I am learning more about Indian culture in India every day now! :)

    Reema: Thanks on their behalf! Thanks!

  6. You must also add in your comment when you tag others, that, “Aparna Gonibeed, who created this tag, is Brilliant!!” :-D

    P.S – Feel free to add more adjectives ;-)

    I am loving this!

    Reema: Wow!! such narcissism :P

  7. @ Reema

    A compulsory day off, with the machine shop in particular shut down and the lathe machine decorated with flowers, is what I definitely remember about Vishwakarma Pooja.

    What I always found fascinating is the ease with which Hindu mythology is mainstreaming alongside high-technology with not a pipsqueak from students of other religions who were equally happy with the laddoos and the day-off and a day out to the cinema!

    Good post. I like posts that set a train of thoughts in motion. :-)

    Reema: Thanks!! How did you get to experience the festival? In college or like me through one’s dad? I think students are unbiased on any religious festival that gives them holiday, moments to just let testosterone loose and also sweets to eat. I have known Muslim students to participate in Janmashthami’s Matka Fod ritual.

  8. hey i completely forgot about Vishwakarma day…and also one of my cousin brother’s birthday which falls on this day. Thanks to your post it reminded me to wish my brother!!! my dad who is an electrical engineer used to take us to his company plant when we were kids during this day. there used to be so much of festive mood in the factory and we kids used to enjoy all those sweets and factory employees giving us a tour around the different machinaries telling us its importance(which we later forgot though :) )…!!!nice post bringing back old memories!

    Reema: I miss the packets of different sweets my dad used to get on this day. Thanks!

  9. This is interesting. I never knew such deity existed. Nice to have a deity for my profession. In the south we celebrate something called Ayudha Pooja (Tools Pooja) where we worship the tools that we use. I am not sure if it is a custom in the North too. Pictures and videos are nice!

    Reema: Yes I think both are similar as I have mentioned in my post too, craftsmen worship their tools and machinery on this day.

  10. Sometimes I feel that I was brought up in a different world and still continue to live there!!! I had no idea of any of these things. Thanks for sharing all these. Next time when anyone speaks about Lord Vishwakarma and the related poojas, I will have something to speak about too :D

    Reema: I’m glad that I enlightened you. :P

  11. Jai Bhagwan !!

    I never celebrated this day !! .. I dont think they celebrate it in gujarat or in maharashtra ..

    Anyways, I hope u had a great day eating khichdi and getting some blessings from the lord Vishwakarma !! ..

    Reema: Bolo Vishwakarma bhagwan ki Jai! Oh I could just get to taste khichdi as I’d go to take classes. :(

  12. Wow, very interesting! I wonder if there’s a business-oriented deity too! That’s a really nice Rangoli by the way. Brings back a lot of memories.

    Reema: Oh there is goddess Lakshmi u know :) For the MBA in Finance. whats your stream?

  13. is it good or bad for never having to leave college?

    Reema: Errr didnt get the context. Still as a general question, my reply would be its good. Being in touch with youth and college makes one feel young,alive and not a rat in the rat race.

  14. Is this celebrated on the occasion of Engineers’ Day or something?

    Reema: No. Engineers’ Day falls on 15th Sept but this is celebrated on Kanya Sankranti Day according to the Hindu calendar. It may or may not coincide with Engineers’ day. Moreover Engineers’ Day is celebrated in respect of Sir M. Visvesvaraya.

  15. I have certainly increased my general knowledge! And I think it must be fun to celebrate these occasions at work! The header looks like your college…nice!

    Reema: I’m glad to have increased your GK :P Oh no!!! Thats Versailles Palace in France. :D My college campus is impressive but not that impressive

  16. When we were in West Bengal, we used to celebrate Vishwakarma Puja. Now that I am not, I didnt even know yesterday that it was Vishkarma Puja :(

    Thanks for reminding me!

    Reema: You are most welcome :)

  17. This is the second time !!! You are already tagged by Aparna, damn !!!

    Reema: Dont tell me you tagged me!! Looks like I’m the scapegoat of blogosphere. Or I will flatter myself thinking people like reading my answers. :P

  18. Woow a great event dear :))

    somehow we dotn celebrate vishkarma pooja… but have seen it :))

    i especially like the sweet that they offer as prasad :D

    Reema: Oh I love boondi which is usually the prasad of this puja.

  19. never knew about this..never celebrated this in my college :(
    nice pics :) …dint see the last 2 videos yet .. .

    Reema: U studied from Faridabad no? The one in North India? How come then they didnt celebrate the festival?

  20. Video dekha. Conversation zada kuchh samajh nahi aaya.. All were speaking at same time. I wish I had teacher like you in my engg days.

    Reema: Please see above the dialogues I have given in the translation for Vishesh. Awww I’m flattered! :)

  21. Hi, Reema,

    Thanks for reminding this day. You made me emotional thinking of those days.
    I am talking this of my tenure in IPCL (Indian Petrochemicals Corporation Limited) Baroda from 1985 till 1995. Now it is Reliance Industries Ltd.
    We use to celebrate this Day in a Grand way. There were totally aprox 20 workshops in all petrochemical producing plants.
    It use to start from about a month before. We will plan a theme/model that we intend to construct on this day. It use to be a normally a working model. Maintenance workshops of all plants use to make different models or themes. Everybody use to finish their official work ASAP and than start working on these models and continue till late evenings whenever possible. Management permitted to have Satyanarayan Pooja in all workshops on this day. One of the colleagues name was selected by draw system and he was allowed to bring his family with him inside the plant with management’s special permission.
    On this day, the activity use to start early morning with the satyanarayan pooja and than ending with grand aarti and than the unforgettable prasad. Prasad was even distributed to everybody in approximately 50 nos of shift buses in all shifts.
    All employees including management people will than start visiting all workshops all around the complex and havng prasad of all places.
    Only emergency work was attended on that day.
    In the evening everybody will get a box of sweets and a packet of prasad. Family use to wait at home for that prasad and sweets. Photographs were published in the company newsletter also.
    I cannot forget those days. Now once abroad it is difficult to find that environment.Once again, thanks for reminding.

