Beery Thoughts

I got this as a forward on e-mail and some of my beer guzzling fellow blogger friends came to my mind. So this post is dedicated to Nikhil, RJ and all other guys/gals about whose tastes I still don’t know much. πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

“I feel sorry for people who don’t drink. When they wake up in the morning, that’s as good as they’re going to feel all day. “

~Frank Sinatra

“When I read about the evils of drinking, I gave up reading.”

~Henry Youngman

When we drink, we get drunk. When we get drunk, we fall asleep. When we fall asleep, we commit no sin. When we commit no sin, we go to heaven. So, let’s all get drunk and go to heaven!”

~Brian O’Rourke

Sometimes when I reflect back on all the wine I drink I feel ashamed. Then I look into the glass and think about the workers in the vineyards and all of their hopes and dreams If I didn’t drink this wine, they might be out of work and their dreams would be shattered. Then I say to myself, “It is better that I drink this wine and let their dreams come true than be selfish and worry about my liver.”

~Jack Handy

And saving the best for last, as explained by Cliff Clavin, of Cheers. One afternoon at Cheers, Cliff Clavin was explaining the Buffalo Theory to his buddy Norm.

Here’s how it went:

“Well ya see, Norm, it’s like this… A herd of buffalo can only move as fast as the slowest buffalo. And when the herd is hunted, it is the slowest and weakest ones at the back that are killed first This natural selection is good for the herd as a whole, because the general speed and health of the whole group keeps improving by the regular killing of the weakest members. In much the same way, the human brain can only operate as fast as the slowest brain cells. Excessive intake of alcohol, as we know, kills brain cells. But naturally, it attacks the slowest and weakest brain cells first. In this way, regular consumption of beer eliminates the weaker brain cells, making the brain a faster and more efficient machine. That’s why you always feel smarter after a few beers.

You can read one of Nikhil’s beer-escapades here. RJ still hasn’t posted any of his yet. You may think this may be one of them but it isn’t.

P.S. For the record I neither drink nor endorse drinking. πŸ˜€

53 thoughts on “Beery Thoughts

  1. Oh My God!
    Thank You So Much!! πŸ˜€
    No one’s ever dedicated a post to me..! I am so happy!
    On a happier note, Beer is good for health! Cheerssssssssss!!

  2. Drink Beer .. Save Water !!!

    But I m more into cocktails !! .. Pinacolada with an extra shot of rum would be classic ..

    Nice post .. Had fun reading it ..

  3. These are funny quotes.

    @Soham: That is very pertinent slogan. πŸ˜› Drink beer, save water. Only problem is beer tastes yuck and has none of refreshing qualities of water! πŸ˜‰

  4. @Poonam:

    ** Only problem is beer tastes yuck and has none of refreshing qualities of water **

    Try corona beer with lime in it and you will regret saying that ke beer tastes yuck .. Corona with lime is heaven ..

    Drink 2-3 beers and u ll feel refreshed and will feel like u r just born .. Lose ur senses and do whatever ur heart says .. Heart will overrule ur mind, ur logic, ur personality , ur nature .. Sometimes it feels great to get drunk!! Seriously!!

  5. BEER??? hehee Tasted once (one full glass) and in no time I was lost… πŸ˜€

    @Sonam: Drink beer, save water.
    You can save water by drinking coconut water too…its cheaper than beer… πŸ˜› πŸ˜€

  6. ha so i arrive here after seeing you in a lot of places in the wide sphere which is so dear πŸ™‚ ….i am still tooo young to drink 😦 have had a sip from my fathers,guess you need to get a taste for it πŸ™‚ sounds interesting…so by drinking i will be able to maths better ?

  7. @Harshasrisri Didnt u read my P.S.?? I dont drink. Infact I kinda hate it. But if u get me a crate of frooti I’ll be v happy.

    @Sandeep Ohh looks like I forget to include u??? πŸ™‚

    @Joel I too like ur suggestion :)Drunk in one glass? Beer is supposed to have lowest alcohol content.

    @Vishesh U have been here before. I mean on my blogspot blog. :)Nooo its all in fun ok. Dont drink. And dont be sad that u r too young to drink.

  8. Haha, nice interpretations. We always do that, don’t we? Justify the things the way they suit us. Make a vodka post sometime else, and dedicate it to me. I hate Beer. It’s too eww to be drunk. :/

  9. @Robert πŸ˜€

    @Abhinav Oh so u r good guy too πŸ™‚

    @Ish πŸ™‚ I think I should have forwaded it to Nik and he should have posted it in justification. πŸ™‚ U have drank vodka??????? Thats too strong as far as I know. Also havent u just turned 18??

    @Nikhil As u said u r pretty good at acting dumb. πŸ™‚

  10. oh i have been here,when when…now does that i have forgotten a blog i visited! no chance ,i pride my self in remembering all the blogs i vist ! noooo….

