Movie Review – Saas, Bahu aur Sensex

The opening credits and the song are different from the usual movies and portrays “India Shining” since Independence in every field- education, communication, space, White Revolution, transport, business, malls, real estate. There is even a footage of Mrs.Indira Gandhi asking Indian astronauts “Ooper se Bharat kaisa dikhta hai aapko?” and the astronauts reply “Saare jahan se achha”. I think the translation will not do justice to the dialogue. I don’t know why but the footage filled my heart with pride momentarily. The movie being a Warner Bros. production also fills the heart with hope and expectation of a good movie. Here is a trailer:-

The story:- Binita Sen (Kirron Kher) has left her husband in Kolkatta and along with her daughter Nitya ( Tanushree Datta) has moved to Mumbai. The house wives ( Sharon Prabhakar, Lilete Dubey to name a few) in the housing complex are the typical gossip mongers and Saas-Bahu serial addicts. Binita goes to a stock broker Firoz (Farooque Sheikh) to sell some old shares for money and from then on her passion and eventually the passion of all the ladies for stocks and Sensex begins. Also Nitya finds a friend in neighbour Ritesh (Ankur Khanna) and a job in a call center. But a love triangle begins between her, him and another neighbour Kirti (Masumeh Makhija) who is a gold digger. The story is also about the strained mother-daughter relation.

The cast:- Kirron Kher is graceful,composed and suited for her role. She has done justice to the role of Binita who is not a typical kitty partying type and gossiping kind of lady. Tanushree can’t act. Ankur is cute but then again not much of an actor. Farooque Sheikh has done well in his role. Masumeh is for the oomph factor and is good at it. Rest are fine.

The movie:- The mixture of woman power, finance and humor could have been a good story but somehow its turns out to be dull. Humor is based on the different stereotypes living in the building along with some sexual innuendos. The climax and the acting in it is lame. The music is not anything exceptional but the best thing is songs are of hardly two minutes duration. A shorter movie length and a tighter story line would have been better. So the expectations at the beginning are not met by the movie. It is interesting and enjoyable in parts. Watch it on DVD on a lazy Sunday afternoon in the vacation season.

21 thoughts on “Movie Review – Saas, Bahu aur Sensex

  1. It’s been a while since this movie was released .. I was expecting a review of Drona or Kidnap ..

    Anyways, I gave a miss to this movie and after reading ur review, I feel happy that I did it ..

    So what’s new at ur end??

    Reema: I haven’t seen Drona or Kidnap yet. A digicam-thats what new at my end ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. aisa koi movie aaya bhi tha??? ๐Ÿ˜ฏ KAB??? ๐Ÿ˜ฏ (still shocked) but chalo, i think i will give it a try.. better than watching “dhronaa”!!

    Reema: Kya yaar! TV pe trailer dekha kar ๐Ÿ˜› I think it is better than drona atleast.

  3. I too haven’t heard of this movie before. I enjoy looking at Kirron Kher’s beautiful sarees..SHe is a very elegant lady.

    Reema: Yes she is very graceful and pretty!

  4. So u have finally seen it ๐Ÿ™‚ I wanted to watch it but after Drona am not in a condition to watch any movie.

    But yes nice review ๐Ÿ™‚

    lol @ Sakhi’s comment….

    Reema: Thanks!

  5. I’ve heard about this movie but the title put me off. Well, good I didn’t see it. In any case, I rarely watch DVD’s.

    Reema: I kind of like watching these short multiplex kind of films which seem different from usual bollywood masala, so I watched it.

  6. I knew that it would be bad. The title was very Ekta kapoorish. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reema: Well it was on the ladies passion of saas bahu serials hence the name!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Aah, I am not sure I will see this. Btw, Saw Drona and Kidnap… They both were awesome.. too good. classic movies.. amazing.. mind-blowing.. My mind is still blowing somewhere.. Pheeewww

    Reema: LOL ๐Ÿ˜€

  8. hey reema try to watch Welcome to Sajjanpur…really nice movie..and i loved ‘Rubaru’ too!!!

    Reema: I have seen Welcome to Sajjanpur. Its just that I didnt review it! I have yet to see Rubaru.

  9. another skip ๐Ÿ™‚
    ‘Masumeh is for the oomph factor’
    What about Ms. Dutta? ๐Ÿ˜€

    Reema: Ms.Datta could have but her role wasn’t meant for that. She was the sweet innocent girl.

  10. They are cherries.. hai na!! they look yummy!! ๐Ÿ™‚ slurp, slurp!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reema: Yes they are cherries! stop drooling at my blog. Its all wet! ๐Ÿ˜›

  11. So u do watch such movies huh.. Kudos!!

    and you found Mausameh good at oomph factor???… amazing…superb…

    u wrote the movie is also about mother daughter realtionship.. looking at the title i thought it would be about saas bahu relationship…never mind….

    Reema: I like trying out movies with some different stories. Well if you see the movie then you would also agree that Masumeh has the seductress role quite nicely! Whatever be the title, a movie has many sub plots doesnt it?

  12. Thank god for your review – I won’t be wasting my time watching this movie! I have heaps of GOOD movies to catch on ๐Ÿ˜€

    Reema: I’m glad I could save you ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. I think it was fine as a one time watch..A different theme rather than just some usual masala and item number….

    Reema: Yes it was fine but not worth spending on a theater ticket.

Come On! Say Something!

