Height of Stupidity

8.00 pm. Soft tinkling of a bell.

Again and again. Tinkling very near to me.

I get goosebumps. Then I decide that it must be a cat in my room. I start searching for it in my room and the adjoining one. I even meow to get a response.

The tinkling still going on. I stare around my room to see what could be tinkling without the ceiling fan on!!

I am at my wits’ end when I realize its the wind chime on a blogger’s blog theme which is tinkling. 😀 I was on some other website and this blog was open in another tab. Check out the blog at this link and see for yourself.

tinkling-bell

Hehehe 😀 So sometimes (once in a blue moon) I can be that stupid. But there are some people who are like the kings and queens of stupidity. This is from an email forward I got.

Idiotic ‘Millionaire’ Contestant  Makes Worst Use Of Lifelines Ever

millionire-stupid-contestant

Kathy Evans, the single dumbest contestant to ever get on ‘Who Wants To Be A Millionaire?’

NEW YORK – Idaho resident Kathy Evans brought humiliation to her friends and family Tuesday when she set a new standard for stupidity with her appearance on the popular TV show, ‘Who Wants To Be A Millionaire.’

It seems that Evans, a 32-year-old wife and mother of two, got stuck on the first question, and proceeded to make what fans of the show are dubbing ‘the absolute worst use of lifelines ever.’
After being introduced to the show’s host Meredith Vieira, Evans assured her that she was ready to play, whereupon she was posed with an extremely easy $100 question.

The question was: ‘Which of the following is the largest?’
A) A Peanut
B) An Elephant
C) The Moon
D) Hey, who you calling large?

Immediately Mrs. Evans was struck with an all consuming panic as she realized that this was a question to which she did not readily know the answer. ‘Hmm, oh boy, that’s a toughie,’ said Evans, as Vieira did her level best to hide her disbelief and disgust. ‘I mean, I’m sure I’ve heard of some of these things before, but I have no idea how large they would be.’

Evans made the decision to use the first of her three lifelines, the 50/50. Answers A and D were removed, leaving her to decide which was bigger, an elephant or the moon. However, faced with an incredibly easy question, Evans still remained unsure. ‘Oh! It removed the two I was leaning towards!’ exclaimed Evans. ‘Darn. I think I better phone a friend.’

Using the second of her two lifelines on the first question, Mrs. Evans asked to be connected with her friend Betsy, who is an office assistant.
‘Hi Betsy! How are you? This is Kathy! I’m on TV!’ said Evans, wasting the first seven seconds of her call. ‘Ok, I got an important question. Which of the following is the largest? B, an elephant, or C, the moon. 15 seconds hun.’
Betsy quickly replied that the answer was C, the moon. Evans proceeded to argue with her friend for the remaining ten seconds.
‘Come on Betsy, are you sure?’ said Evans. ‘How sure are you? Puh, that can’t be it.’
To everyone’s astonishment, the moronic Evans declined to take her friend’s advice and pick ‘The Moon.’
‘I just don’t know if I can trust Betsy. She’s not all that bright. So I think I’d like to ask the audience,’ said Evans.

Asked to vote on the correct answer, the audience returned 98% in favor of answer C, ‘The Moon.’ Having used up all her lifelines, Evans then made the dumbest choice of her life.
‘Wow, seems like everybody is against what I’m thinking,’ said the too-stupid-to-live Evans. ‘But you know, sometimes you just got to go with your gut. So, let’s see. For which is larger, an elephant or the moon, I’m going to have to go with B, an elephant. Final answer.’
Evans sat before the dumbfounded audience, the only one waiting with bated breath, and was told that she was wrong, and that the answer was in fact, C, ‘The Moon.’

Another one :-

millionaire-stupid-contestant2

millionaire-stupid-contestant3

millionaire-stupid-contestant4

You can easily guess what must have happened after this. 😀

P.S. Seeing the results of audience poll, I guess these specimens are not one of a kind. They have many in their tribe.

Edited to add – Apparently this email forward is a hoax. Thanks Perx for pointing it out.

32 thoughts on “Height of Stupidity

  1. he he, check all fwd emails in hoax slayer.

    And you wont believe it that it happens to most of people (read some of my colleagues too) that they open so many sites in abt 50+ tabs. then get startled by strange noises coming. In most cases, its an youtube video/or other video playing that was downloading slowly while they got busy in other sites. 🙂

    Reema: LOL 🙂

  2. I ran into Heartcrossings (the Chime blog) some one month ago! In my first visit I didn’t read anything there because I was all eyes! Needless to say, I was also not aware of the Bell Chime in the background in my maiden visit and discovered it only after some time!

