The Dissection of Drona

If you want to read a spoiler-free proper movie review then go here. If you want to read my special opinions and their expressions on this movie then stay!! Hope springs eternal in the human heart. Even after reading Smita’s post, being the avid fantasy lover that I am, I watched Drona with a hope that likes and dislikes are relative and I may like it. But I was proved wrong and how!

So the basic story outline is that the gods after churning the ocean hid the amrit (nectar of immortality) on Earth (read:India) and assigned its protection to a human. This protection would be carried on by his heir and so forth. Now we have Aditya (Abhishek Bachchan) the last heir of this family who is oblivious of his heritage. But as he attains the right age and when he meets Riz Raizada (Kay Kay Menon), a Asur (demon) in human form; he realizes his true identity and the story begins to unfold.

# Is it me or did the villain have more lines to speak than the hero? The hero has done a good job with toggling between the grumpy and the confounded look. As far as I remember he hasn’t smiled anywhere in the movie. Moreover Abhishek can’t emote in sad scenes. Due to so much expenditure on special effects, the hero has worn only 3 costumes in the movie and I suspect the same pair of jeans with different t-shirts!!

# The dad (Amitabh Bachchan) had done a flop movie called Ajooba in a moment of temporary madness and over confidence. Its true that history repeats itself. Is it like buy one get one free offer in Bachchan family? Or does AB’s baby doesn’t get confidence to act if the movie doesn’t star his dad or mom?

# The hero is not at all astonished to find a bejeweled bracelet as a gift from a flying petal!! As if its a commonplace thing to happen. And I feel the idea is lifted from Mummy Returns.

# The heroine, Aditya’s bodyguard Sonia (Priyanka Chopra) moves about in London (it was London,no?) in an yellow car wearing the most weird dress. For a bodyguard, she ends up the same as any typical Bollywood heroine…wide eyed-helpless-fragile-waiting to be saved. And for heaven’s sake a fighter doesn’t wear flowing frilly dresses!! Goldie, go and see Kill Bill.

# The director instead of dedicating one routine song dance number for portrayal of romance, has sneaked in moments of it between action sequences and treasure hunting!! That made me wonder that how romantic does it feel for a guy to hang from a rope with the girl while fighting lots of evil baddies? Instead of a useless song showing Priyanka’s dancing skills to no one specific in the movie, Goldie could have put the routine number.

# I think there could have been better ways to show the evilness of the demon instead of making him create a clone and kill it!! And how did the director manage to convince Kay Kay to play such a role? That too with such a punk hair style?

# We have Riz Raizada’s (such a weird name even for a villain) faceless henchmen which are nothing but a straight rip off from Death Eaters of Harry Potter fame.

# Sets have never looked cheaper. Aluminum foil, plywood and cardboard all seem too obvious. The scene in which bricks move to reveal a path has been entirely copied from Harry Potter. There is also a desi Shangri-La rip off called Raazpur which was just one more crap. The scene with petals, sand dunes and the sea was looking so unreal. Special effects in Indian movies has still a long way to go.

# There are two heirlooms for every protector but it seems the director/story writer forgot about the sword for 2/3rd of the movie and suddenly remembered and included it towards the end. And here too the idea is taken from the legend of Excalibur or the Sword in the Stone.

# Even after having a sword rip through his stomach and entrails, Aditya resurrects due to the blessings of his forefathers and kills Riz but his father couldn’t when he was killed in a well. Does it mean his father didn’t have the blessings?

# The background music of Indiana Jones has been copied and so has been the general idea of treasure hunting. The camera work is very bad at places and the movie even being short going by Bollywood standards, fails to have the pace required for an action+fantasy movie. There are no good songs.

# Lastly there is a hint of a sequel in the end. Oh my god!! Such audacity!

So finally – Agar tumko pagal nahi hai hona, ya fir theater me nahi hai sona, to fir mat dekho Drona. πŸ˜†

30 thoughts on “The Dissection of Drona

  1. Ha ha ha .. Coool Review ..

    It’s sequel is n making .. But priyanka has been dropped from that project.. Some other actress has been approached .. I dont know who ..

