The Quote Tag

Sandeep tagged me to write my five favorite quotes. I love collecting quotes. I already have two on this page of my blog. So here are 5 more :-

1. “A fly may sting a stately horse and make him wince; But one is but an insect and the other is a horse still” – Samuel Johnson

Meaning – A person of great stature does not lose his greatness because some insignificant person says disparaging things about him.

2. “Heaven has no rage like love to hatred turned, Nor hell a fury like a woman scorned” – William Congreve

Meaning – Love, when turned to hatred is the most dangerous form of (righteous) anger- and the anger of a woman who has been rejected (and insulted) is a force to be reckoned with.

3. “Though the mills of God grind slowly, Yet they grind exceeding small; Though with patience he stands waiting, With exactness grinds he all.” – Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

Meaning – Though God may be late in punishing for wrong deeds, but when He does that, He does it with accuracy and justice. He waits patiently but He punishes all.

4. “A wise old owl sat on an oak; The more he saw the less he spoke; The less he spoke the more he heard; Why aren’t we like that wise old bird?– Unknown

Meaning – Empty vessels make more noise. So to be wise we must speak less and must listen and observe more.

and the Golden Rule

5.”Do not unto others that you would not have them do unto you.”

Meaning – What you don’t want people to do to you, you should not do the same to them. Treat people the same way you want them to treat you.

I’m not tagging anyone.

22 thoughts on “The Quote Tag

  1. Great quotes. One of my all time favorite quote is (re-iterating from my dad), “Grief can take care of itself, but to get the full value of a joy you must have somebody to divide it with” – Mark Twain.

    Reema: great!

  2. I was impressed with the quotes that you had put there ..

    I would have been more impressed if I could have understood any single one of them !!

    LOL !!

    Reema: 😀 Oh I should have written the meanings too!

  3. Like soham, I liked the way the quotes are. But didnt understand any of them. 😀

    These are more like poetry than quotes. You know the kind of quotes I have in my orkut album, na? 😉

    Reema: oh I think I’ll edit the post and write the meanings 🙂 Yes I know and trust me these are quotes too no poetry 🙂

  4. :))

    Good ones… :DD

    Hw r u?
    Loong time… got busy with soem stuff 😀

    Reema: Heyyy welcome back! Thanks! I m fine! Hope we will get to read your daily tidbits regularly now.

  5. Loved the first and fourth one. I think this is the first ‘owl’ quote i have ever read 🙂

    Reema: Oh really? 😀 Here is another:-
    “A serious writer is not to be confounded with a solemn writer. A serious writer may be a hawk or a buzzard or even a popinjay, but a solemn writer is always a bloody owl.” ~ Ernest Hemingway

  6. I am an owwwwl….:) Hate mornings and love nights..and wat a soneee pe suhagaaa…I am wise as well or I wouldn’t be reading your blogs 🙂 Good one!

    Reema: Same pinch!! 😀

  7. that owl one was really interesting…….owls are insomniac…..so am I… 😀

    Does that makes me like the wise old bird… :O

    Reema: Insomnia isn’t the virtue that makes the owl wise. Its the virtue of talking less and listening more.

  8. I liked all of them specially because I haven’t heard of any of them earlier, except for the last one! 🙂

    Reema: Oh! I’m glad u liked them.

  9. I liked them and I heard none of them before….you sure are a quote collector !!!
    I did not understand quite clearly the last one……can you tell me?

    Thanks 🙂 First time on your blog and added on my reader – would be back soon 🙂

    Reema: Welcome to my blog! I have edited the post to add meanings. Hope you understand now. Keep reading!

Come On! Say Something!

