Baby Parul

Thank you God for blessing my Didi and Jiju with a baby girl!

Baby Parul born on 13 March 2011.

Only an Aunt can give hugs like a mother, can keep secrets like a sister

and share love like a friend ~ Spanish Proverb.

Glad to have become one! I have become “Reema Mashi” !! Yeyyyy!!!!

I fear I will be a very indulgent and spoiling aunt :D Discipline??? The onus lies with parents :D

I am so so happy!!!

P.S. Parul is a five-petaled flower known for its beauty. It is also a female name of Hindu origin. The name also appears in a Bengali folk tale. The story and the flower Parul also feature in Tagore’s Rabindra sangeet. The folktale is called Seven Champa Brothers and One Sister Parul. (Click on the name to read the story)

Our Maa used to tell the story almost daily while trying to feed Didi as a kid. :) It became her favorite name since then. :)

It also means “Practical, beautiful, gracious”.

 

60 thoughts on “Baby Parul

  1. congratulation to the Maasi
    and to the proud parents do extend all my love to baby parul and my regards to everyone ..

    and as the name says she is beautiful

    God bless her
    congratulations

  2. Congratulationsssss, Reema Mashi :)
    Congrats to the blessed parents too.
    Parul darling, be a lovely daughter, a lovely granddaughter, a lovely neice…oh, you just have so many roles to play! Just be yourself and be the best :) Muah!

  3. wow..she is cute & i love the name your sister picked..and of course its always great when the name has a whole story also..perfect ;)
    to be a mashi is wonderful..i myself am an only child so i only get to be a mashi for my hubbys siblings kids..but thats great fun..but they r unfortunatly away in the us..and south of germany which we cant visit so often :(
    i am sure u will enjoy seeing this little beauty grow..its so much fun i can tell u..
    and then one day u ll have ur own little prince /princess as well right? ;)

  4. Congratulations to the proud parents and the proud Maashi :) Your joy and excitement is shining through in this post :)

    Baby Parul looks so so adorable! Absolutely precious!

  5. congratulations on getting promoted to ‘mashi’ :) The proverb is lovely :)

    And look at the angel…she looks so pretty…muuuuwah to the doll :)

    Heartiest congratulations to the family Reema :)

  6. Oh Maaa! Choooo chweet! Such a cutie pie :)

    … And she is a spitting image of Reema mashi. That should double rather triple or quadruple the indulgence :)

    P.S. Thanks for the link on the ‘saat bhai chompa’ story. Parul is such a beautiful name. Why does it have to be: Pseudocalymma alliaceum, Bignonia alliacea, Mansoa alliacea, Bignonia aequinoctialis, etc… ???

  7. Auntie Reema Auntie Reema! I am so happy for you! I love all of my nieces and nephews although they are getting too big to care much about me…

    I wish I could figure out a way to join you in the spoiling process of our beautiful Parul. I love the name! I’ll tell the story to my babies someday.

  8. Pingback: Annual Report – 2011 « My Random Thoughts

  9. Pingback: First Birthday | My Random Thoughts

  10. Pingback: All Firsts | My Random Thoughts

  11. Pingback: The Post Tag | My Random Thoughts

Come On! Say Something!