    Well, ‘m waiting for tis sequel’s review from you after all u r an avid fantasy lover and u will certainly go to watch it!!!

    πŸ˜‰ .. LOL !!!

    Reema: Thanks!! No dear once bitten twice shy πŸ˜‰

  2. Maybe my kids can watch it? You think its suitable for them?

    PS:What’s a pandal?

    Reema: No I wont suggest it for anyone. πŸ™‚ A pandal is a temporary structure made of bamboo, thermacol, cloth, and tarpaulin set up during Ganeshotsav or Durga Puja to worship them. Maybe your kids can watch Hari Puttar which is Indianised Home Alone.

  3. And what is the picture in your header? Crystalized grapes?

    Reema: I think those were cherries. It was just a pic I got in email

  4. I loved your review Reema!
    I had no idea that so many things were copied…I sort of vaguely got the impression of deatheaters, but razpur too? And the other scenes…it’s really sad isn’t it.
    The reason this film was made was because the director is a childhood pal of abhishek Bachchan! How blinded bollywood is when they choose the cast!
    As for your last lines! Great! πŸ™‚
    And thanks for the link by the way.

    Reema: Thanks!! Nepotism in art is a recipe for disaster. U r most welcome! I can never write a professional review as you!

  5. sraikh. depends on how old your kids are. There is a lot of violence in the movie (although no gore) and I do not think it is suitable for children below the age of 7.

  6. Haaa….haa…. good that i didn’t go for the movie yseterday. instead i chose to watch “journey…”

    ” Agar tumko pagal nahi hai hona, ya fir theater me nahi hai sona, to fir mat dekho Drona.” yeah kya, ab tum shaayari bhi karne lagi ho!! πŸ˜† :lol:??

    Reema: Arree there is a poet hidden inside me πŸ˜›

  7. Nice review. Now I am definitely not going to watch such trash.
    I am very disappointed with Kay Kay for doing this, though I’ll forgive this as his second mistake (after Maan gaye Mughal-e-azam) πŸ˜›

    Reema: Thanks! I hope Kay Kay will regain his senses and stop doing more mistakes in his choice of films.

  8. Hahahhaha… m sure ur review was a lot more entertaining than the movie itself πŸ˜‰

    And after looking at the trailer, I couldnt make myself go and watch this movie!

    And now, I know I wont πŸ™‚

    Reema: Thanks!!

  9. lol πŸ˜€ I won’t say the obvious but you know what…lovely review πŸ˜‰ and am glad u have watched it…I mean why should only I suffer πŸ˜€

    Check out this link…

    http://www.ibnlive.com/news/drona-director-to-dedicate-its-sequel-to-srks-son/75308-8.html

    The director is hell bent on making a sequel. An excerpt from the interview, he says..

    “And all the children of our country who have to watch crime thrillers and sex comedies because fantasies are not made in the country. No matter what the outcome of Drona is at the box office, the sequel will most certainly happen,” he said.

    Commenting upon the criticism, Behl said, “As far as we’re concerned we’ve made a film that dares to go into an unexplored genre. Critics are all the time complaining about our films being borrowed from foreign sources

    “It’s important for children to enjoy Drona. I’m glad Aryan enjoyed it. I made the film for children, not for those who like their cinema twisted and perverse,” Behl told IANS.

    Aryan here is SRK’s son…

    God bless us all…

    Reema: Thanks for saying the obvious πŸ˜› OMG! Somebody stop Behl!

  10. Drona will one day get the distinction of highly dissected movie πŸ™‚

    Goldie should have tried his hand in making Jataka Tales or Amar Chitra Katha into a movie. It would have been a huge hit.

    Sequel… Naheeeee

    Reema: Yes an already famous fable would have been better for a story. But trust him to screw up that too!

