Harry Potter and The Half Blood Prince

British boy wizard Harry Potter conjured his magic at box offices again, as the sixth film in the highly popular movie series earned a record $22.2 million at Wednesday midnight showings in the United States.

I had been very disappointed when the release of Harry Potter and Half Blood Prince was postponed to July 2009 from Nov 2008. The movie was released world wide on July 16 but it hit the theaters in my city on July 17th and that too in Hindi (in the whole of Chattisgarh in fact). Even then I was determined to see it as soon as possible.

So on 17th, I suppose for the first time in the history of my college, two lecturers made excuses to leave early to go to a movie hall. They were joined by another friend outside, with whom they went to see Harry Potter and The Half Blood Prince. In the gang leader’s defense, she is a huge fan of Harry Potter and she had no class that day ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

hp cartoon

The theater was full of students and many from our college! Apparently we were not the only ones who “bunked” college. Now for the review of the movie :-

harry_potter_half_blood_prince_dumbledore_potter

The story :- Sixth Year at Hogwarts. The Death Eaters are penetrating into the Muggle world also. Headmaster Dumbledore manages to entice Prof Slughorn back into the school as the Potions Master. The real motive is to gain a memory from the Professor which will reveal more secrets about Voldemort and probably the way to kill him for good. Also Harry gets an old Potions book of an ex student who called himself the Half Blood Prince. Further romance is everywhere at Hogwarts except in Draco’s mind who is now a boy with a mission.

The acting :- Daniel, Rupert and Emma have matured into quite good actors. So has Tom Felton (Draco). Jim Broadbent (Slughorn), Michael Gambon (Dumbledore), and Alan Rickman (Snape) have done excellent work too.

Should I add spoiler alert?? I mean most of the people KNOW the ending and other details!!!

The movie’s strong points :-

1. Spectacular opening scene.

2. Awesome special effects and execution of some scenes.

3. Nice comedy.

4. Good acting.

The movie’s weak points :-

1. Lack of flow and pace in the story. There is sometimes a sort of gap between subsequent scenes.

2. Viewers are used to a fight scene at the end in most of movies. Its essential for the story to build up and culminate in a good climax. But in this a fight is shown at the Burrow whereas it isn’t there in the book and the fight at Hogwarts at the end is skipped making the ending somewhat damp.

3. Though some may not agree, I feel Snape, Lupin and Tonks could have been given more screen time. I like Tonks ๐Ÿ˜€

4. The movie focuses on love and romance for 80% of its run time. Rest of it save the movie from becoming a typical teen flick.

5. Very less focus on Half Blood Prince and the importance of the apparent betrayal by Snape.

6.Very less magic and too much of romance.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

But of course I would have enjoyed the movie more

# if it had been in English,

# if there had been no unnecessary hooting every time a girl came close to a boy (even girls were doing it!! what has the world come to?),

# if the crowd had read the books prior to watching the movies and didn’t keep commenting,

# if the sound system of the theater was better and I didn’t have to strain my ears to hear the dialogues.

I swear by the time Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows Part 1 releases I will be somewhere where I can watch it in peace.

Related Posts:-

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince Movie Review

Harsh’s Review

Chittaranjan’s Review

11 Spellbinding Secrets About the Harry Potter Cast

61 thoughts on “Harry Potter and The Half Blood Prince

  1. I liked Tonks’ look in the movie! Totally rockstar type!
    I liked Tom Felton’s intensity.
    Rupert was adorable.
    Ginny is taller than Harry! ๐Ÿ˜€

    I can’t believe you watched it in Hindi :-O

  2. Well, hooting is any day better than catcalls or jeers.

    I’m quite used to those from my hometown/college but in Hyderabad, ppl. are too gentlemanly ๐Ÿ˜

    For non-book-readers like me, the Horcrux explanation was nice but they should’ve focussed more on Snape and his betrayal.

    And for the first time I heard someone say Ginny was more good-looking than Hermoine ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

  3. Yet to watch it Reema.. I am going to catch it up by next week in the best theater in Chennai.. ๐Ÿ™‚

    As I am HP fan now.. I am having my fingers crossed ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. OMG! You B-U-N-K-E-D classes!!!!!!
    *tears in his eyes*
    How could you!?!

    I too saw the movie and quite agree with your review, although I saw the movie in the exact opposite conditions! ๐Ÿ™‚

    And in Hindi!?! ๐Ÿ˜†
    In the last dubbed movie which I saw, the villain circled the heroine in a bike and said – “Kaha ja rahi hai Chamiya!”.
    That was it. That did it for me!

  5. I am no more reading fiction, or else would have loved to read HP series! The magic of Famous Fives and Secret Seven’s are still in my memory!! I didn’t like the HP movies though! Maybe I was not able to understand as I didn’t read the books.

