The Romantic Me

So its Valentine’ s Day. Time to spend the day with your loved one. Time to talk about all things related to love. Time to do all things related to love. Time to listen to love songs, watch romantic movies, to get all mushy/sentimental/nostalgic/sad/happy whatever the case may be. I decided to list some of my favorite romantic things instead.

My Favorite Love Quote:-

“Love is giving someone your heart, knowing that they can destroy your whole world when you do that, but trusting that person not to do that”.

My Favorite Love Poem :- How do I love thee? by Elizabeth Barrett Browning

My Top 5 Favorite Romantic Movies :- These you will find to consist mostly of Hollywood movies as I detest any movie made by Chopras/Johars/Barjatiyas. Also its a list from the movies I have seen. So some of the old classic romantic movies are missing from my list.

1. City of Angels:- Nicholas Cage, Meg Ryan – An angel falls in love with a mortal. What would he do to be with her?

city_of_angels2. 50 First Dates:- Adam Sandler, Drew Barrymore – A commitment-phobic guy falls in love with a girl who suffers from amnesia. Imagine having to win over the girl of your dreams daily!

50firstdatesposters13. The Truth About Cats and Dogs:- Uma Thurman, Ben Chaplin, Janeane Garofalo – Bryan falls in love with the unattractive Abby after talking to her on the phone, but he thinks the voice belongs with beautiful Noelle’s body. Is love guided by the eyes or the heart?

truth-abt-cats-and-dogs1

4. Corrina Corrina :- Whoopi Goldberg, Ray Liotta – A black nanny, a white widower, a kid and a racist neighborhood. Can love transcend our prejudices?

corrina-corrina

5. Jo Jeeta Wahi Sikandar :- Aamir Khan, Ayesha Jhulka – A cycle race for honor and a love story. Do we keep looking for love at the wrong places when its right beside us?

jjws

My Most Favorite Romantic Song (Hindi) :-

# Aey Mere Humsafar from the movie Qayamat Se Qayamat Tak

(The You tube video link is not available. Its saying this video is not available in your country. This song isn’t available in India?? WTH!!)

My Most Favorite Romantic Song (English) :-

# When You Say Nothing At All – Ronan Keating

My Most Favorite Romantic Novel :-

# Emma by Jane Austen (Its not exactly a romantic story but still I love  it)

What are your favorite romantic quote, poem, movies, songs and books? Do let me know in your comments.

red-for-rose1

Happy Valentines Day to all

A red rose to all my readers and visitors. Happy Valentine’s Day!!! Celebrate the beautiful feeling called love ..be it for anybody.

falling-in-love

(Photo copyrighted to me)

26 thoughts on “The Romantic Me

  1. Romance, Love, Flirt etc…. this words really makes me tremble…

    Reading this blog I imagined myself in a room, dimmed lights, a cheminee, sitting on a couch covered with a soft blanket…and the most important , in my HONEYs arms…. Watching “City of Angels”, and listening to “Aey Mere Humsafar from the movie Qayamat Se Qayamat Tak”… I can’t wait for tomorrow…

    P.S. THX for the ideas and the red rose ))))

    Reema: Welcome to my blog. Glad u liked my ideas. Keep visiting!

  2. i like ’50 first dates’ too! i can’t imagine a guy who would go through the same thing over and over again just for love.

    my favourite romantic movie is ‘before sunrise’. favourite romantic novel… ‘scarlett’ by alexandra ripley, which is the sequel to the classic ‘gone with the wind’. don’t have a particular favourite for quote, poem or song.

    Reema: 50 first dates was such a sweet movie!

  3. I don’t know if you have read, “Wuthering Heights.” It is one of best romantic novels according to me. The movies, “French Kiss,” “A walk in the clouds” and “City of Angels” are definitely my favourite and you can like see them again and again if you want to cry. Songs like, ‘’All Out of Love’’ by Air supply and John Waite’s, “Missing You” is too good. My favourite love quote is, “Love seems the swiftest, but it is the slowest of all growths. I guess no man or woman would really know what perfect love is until they have been married a quarter of a century.”

    Happy Valentine’s Day and keep blogging!

    Reema: Yes I have read it but it isnt one of my favorites. Too many characters and flashbacks. Love those songs! Nice quotes.

  4. Movies: Roman Holiday, From Here To Eternity, Dog Day Afternoon, “Cold Mountain”, “The Reader”.

    Books: As I have not read the true-romantic ones I would put which I felt fall somewhere closer: The Kite Runner, Shalimar The Clown, Snow, The Outsider

    Reema: Thanks for sharing your choices.

  5. its almost the same as any other day for me. prolly, the situation ‘d ‘ve been diff if i was committed 😛 however, happy Vday for all love-o-holics 😉

    Reema: Hope u r committed soon. 🙂

  6. I love the movies you have listed 🙂 Nice list by the way.
    Though I believe in love, there are times when I think Valentine’s day is over rated. Well, why not celebrate love everyday right? 🙂
    It is nice to have one special day I suppose 😀

    Happy Valentine’s day

    Reema: Thanks! yes Love should be celebrated daily but still in our busy lives we need one special day dedicated to love to remind us to celebrate 🙂

  7. Reems, I love all your suggestions. I have seen all. I am sucker for romantic movies. Love my tissues and popcorn.

    Emma’s diluted version was Clueless which is now going to be made by Anil Kapoor for his daughter. I don’t think they are capable to make Emma.

    My fav. love quote of all time is

    “If you love someone, set them free. If they come back, they’re yours. If they don’t, they never were. ”

    Reema: Thanks! I like romantic comedies and that too not the extremely mushy ones. Nice quote!

  8. A new side if you 🙂

    Pride and Prejudice, Mansfield Park, Wuthering Heights my favorites

    And you are right, sometimes we have love right beside us, we search for it all through the world 🙂

    Reema: Yup!!

  9. Biju Mathews here wrote: ‘Love seems the swiftest, but it is the slowest of all growths.’
    And your sister once said at my blog: ‘The beauty of growing old together.” I recently discovered this beauty, so this I can say on Valentine day. And yes, love is often right beside us. And I wouldn’t neglect ‘The Jane Austen Book Club’ movie, by Robin Swicord, where some people gather and reflect about love following the path of Jane Austin’s novels.

    Reema: Yup…I love the quote..“Grow old along with me! The best is yet to be, the last of life, for which the first was made. Our times are in his hand who saith, ‘A whole I planned, youth shows but half; Trust God: See all, nor be afraid!” by Robert Browning

  10. I have only seen the “Jo Jeetha wohi Sikandar”. Really missing movies like that these days…. BTW since you are the only Bengali Blogger I know, I am tagging you on the topic “Slow, Melodious and Soulful Songs”

    Destination Infinity

    Reema: Oh!! I don’t have much idea about Bengali songs 🙂

  11. How the hell do you NOT have Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind up on that list?? :O
    I think the concept of V-day is just too weird… 😀

    Reema: I have not seen it yet!

  12. City of angles is one of my fav movie as well…But “You’ve Got Mail” is one movie which will always feature in my list 😀

    Belated Val’s wishes…

    Reema: Thanks!

  13. i have seen just one film out of it 😛
    I have not heard the quote ,not listened to the song (english one ) and not read the book ..
    so unromantic of me 😀 😛
    belated valentine’s day

    Reema: Thanks! U r so unromantic!

  14. My most romantic movies would be : Before Sunrise, Before Sunset, DDLJ and A walk to remember. 🙂

    And what did you do on Valentine’s Day? 😛
    For me, except for the presence of a girl, it was quite eventful!

    Reema: Same here! except for a bf everything else was nice.

Come On! Say Something!

