Weekend Trip To Kihim – Alibaug: Part 1

During my summer vacation stay at Pune this year, D and I had gone on a short trip to Kihim and Alibaug during weekend. So before I get too late in posting my account of the trip like Vimmuuu [ ๐Ÿ˜› ] and I forget the details for the travelogue, here is the first part of the three post series.

27th May: Kihim is a beach at south of Mumbai. By road Mumbai to Kihim is 120 km and takes approx 3 hrs. Pune to Kihim is 150 km and takes 4 hrs. So we decided to go to Mumbai by train and then by ferry to Mandwa port which takes 1 hr only.

Our train from Pune to Mumbai was at midnight. While we were waiting for our train which was running late, I tweeted that I was at Pune station. To my surprise, @Sparklinglory,a tweep from Pune, replied that she was there too!! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ Before I could reply back to her my BSNL GPRS went down. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ But she managed to recognize me from my twitter DP!! And thus took place my first impromptu tweet-up at a railway station! ๐Ÿ˜€ It was wonderful meeting a warm, friendly and extrovert woman like her. ๐Ÿ™‚

Our train arrived at last. As it was a short journey we had booked tickets in sleeper coach. After boarding we realized it was a mistake. Found a woman and a man sleeping on our seats. The woman was one unreasonable and quarrelsome character. ๐Ÿ˜ก To cut a long story short, at last we got our seats. Few minutes later a man came and poked D (who was on upper berth) and asked him if he could stay with us in Bombay as he could not afford accommodation!! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ Do people going to “The City of Dreams” ask strangers on train for a place to stay for free?? ๐Ÿ˜•

After D told him that we don’t live in Bombay, the man left. It was 1.30 am by then and sleep eluded us still. The crowded compartment and the increasing humidity in weather as the train approached Mumbai worsened the situation.

28th May : Our train was to reach CST at 4 am or so. I had thought CST would be like Howrah station and we will be able to spend 1.5 hrs there easily as the first ferry for Mandwa port leaves Apollo Bandar at 6 am.

But I am sorry to say that we were disappointed. Too many people, lack of enough place to sit, poor air circulation and extreme humidity are the only memories for us of CST station. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ๐Ÿ˜ฆ After having tea and sandwich, we decided to go and sit at Gateway of India as there would be open space and oceanic breeze at least.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It was wonderful seeing the dawn break at Gateway of India. Lot of people had gathered there by 6 am…I guess Alibaug is a popular weekend getaway for Mumbai folks. Our ferry left at 6.15 am and thus began my first boat ride.

31 thoughts on “Weekend Trip To Kihim – Alibaug: Part 1

    • what all you mentioned about CST..I could relate to that..I’ve lived in Mumbai and have been to that station for outstation trains quiet sometimes…so I know and agree ๐Ÿ™‚

      But whatever Mumbai is Mumbai and nothing can replace it,right ?

      Your pictures are awesome..I kept looking at the slide show for quiet sometime before commenting !Have never seen dawn breaking at Gateway…

      waiting for the next part…you might want to check my travel post on Kashid…a bit ahead of Alibaug..

      http://trotalong.wordpress.com/2010/07/07/kashid-beach/

    • Gosh! someone asked you if they could come and live with you?!! ๐Ÿ™„
      Weird people!
      I hate it when people take up our seats and then fight with us about it!! It used to happen everytime I took the train b/w Mysore-Bangalore! I stopped and now take the bus! ๐Ÿ˜€
      The pics are beautiful… ๐Ÿ™‚ Loved the India Gate pic and the sunrise pic the most!

      Looking forward to the remaining parts ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. Lovely pics!! quite a collection.

    ROFL at the man who poked D, asking for accomodation ๐Ÿ˜€
    And yea, CST is a crowded, goddamn place…but well, Mumbai is Mumbai ๐Ÿ˜€

    Awaiting series 2.

  2. Awesome pictures ๐Ÿ™‚
    People can be crazy, am still wondering what had the person actually thought before asking you for accommodation ๐Ÿ™‚

    Good to see you had a good time ๐Ÿ™‚

    Cheers!!

  3. Lol at the guy asking to stay with you guys! Never experienced that before. And yeah, VT (yes, it’s still VT…I won’t call it CST) is quite crowded but you got to love the way it looks from the outside. Bombay is noisy, polluted, crowded…but still my favourite city in India ๐Ÿ™‚ [Yes, I’m biased] ๐Ÿ˜›

  4. Oyyyyy, a dig at me, huh ? But I finished it na? even if took an year !! ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ Btw, even after one year, I still mentioned almost everything in the travelogue ! ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

    Nice pics!

  5. Pictures are so lovely Reema ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ I loved that morning freshness ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

    And the places seems to be an interesting one.. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Waiting for the next one.. ๐Ÿ™‚

    For train incident… it happens in many places in India.. People were not caring about the other people’s rights.. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  6. Man.. that guy must be pretty desperate asking strangers for accommodation.. I wonder what kind of problems could lead him to do something like this.. it would be interesting to talk to that guy

  7. Pingback: Weekend Trip To Kihim โ€“ Alibaug: Part 2 « My Random Thoughts

  8. I like the speed at which people walk in Mumbai Raiway Stations – really difficult to catch up! I also like the fact that the local trains start on time and reach their destinations on time. But its only possible to get into them from the first stop and get down at the last stop!! I guess the crowd decides where you get down some times – I wonder how people travel by them.

    Destination Infinity

  9. Pingback: Weekend Trip To Kihim โ€“ Alibaug: Part 3 « My Random Thoughts

Come On! Say Something!

