“Blindingly Dumb”

I had to come back from my blogging break to write this post.

Day – 6th Nov 2009

Time 2:45 pm

cool-cartoon-1105933

I and my friend-colleague had left early for home as the next day was a holiday and there wasn’t much to do in department. The guard always keeps the road barrier open from afternoon till college hours end.

I thought – “The barrier must be open. Even if it is not, the guard must have seen me coming and opened the barrier.”

I didn’t stop to look in front of me. Instead I looked down to keep my bag alright on my scooty’s leg space. By the time I looked up, I saw the yellow and black barrier right in front of my eyes. I applied brake but it was too late. The barrier rod hit me in the throat and I lost control and fell down with a cry.

Two guards and my friend rushed towards me. I got up quickly and checked my voice first by speaking. The guard was apologetic and said – “I was talking to this other guard and didn’t see Madam come. Madam also didn’t use the horn”. He also added “Madam, please show the doctor”.

I was able to drive back home. After reaching home, sister told me I was lucky that my speed was less. If speed was more, impact could have caused my larynx to be crushed leading to asphyxiation.

As of now, I have a bruised upper arm which is turning black and blue, sore and painful throat muscles and an abrasion on elbow. :D

Sigh!! That was the stupidest accident and action of my life ever! There were some students who witnessed their madam drive her scooty right into the closed barrier. Oh the horror of the story spreading like wildfire among students and faculties!! I am going to be the laughing stock of everyone on Monday!! :( :(

Just in my earlier post I had found out that I am just 18.91% DUMB in the tag How Dumb Are You? Of course one has to ask the right questions to get the right answers! There was not a single question which asked – Do you stumble on things on a daily basis? or Did you use to get your knees scratched every time you went out to play? or Do you bump into everything “bumpable” around you? Because those questions would have got a YES from me. :D :D But then…..

“Half of being smart is knowing what you are dumb about.”~Solomon

This is the culprit and my accident site. A bit old snap so the guard box is not there.

DSC02190

Comments asking what were you thinking, where were you looking etc and similar jibes at me will be deleted!! :P :D

P.S. The cartoon is my first attempt at making one with the help of toondoo.com. Ok  now I go again on my blogging break. *Exit*

77 thoughts on ““Blindingly Dumb”

  1. You mean you actually ASSUMED that the barrier wouldn’t b there so was not even looking in that direction? Oopss! I didn’t ask that my keyboard is the culprit. My question is hope you are ok & taking care. Don’t worry about the students you can always tell them the bag adjustment was more imp.

  2. :) You sound like me :) Tripping while I walk, falling while I run :) I haven’t done this yet – but that might be because I don’t drive two wheelers these days :)

    Anyways, thank god, you are alright!

  3. Oh Lol…sorry I don’t mean to laugh at your pain but that was funny. Glad to hear though that it wasn’t major and that you weren’t driving at a high speed. And I thought I was embarrassed when I stacked it in front of students at the school some months ago! :P Take care…

  4. Oh God!!! I am going through the same pain as u are. the only diff is my pain is in my stomach…laughing….rotfl…..
    I wud definitely take care that for all the next tests of ‘How Dump You Are’, these basic questions are included so that we get an exact measure of the quality….
    One more thing – Had i been at ur place i wud have first sang a song to check my voice….. [:D]

  5. What was there in the bag? You seem to have more concern for your bag than for your larynx/throat/whatever.

    On a (passing?) note though, hope your throat gets all right soon. Wish you a speedy recovery and hope you can get back to your regular chores very soon.

  6. Once, when I was young and was learning to drive a cycle, I would drive normally till I look at a pole – after that I drive straight into it!!

    I am definitely not saying that you did it wantedly, but it could make a good excuse to miss exams?? :D

    Destination Infinity

  7. Oh My God! Accidents happen unexpectedly like this. Don’t blame yourself, I am saying this because I am terribly prone to tripping and falling myself. You could have been very seriously hurt!

    Take care Reema!

  8. A experience of a person cannot be judged by the events he or she meet, but the interpretation he or she gives after an event and his reaction to the same next time !!

  9. Sorry to hear about the accident Reema and amusing to think that you were more embarassed than hurt! :) But it happens. I slipped once in public quite badly and I was more worried about what people will think!
    That cartoon is very cute!

  10. Good that you are okay.
    when ladies fall of their bike there would be many to help them.
    When I fell down from my motorcycle near a bus stop, people just watched me getting up, checking my bruises, checking the bike for damaage and then riding off. !

  11. This is where I say Science can be a curse, if you were walking instead of riding a scooter you wouldn’t be hurt half as much :) Take care and be careful.

  12. Pingback: Auditing 2009 and Wishes for 2010 « My Random Thoughts

  13. Pingback: Rocking 2010!! « My Random Thoughts

Come On! Say Something!