    Destination Infinity

  6. whoa…just finished writing a review myself. Any opened the google reader to find yours:D
    I so agree with every point. n I like Lupin n Tonks too ๐Ÿ™‚ n I was disappointed with the deviation from the Harry-Ginny romance . Boo hoo hoo. But the special effects were awesome:)

  7. Man.. we watched it in english.. and it was so much fun only cuz of the comments..
    like when dumbledore dies.. a guy behind us said..
    dubbledoor band ho gaya.. ๐Ÿ˜›

  8. You bunked college???You…bunked…college ???? You??? bunked college ?????? Ohhhh, you are a bad example !!!! ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

  9. Oh I am so dying to catch the movie! But for some reason, I normally find the something missing , in the movie version.. But I don’t care – Harry Potter I still want to watch ๐Ÿ™‚ I like Tonks too – in the book, that is ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Reema we’ve talked abt this on twitter havent we? U know I hated the movie too!
    What have they made of a good book? sigh… a teeny flick full of crushes n snogging.
    And did they just completely *forget* the Half Blood Prince?? I mean hello?
    and whats with that scene at the Weasley house? That never happened!! and Dumbledore wuld never have let that happen! that house was made secure by HIM!!

    and not to mention how they conveniently cut out the battle at the end…

  11. To be honest, I never enjoyed HP movies. I liked the Books to an extent but find the same shown on screen a bit shallow. To each his own, but not my kind of movie.

  12. I agree there was too much of Romance and a lot of Content ignored…..

    I missed the opening scene ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    but I am sure movie could have been lot better

  13. Good review Reema.
    I have been hearing that this movie isn’t as good as the previous ones and that it is quite depressing as well. I havent seen it yet but probably I will one of these days.

  14. The characters played their part really well …. I will give them full marks for acting !!! But many things went missing and it appeared that love potion was more important than Half Blood Prince !!!

    My friends told that they translated “Lumos” into “Prakaashit Bhava” and “Lumos Maxima” into “Ati-Prakashit Bhava” …. Hilarious ๐Ÿ˜› ….

  15. It’s always that way with movies made from books. The books are always better. Not much of a Harry Potter fan, might catch the movie once I finish reading the series.. I don’t know when!

  16. Ha ha ha … ROFL, you watched it in Hindi!!! I love these dubbed versions of English movies, you litterally ROFL at the dialogues. I mean I watched Shanghai noon in Tamil with Owen Wilson speaking Madras Tamil, full of stomach ache. So what did they call this movie – “Hari Putthar, aur Aadha Khoon yuvraj” ? Gotta watch the movie here, 2 and half hours and they dont have interval here!!!

  17. I watched it too and that too in Hindi. English versions were *costly* and my roomie said he will not lend me his bike if I get ticket of cost more than 100 bucks. He meant no harm coz few days back, he paid Rs. 180 for HBP English and is regretting it since then. I am also regretting wasting my time and energy for this movie. I think David Yates should read the books before making the movie.

  18. This was one movie i was super excited about, but after seeing the reviews it doesnt sound all that great!

    I will still watch it though….assuming i find time before it goes off theaters!

  19. I want to watch it in theater Reema! I love your review, no spoiler ๐Ÿ˜€ I hope the final two HP installations would be a rewarding theater experience for you ๐Ÿ™‚

  20. This movie is horrid. I waited to watch this movie, and was really excited to see it. I wasn’t a big fan of ‘The Order of the Phoenix’, but even though alot of the story was changed or left out, it wasn’t to the extent of this piece of garbage. From the first scene in which Harry was sitting in a diner getting hit on by a waitress, I knew that things were not looking good. What happened to the opening when Dumbeldore picks up Harry from the Dursley’s house, and explains about him having to live in their house until he was 17 in order for him to remain safe? Is that not important to the story? What about Dumbeldores blackened hand, and the mystery behind it? And for goodness sakes, why on earth was that man for Slughorn cast? He didn’t fit the description of him at all, and in the beginning in which Dumbeldore takes Harry to ‘convince’ Slughorn to teach at Hogwarts, is so awkward and with no explanation, it was confusing. I could go on and on with one scene after the other about how it either wasn’t relevant, or was completely changed. Id say that out of a 2 1/2 hour movie, only 10-20 minutes were actual things from the book. I kept on wondering while I was watching this travesty of a film, if I would have liked it if I hadn’t read the book; and my conclusion was, NO. The movie was sooo boring, and disjointed with most of the plot left out, jumping from one unexplained scene to the next, and with additions that made absolutely no sense. Even the characters seemed dull and lifeless. I saw no emotion from anyone, and all the interaction seemed like no one cared. Maybe they knew that the adapted story was horrendous and they just didn’t give a damn. I really don’t understand why the movie was vastly different from the book. They really weren’t kidding when they said ‘based on a novel’, ‘extremely loosely based’ would be a more accurate description. Boo hoo, for the screenwriters and director, this movie was really insulting to Harry Potter fans. If I was able to give it 0 stars I would.

    Susan Shams

Come On! Say Something!

