Book Review – And Thereby Hangs A Tale

Phew!!! At last I have completed reading all unread posts in my Google Reader and commenting on almost all of them. If you don’t find my comment on any of your posts then be assured I have read it…just did not comment. πŸ™‚

Now for the post, my first book review post πŸ™‚

Jeffery Archer has always been one of favorite authors. His first book “Not A Penny More, Not A Penny Less” is one of the top books on my favorite list. I have always liked his short stories collections too. He excels at writing short stories which areΒ  witty, entertaining and have great punch lines. So after entering Landmark, the first thing I laid my hands on was his latest collection “And Thereby Hangs A Tale”.

This collection has 15 stories which the author has gathered from around the globe during the past five years. Most of the stories are based on true incidents. Archer has included an Indian love story “Caste Off” too in his collection. The book had a special India launch at Landmark on May 4 to entice the Indian readers..even the back cover of the book cites this story first.

It is an Archer book..so the language is lucid, the stories are simple yet entertaining, each different from another, well written and of course having his trademark twist in the end. Some of the stories like “The Queen’s Birthday Telegram” and “The Undiplomatic Diplomat” are quite refreshing.

Some of the stories are quite predictable..I guess that is because when one has read too many of such stories one can guess the ending correctly….just like it happens with me in case of suspense movies.

In the Indian story “Caste Off” Archer has written -“After the newly married couple had danced seven times around Pheras,the final confirmation of their wedding vows.”

Danced seven times around Pheras???? DANCED??? πŸ˜•

We are not Red Indians!!

This was one thing I didn’t expect from a well-known author like him. How hard is it to get your facts checked from, say, an Indian?

This mistake apart, the book is quite enjoyable. A light and easy read for a cosy rainy afternoon πŸ™‚ And it is available at just Rs 191 on Flipkart!!

My rating – 3.5/5

46 thoughts on “Book Review – And Thereby Hangs A Tale

  1. Ws so nice of u to read all the posts u hd pending on ur reader! I ws surprised to see ur comments on all unread ones πŸ™‚ Thanks so much πŸ™‚

    Danced arnd pheras? LOL πŸ˜› He shud hv tried to get that rt πŸ™‚
    I need some light reads after having done with a lot of serious stuff. Must get this one πŸ™‚

  2. Enjoyed one of his books years ago and can’t remember the title but it was about forging the Declaration of Independence. You have written an excellent review and I may try this one.

  3. Thank you Reema for reading and commenting on loads of my previous posts πŸ™‚
    This wonderful review has come up at the very right time, I am planning to go to the library in next fifteen minutes and I’ll try to get hold of this book πŸ™‚

    Cheers!!

  4. Hehe…knew you were on a reading spre when i was flooded by your comments on all past posts!
    WONDERFUL to have to back in action, Reema! πŸ™‚

    I’ve NVR read an Archer yet; wonder why. Maybe I’ll start with this one! πŸ™‚

  5. i too have recently finished this book.was planning to write a book review myself;). the book was average but some of the stories were god.
    i really liked the”Queen’s telegram”.. so short, simple and what to say… one of the best story i read in som time..
    first timer at ur blog:)

  6. LOL, probably he was being sarcastic about the ‘dance’ and you didnt get it !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    you know whats the best part of book reviews? I can comment anything I want ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    (as if I dont πŸ˜‰ )

  7. hi! i am a new reader at ur blog. liked the way u wrote a book review, it gives a personal touch to a BOOK. its great to know u read all posts and comment too. nice and thoughtful!

  8. I somehow like almost all his books. I agree with you, some stories were rather predictable. My favourites include Not A pernny more… and Honor Amongst Thieves. πŸ˜€

    • I am good. how r u?? I don’t like e books..I love holding a book and reading it. I need to turn its page and smell the scent of a new book πŸ™‚

  9. Good post! I used to like the author when he wrote books like Kane and Abel. Not anymore.

    Btw, ‘Red Indian’ is a politically incorrect and is considered an offensive term. The US Government calls them Native American.

    And I am pretty sure their newly married couple don’t dance around the fire! πŸ™‚

    They dance during pow-wow which is tribe gathering.

    Good to see you blogging frequently after your recent marriage.

  10. Nice and helpful review… I must say.

    ‘A twist in the tale’ and ‘Not a penny more not a penny less’ are two of my favs too πŸ™‚

    Do read ‘Kane and Abel’ and ‘The Prodigal Daughter’… if you haven’t already…

    Will try to catch this one sometime…

  11. I loved the book…and agree, many of his stories to end up seeming to be alike and often larger than life…But I love them anyway.

    The goofs in caste off were many, marrying in High court and dancing around the pheras…. but a nice story nevertheless

    And nice blog!

  12. Archer also mentioned an Actuary in his story about the fire. I forget the name. First time I’ve seen anybody mention it.
    “Dancing” around the fire apart, he is a pretty knowledgeable author… :)Firangs are pretty ignorant. When I joined my college in the US, many Americans asked if we have TVs and computers in India and wanted to know if I knew what pasta was…

Come On! Say Something!