  11. Hahahahahahaha!!! πŸ˜†
    Thank God that I haven’t seen it. The initial trailers were very good and I was pretty excited. But the one which came just before the movie release was really pathetic.
    I was planning to go with my family. And thank God I didn’t take them. They would have murdered me. πŸ˜€

    p.s. That “mukka in zameen” scene in the end is also a copy. I can’t remember from which movie but I have seen that before. Any idea??

    Reema: I took my family 😦 Yes that scene is familiar too but I cant place it!!

  12. This, I guess, is the most linked review πŸ˜€

    Not even one good review of Drona??? How bad is this movie??? Im just waiting for my eyes to be alright, I need to catch this in a theatre itself πŸ˜‰

    Reema: Why do you want to inflict pain on yourself even after so many bad reviews?

  13. Oh Boy, seems like a must avoid movie. The amruth part feels like the cup of life story from Indiana Jones Last crusade. I guess they have made a masala mix of everything! is it even worth a Rent the dvd and watch?

    Reema: Ah yes!! I knew the idea was stolen too. No don’t waste any money on it!

  14. he he your drona poem was too good :)…i dont remember any super-natural or science fiction movie in Hindi which i liked!!!

    Reema: Thanks!! yes I also never liked any such Hindi movie.

  15. Bole toh matlab bas Le-Li movie ki.. haha haha.. and see the guts of Behl that he defends the movie by saying that I made this for children and children are enjoying it.. I would say ‘Child’ not children.. Only his child might have enjoyed or wo bhi zabardasti ki hogi uske saath..

    Reema: Hehehe πŸ˜€ Nahi SRK ke bete ke baare me bol raha tha wo!

  16. @Nita thanks.. I dont like them watching violence.. And as for the ages, I have got the whole spectrum covered..My oldest is 9 and my youngest is turning 2 tomorrow, in between,got a 6 and 4 yr old..

    My girls loved Love Story 2050 though.. They thought the bear was the cutest thing ever

  17. And hw could one forget that dialogue “bau je ne kaha tha”…

    and also..
    gutakhi maaf!!!

    but a total crap movie for sure πŸ˜€

    Reema: Aarghhh! C.R.A.P!

  18. Not much of a movie person myself…so thanks to your review, will pass Drona even if I have to watch a movie…choose something else…may be Roadside Romeo soon?!

    Reema: Indian animation???? I don’t trust that too!

  19. Pingback: Durga Pujo 2008 - Photo and Video Feature « My Random Thoughts

  20. I think bollywood shoud leave super hero movies to hollywood πŸ˜€

    u know while i was a kid i enjoyed the movie ajooba very much..saw it everytime they put it in TV πŸ˜€

    and the header is form last supper i guess ..
    looking good

    Reema: I didn’t like Ajooba at all! Thanks! Its a pic of the painting at Louvre, taken by my sister.

  21. D for Drona; D for Disappointment; D for Dullness; D for Dawdling; D for Daft & D for Damnation! I may sound like Chunni babu in D for Devdas but those were my exact sentiments while trooping out of the theatre on a lazy holiday afternoon after watching Drona.

    Reema: LOL πŸ˜€ Good one!

  22. I have only seen bad reviews for this movie everywhere! I guess I won’t be seeing it then, despite my lusty obsession with Abhishek, hahah.

    P.S – Nice blog. πŸ™‚

    Reema: Welcome to my blog! I liked Abhishek but this movie was too bad! Thanks! Keep visiting!

  23. haha.. i had dismissed the movie watching the trailers itself πŸ˜€

    and Abishake sucks big time.. he is no good as a actor.. I just wonder how much better Mani Ratnam’s movies would be if he cast someone else πŸ™‚

    Reema: I liked Abhishek in Bluffmaster and Bunty Babli. But he sucked in Drona.

  24. I am a crap-movie lover,but even couldn’t stand it after 30 minutes or so..I am glad i didn’t waste my time ..Got over the hangover by watching mumbai meri jaan..wah,kya movie..

    [Abhishek is not toooo bad..He is ok..]

    Reema: I haven’t seen Mumbai meri Jaan. Yes Abhi isnt too bad but I guess a good director brings out a good actor.

Come On! Say Something!