    Because Blogger does not have an ‘about’ page like WordPress, I wrote her an email how her blog was breathtakingly beautiful (and also informed her of some dead links on the blog)! She duly acknowledged my mail and thanked me. She is a single mother (“desi”) in the US. It is indubitably the most beautiful blog I have come across: elegant and minimalist. Two days ago I even suggested her to get the Shelfari bookshelf widget which may further enhance the beauty of her blog.

    I even tried a blog on Blogspot to effectuate my desire to get a beautiful web presence. You can click here to see it: it has a classy, medieval look. I regret that WordPress does not have as many options with respect to customization however wonderful and respectably it may be (I have probably exhausted every option in WordPress to my my WP blog more beautiful).

    The chime is sourced from some Japanese provider (the hyperlink is at the bottom of her blog). Any Blogspot user may add it using the Google translate or Yahoo Babel fish: I visited the site few moments ago.

    I love Heartcrossing’s blog! I visit the blog almost daily for aesthetic satisfaction and visual delight!

    After I am done with commenting here, I’ll mail HeartCrossings how her blog and her chime is getting the notice it deserves!

    Thanks Reema! Hail Heartcrossings!:)

    Reema: Yeah I wish WP had more formatting options.

  3. This has happened to me so many times…and driven me crazy trying to figure out where the sound is coming from, like Poonam described.

    I have seen some blogs which play entire songs, without your asking. I dont like it, but well, its the blog owner’s choice!

    Interesting Kathy Evans story. Hoax, but good for a smile 🙂

    Reema: Yeah!!

  4. @ amreekandesiIf blogs plays entire songs without the asking, then it’s definitely obnoxious! The TOI website sometime does it!

    But the Heartcrossings’ chime is mellifluous!

  5. I am actually worried that only 98% of the audience thought the Moon was bigger. I mean were they actually some of them who thought the Elephant is bigger than the Moon. This is Height of Stupiditiy, Oh wait … that’s what you said in the title 🙂

    Reema: I have written the same in post script!!

  6. I got the mail too 🙂 Thought it was a hoax but then it still is funny and gets a laugh right?
    A cat indeed.
    I like heartcrossings too 🙂

    Reema: Yeah its still funny!!

  7. Pingback: Height of Stupidity « Hues of Life

  8. yeah, the hoax was funny! I really wonder where these email forwards originate though! I mean, tomorrow we can say anything, make it sound authentic and forward it to a zillion people. Scary!

    Reema: Indeed!! The power of internet is scary at times.

  9. Reema, it’s not just Aish, I think a fair amount of people who don’t deserve it get awards as many of them have become politicial. The Padma Shri is given to those “Indian citizens to recognize their distinguished contribution in various spheres of activity including the Arts, Education, Industry, Literature, Science, Sports, Social Service and public life.” Now this means that it can be given to just about anyone because what is “distinguished” is very relative. As far as I know all notable film stars eventually get it and from that point of view I guess Aish is not that undeserving. She has acted really well in some movies like Raincoat for example. Neither she nor Akshay Kumar are great actors though. But something in their favour, both of them do not have filmi backgrounds, they made it on their own. Akshay’s struggle is quite admirable. Hardly a reason for them to get the Padma Shri!
    Just a few examples of film personalities who got it for the Art field: Hema Malini got it in 2000, Manorama in 2002, Aamir Khan, Raakhee and Danny Denzongpa in 2003, Anupam Kher in 2004, Kavita Krishnamurthy in 2005, Madhuri dixit in 2008 and guess who else got it in 2008, Tom Alter!

    Reema: Very true. Tom Alter????/ OMG!

  10. I wish I didn’t match tht even if i were born as the dumbest person on earth. They’re too much competition. even for a hoax. :mrgreen: 😀 😆

    Reema: lol!

  11. Ohh Mannn!!! Woowww…..!!

    Seeing the results of audience poll, I guess these specimens are not one of a kind. They have many in their tribe.

    LOL I whole heartedly agreeeeee to the above statement…! hahaha Hilarous…! Thanks for the blog link. Will check it out!

    Reema: Hehehehe..its a hoax though.

  12. Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language 😉
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

Come On! Say Something!