    In Maharashtra Dussera is celebrated with similar pompous.

    Rajesh.

    Reema: Welcome to my blog. Thank you for sharing such good memories of the real Vishwakarma Puja as it is held in industries. Keep visiting.

  22. parties and celebrations are always fun!

    Its good you had a great time.

    Been missing you.

    Reema: Hey there! Well you have stopped replying to my comments and my mail and also commenting on my posts, so I assumed the obvious. Glad to have you back.

  23. Hi once again,

    I would like to share that on Vishwa Karma Puja day, the tools, tackles and Machinery are worshipped as they are considered means of bread and butter. Knowledge of an Engineer or a crafts man or a labour can’t do anything without right tools and machinery.
    This pooja is more popular amongst construction/EPC companies.

    Rajesh.

    Reema: Thanks for the information!!

  24. context: celebration in college :)

    but you’d be seeing the same thing more or less year after year, don’t you wanna see how a rat race is some time? :P

    Reema: Naah I guess I’ll leave the rat race for my future husband. Its more fun preparing rats for the race ;)

  25. “Lord Vishwakarma can be a great help in keeping computers virus-free, softwares glitch-free and can even make oscilloscopes display correct waveforms!!”
    Really?!?! :-o
    All I feel toward Hindu Gods (or just God actually) off late is…thanks for all the holidays that come up because of you! :)

    Reema: I was kidding!! Yes its one of the reasons I feel happy to be an Indian. :D

  26. Reema, you can be so annoying..do you know that? ;)

    No way..I didnt even have her avatar in my mind when I was doing it..I was just bored with my earlier avatar, so wanted to change it with this one..and I had a similar pic on my header some time back..much before I started visiting her blog regularly..
    You jump to conclusions so soon..plzz give me a break teacher jee.. :P

    Reema: Me and annoying???? *innocent eyes* I was just asking!!! Sheeeshhhh no freedom to question in today’s blogosphere!!

  27. @Reema :

    No , I didnt tag u. First when Nikhil tagged me, I wrote the post tagging you and when I came to know that you were tagged already, I had to change it. Then when Aparna tagged me, I came in here but again, you were tagged by Aparna herself.

    Btw, when are you coming up with your version of the tags?

    @ Me :

    Better luck next time !!!

    Reema: One over. One to go :D

  28. @ Reema

    I knew of the story (don’t ask how Hindu mythology is tacit knowledge to me; it just is) but I gained first hand ‘experience’ of Vishwakarma Pooja in engineering college.

    Which is how I remember the bedecked lathe machine so vividly. The UTM too! You couldn’t stick flowers on a breadboard and make it look so ludicrous :-)

    Reema: Ahh workshop! It was kinda fun doing the welding. My teacher had complimented me for having a steady hand during welding. Fitting shop sucked!! Hey are you from mechanical stream?

  29. we dont have such pooja in gujarat, or atleast not on such eloborate way!! but i love prasad of any kind… it simply tastes superb!! :)

    Reema: I only like the prasad thats sweet or if its khichdi.

  30. I had heard of Lord VIshwakarma but never knew he built so much in the 4 yugas..

    Lord Vishwakarma can be a great help in keeping computers virus-free, softwares glitch-free and can even make oscilloscopes display correct waveforms!!
    –Even I wish so.. :)

    Reema: Even I didn’t know but jai ho Wikipedia!!

  31. cheh even i did my engg in a hindu college thingy but never did we clebrate vishwakarma day… we did celebrate days for other things… but cheh one more day without lectures would have been loads of fun.

    Reema: Sorry you missed out one holiday in your engineering days!! :)

  32. yeah i lived my glorious 17 years there :P
    but no idea why i haven’t heard the name .. :(

    Reema: Oh I thought you only lived the 4 years of your engineering there.

  33. The only thing I can say is… I had a friend in school whose surname was Vishwakarma and he was the total opposite of that. :P

    Reema: LOL :D I too had a classmate with that surname and he has grown up to be so handsome now!!

  34. Take it easy yaar..lol
    Ofcourse you have the freedom to question anything..
    Oh, how I wish some other girls also find my eyes innocent rather than flirtatious. ;)

    Reema: Oh! I’m taking it easy dear! Just kidding :D

  35. I have never heard of anything like that in my life! :)
    But I really liked the capacitor and resistance rangoli. That was one masterpiece. :)
    Like Nita, I would like to say thankyou for increasing my G.K.

    Reema: Really? I thought being from Delhi you will be knowing about the Festival. Looks like its more of a Central India thing. I’m glad to have enlightened you!

  36. Pingback: My Random Thoughts - Special Edition « My Random Thoughts

  37. Pingback: Vishwakarma Puja 2009 « My Random Thoughts

Come On! Say Something!

