Husbands vs Anniversaries

The most effective way to remember an anniversary is to forget it just once.

Husbands are infamous about being forgetful about their marriage anniversary date. Having forgetful nature in general worsens D’s case further. But he hasn’t forgotten our anniversary any year yet 🙂 Still, unlike wives who wish in their hearts that the husband would remember and plan something special for the day and give the wife a wonderful surprise and who end up disappointed, I am more of a proactive wife. I voice what I expect or want and hence no disappointments 😉

So since two weeks before the day, I had started asking D to plan something good for our second anniversary. But men love to procrastinate too!! So with just few days to go, I asked him yet again on our online chat [ He at office and I at home]

Me: How far has anniversary planning proceeded?

D: 0%

Me: 😡

D: 1%

Me: LOL!  what may I know?

D: Why should I tell?

Me: Tell, tell…I want to know what this “1%” consists of?

D: Googled ‘anniversary planning ideas’

P.S. Our second anniversary was on 4th Feb 2012. This is a very late post but had to share a typical “D-ism” 🙂 D did plan something for the anniversary at last. On our anniversary morning, I received a delivery of 12 red roses, black forest cake and a card.

I too had a secret plan for the day. But my plan was ruined by the company where I had placed order. Another post to follow to warn future customers.

P.P.S Would love to hear your husband vs anniversaries tales!! Do share in the comments! Also would love to hear views from other side .. Dhiren, Bikram, Vimal, Xylene, Sharad, Prats ..do tell!

66 thoughts on “Husbands vs Anniversaries

  1. Love the cartoon you chose! Epic! Can’t wait to hear how the plan was ruined!

    Men just can’t remember. My husband is always asking “How do you remember these things?” in terms of things like Halloween, Christmas, Valentine’s Day…Ummm…because it’s ALWAYS on the same date! Doh!

    Good luck. I’m almost 20 years in and ya gotta train him now! 🙂

  2. I have never forgotten my anniversary and dont think I will ever. For me it was a special day and doubt if I will ever forget it… I also look forward to gifts from my wife ! 🙂 I try my best to keep her smiling we always make it a point to go alone for either lunch or dinner… sometimes both.. not even my son or my family is allowed ! 🙂 its OUR DAY 😀

  3. That is so cute 🙂 Husband has finally learnt to celebrate anniversaries, after years of yelling 🙂 To his credit(or his google calender), he has never forgotten the date.

  4. wow 2 years already Reema? Isn’t that fast?

    Wishing you both a very happy long married life 🙂

    Hugs!

    P.S. on husbands Vs Anniversaries? I must write a post I guess 🙂

  5. That was a sweet account of your anniversary and how your husband made it so special for you. Belated wishes!

    Its pretty much the same my end too, the husband has never forgotten our anniversary…not yet 😀

  6. 😆 what a funny cartoon…but in my case i keep forgetting…but then i forget so many things that forgetting anniversary doesnt even count…
    ah so you did get roses and cakes and card..

  7. Ha ha…liked the cartoon! I haven’t still faced that D day yet where husband forgets the anniv date. But to avoid any disappointments, we always plan well in advance. belated wedding day wishes to you and D!

  8. Never has the date been forgotten!! Im also very proactive!! 😉
    I always ask and the small surprises leave me speechless!!

    I loved D’s answer to your question!! LOL!! 😆

  9. Well, I have never forgotten the dates, but it has been just two years. 🙂 Lets wait for another 20 years and see.
    Happy Anniversary! Hope you enjoyed the day!

  10. Hmm…nice well even P used to do this for some years, (I’ve been married for a long time, almost7 years…) so his surprise was the same every year, and I used mock him for the same, saying why he cant so something “more”, end result…he stopped getting the bouquet, cake or the card…its just dinner with family now…:”(

    But one thing that’s great is, no not sex, is he never forgets dates….its always me 😦

  11. Hey just hopped by and leaving a comment as I liked the idea behind the blog!! Belated Anniv wishes to you!!

    Hope my hubby doesnt forget the D day, so to fecilitate him, I too proactively keep asking him the plans!!

    • Thats why I set the passwords myself and dont depend on her 🙂 phewwwwwwwwwwwww

      you kept that anniversary hidden, oh i see did not want us to gate crash and be a kebab main haddi .. I get it 🙂 well I dont know how i missed this post for so many days .. heres wishing you a belated happy anniversary …

      roses and cakes blesssssssssssss 🙂

      I have now made a point to add reminders on everywhere I can to make sure i dont forget 🙂
      4th feb thats my sisters anniversary tooo 🙂 now I can rememebr yours toooo ..

  12. Belated anniversary wishes… though I did send you sms on that day but looks like you have changed the number and haven’t shared it. Anyway, Again, wish you a very happy married life ahead. 🙂

  13. well, am the guilty one in this case — and in the case of birthdays and unofficial anniversaries and all that. I ALWAYS forget his bday and our anniversary 😀 every. single. time 😀
    but now i looove D’s idea of googling anniv ideas 😀

  14. Pingback: Husbands vs Anniversaries « Gibberish

  15. Wishes on your Anniversary 🙂 And I guess this is so very typical, but of late I find more importance is being given by both partners to make a lovely difference to the day 🙂
    To answer the question you had, at my space: Yes, am a teacher! 🙂 Thank you for dropping by.

  16. Belated anniversary wishes! The cartoon, your chat and the surprise… simply cool!
    Well, in our case, no forgotten anniversary, though there was once an almost forgotten birthday… he came to know, when I was saying a lot of thank yous on the phone in the evening!! 😀

Come On! Say Something!