My First Stage Show

Being the faculty in charge of EETA, I’d organised Jhoom – 2008 along with students. Then the students wanted to conduct the yearly branch function of Electrical and Electronics department before the half year session ended. Last year I’d suggested the name Spark 2007 for the function. This year the students came up with Resonanzzz 2008. So I along with my colleagues and students organized the function on 4th Oct 2008. The function consisted of songs, dances (solo and group), drama, some interactive games, dandiya in open space and dinner for around 400 people. Our Head of Department had insisted on having some programs from the faculty side. So for the first time in history of our college, faculty participated in a branch function and showed their talents.

One did a classical dance, one played Spanish guitar, one sang Chura Liya Hai Tumne, another sang Badi Mushkil Hai, another sang Ye Zameen Gaa Rahi Hai and all the young staff performed a group song. The whole function was a huge hit and this time we had a videographer. Many people congratulated me on my good management of the function. The last time I danced was when I was in final year of B.E. After 5 years I danced a lot that day in the dandiya session with my colleagues and with students too which was quite opposite to my image. All the students were pleasantly shocked at seeing this side of their madam. It was so refreshing and it felt like I was reliving my college parties. Of course the after-effect was severe body ache for two days. πŸ˜†

The video clarity was reduced after uploading in Youtube. I’m only sharing one event as many were unable to see the videos in my earlier post. Its the first time I have performed anything on stage. I was never a cultural person. My only interaction with stage was to collect academic prizes and recently to compere for various seminars. Here is the video of our group song and I’m the one in the blue dress. I hope you all are able to watch it. Enjoy!!

P.S. The background was made by students using spray paint. Apparently they were inspired from Rang De Basanti.

27 thoughts on “My First Stage Show

  1. Hey this is a very nice song. I liked all the songs in this movie. Hum hain rahi pyar ki right? The background Graffiti is very cool. Is the name Resonanzzz inspired by karzzz ?

    Reema: Yes right thats the movie. I had agreed to resonanz but the students apparently inspired by Karzzz added the extra z!

  2. i loooove cultural events πŸ™‚ they make coll life much more interesting !:) we have our annual fests called “udbhav” at our coll but u guys had a dept level event ?? tats really cool πŸ™‚ and sure,ur students will feel “less scared of a teacher” when they see you all being a part of such events with enthusiasm πŸ™‚

    Reema: In this college every branch hosts a dept level function every year. There is no annual fest of whole college. Oh yes the response from students was awesome!

  3. Dr. Dolittle ke baad ab Lata Mangeshkar!!! πŸ˜›
    What next? Its great to participate in such functions. Isn’t it? Its such a good escape from our daily boring life.
    Good choice of song.

    Reema: Beech me philosophy bhi tha! U havent commented on that post πŸ˜› Its wonderful to participate in cultural events. And u know I hadn’t even practiced with my colleagues as I was busy organizing the event. I got up on stage then and there only!

  4. I am sure the body ache is nothing when compared to the refreshment it has given you. That’s a lovely song you’ve picked for your first stage show. Beautiful lyrics. What more.. you’ve got a standing ovation too πŸ™‚

    Reema: Yeah!! It was really refreshing.

  5. nice song …
    even i am not a cultural person ..only once i have performed on stage in 12th class,,, I asked my teacher about 1000 times to put another guy but all in vain .. only thing i enjoyed was all the girls in the play were HOT πŸ˜€

    Reema: πŸ˜† I didnt have hot classmates ever so no stage performances!

  6. The BG is cool πŸ™‚ Nice work by the students. And that is a nice song!

    Reema: Yes but they wrote anything they wished!

  7. Sigh!!! It has been ages that I have attended an such cultural function…

    I had debuted with a drama and have even danced on stage but have always been shy on stage but yes if I forget that there is any audience I freak out πŸ™‚

    Loved the post because as always your posts made me nostalgic πŸ™‚ and yes!!! you all sang pretty well πŸ™‚

    Reema: Thanks!! U danced on stage! Good yaar!

  8. hey….thts like one of my fav song…took me down the years!!!

    u guys enjoyed and sang and that itself brought the whole essence of the song…good job πŸ™‚

    btw, the girl in the middle (purple dress) never got near the mike at all πŸ˜€

    Reema: Thanks!! Yes the guys were much more cooperative in mike sharing 😦

  9. Video is much better this time. πŸ™‚
    Madam jee, thanks for showing this side of yours to us.

    Reema: The pleasure is all mine!

  10. I’m so going to miss the school fests after 12th grade !!
    I donno the song you sang, but it sounded good !!
    The wall behind is cool =)

    Reema: I’m sure there will be fests in college too!

  11. that was a wonderful performance indeed! πŸ˜€
    participating in such events is refreshing and surely brings out your latent talents .isnt it? you see students really enjoy when they get to see the other side of the teachers! cheers πŸ˜€

    Reema: Thanks!! πŸ™‚

  12. hey nice song and nice performance by you guys!! so there is one more hidden talent inside u….keep it up!!!

    Reema: Thanks! hehehe thankfully it isn’t solo then maybe u wont be saying so πŸ˜€

  13. Thatz refershing πŸ™‚ Your song reminded me of good old college days..**sigh** How I miss those days…

    Reema: I miss them too when I was a student not a teacher 😦

  14. Hey this is amazing!! Nice to see u having fun!! πŸ™‚

    Stage shows are a totally different experience… everyone shud experience it at least once in a life time… πŸ™‚

    Reema: yes and thats why I decided to take part in this song even when I had not rehearsed with my colleagues. πŸ™‚

  15. I am not a cultural person too .. I took part in drama once and then never in my life, I hv gone to the stage or podium ..

    It’s nice to see such functions happening in ur college and that too under ur efficient and effective management ..

    Kudos to you !!

    Reema: Thanks!! Good at least u took part in drama. I can never act on stage!

  16. I clapped loudly at office after seeing your performance! People think I’m mad! πŸ˜€
    And this is such an evergreen song! πŸ˜€

    Reema: Hehehe glad u liked it!

  17. Pingback: T for Tag, R for Retrospection « My Random Thoughts

  18. Pingback: That Time Of Blog Life « My Random Thoughts

Come On! Say Something!