  11. I hate even the smell of the alcoholic beverages… that fermented, yukky smell (upturning the nose!)

    *Petrol in India is now costlier than the beer, so drink and don’t drive” – somebody sent me this message on mobile! πŸ™‚

    And Reems, did you notice… RJ is not to be seen only! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  12. @Reems – I know I am late commenting here & I am sorry abt that. OMG! a post dedicated to me to tell the whole world that I am a drunkard πŸ˜€ πŸ˜› Thanks – who else could do it better πŸ™‚

    Thanks a million bunchie! πŸ™‚

    My best quotes on beer are:

    1) Dont drink and drive – you will spill the beer!
    2) beer doesn’t solve our problems, but again neither does milk πŸ˜€

    @Soham – Corona with lime – Dude we got to have a beer party! I carry similar taste with an exception that I add salt dresing to the bottle. Try it and you will be in love (with thr beer) all over again! Corona rocks!

    @Saks – πŸ™‚ I am just a bit late! Was busy drinking πŸ˜€ πŸ˜›

  13. @ RJ

    can feel the stammering in your speech due to heavy drinking! πŸ˜›

    *beer doesn’t solve our problems, but again neither does milk* good one! πŸ™‚

  14. @Sakhi Yes I hate the smell too. RJ has been the last to comment. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜› wonder why..

    @RJ WELCOME!! any time for u hero :)//beer doesn’t solve our problems, but again neither does milk// lol πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ so true. I hate milk too.

    @RJ,Soham Sheesh… no more discussing beer recipes here. take it over to ur blog. πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

    @Sandeep ohh then u r the 3rd good guy in my readers πŸ˜› πŸ˜‰

  15. @Soham/Sheesh – Have you guys tried Vodka + PJ i.e. pineapple juice?? Its awesome! Post your cocktail drinks here in the comments section!

    @Reems – πŸ˜›

  16. @San – Love it! Haail cocktails! Though today its Corona Day! πŸ˜€ What abt ya?

    //@Reema
    I’m the best guy.. πŸ˜‰
    //

    I am sure you are drinking somethg!! πŸ˜€

    @Reems – We are a team always! Be it drinks or be it fighting with feminists πŸ˜€ πŸ˜›

    @Megs – Are you reading? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜›

  17. Beer or wine are yuck if you are not used to them. Although I don’t like the way Anglo-saxons drink them: without any moderation. If you’re bound to drink like that, drinking only water seems much much better

  18. @All beer haters – If beer was water and I was a duck I’d swim to the bottom and never come up but beer is not water and I’m not a duck so slide me the bottle and shut the *faraday* up πŸ˜€ πŸ˜›

  19. Nice little poem you wrote too πŸ™‚

    Well, you know Reema, here in Italy we have poems chanting wine since 2500 years etc, it is such an ingrained tradition, wine (a gift from Gods), plus Italians (and all Latin folks, Spain, France, Portugal) drink moderately, excess not being part of their tradition, plus we are important wine producers …

    I am not saying wine is better than water (like many old people here love to say),no, no, water is such a marvellous product of nature, still….

    In any case it is good not to drink alcohol, especially for young people. And pls do not listen to this stupid man, go on your own healthy way.

    Only, do us drunkards a favour, do not tempt us so much with these delicious posts any more. They make us soooo thirsty πŸ˜‰

    πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  20. @RJ
    Very nice poem yours too indeed! Allow me though to say that beer is just a drink, while wine is a complex world of its own and enhances food taste so much, like sauces (or massala). Besides, how can you drink beer in such a hot climate as India? πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  21. Awesome Post !

    Woho!! Nikhils all happy! Lol.

    RJ !! That was so Faraday cool ! πŸ˜‰

    “I’m going to taste the first drop of alcohol on 26th March, 2009.”

    ~Amen~

  22. @RJ Chi chi now u r proving me right that u r a drunkard. “Shut the faraday up”??? if u use the actual word i have never heard an expletive “shut the f*** up”!!!

    @MoR thanks :)Dont worry I wont drink because I hate the habit very much. As for not writing tempting posts, cant promise that one πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ And as per my knowledge guys in India drink chilled beer.

    @Priya Thanks!! That day u gonna be 18? And u want to taste alcohol?????

  23. @MoR – How can you not drink beer in a hot climate? Chilled Beer, hot climate, pretty Indian girls = perfect combination! πŸ˜€

    @Pri – You gonna be 18…hurray! πŸ™‚ Frankly speaking, just taste it. πŸ™‚ Be good.

  24. @Reema
    Ok, go on with your tempting posts …we hopeless drunkards will keep the bottles chilly then
    @RJ
    Chilled Beer, hot climate, pretty Indian girls = perfect combination!
    Well, well, well, how could I disagree … πŸ˜‰

  25. @Harshasrisri Frooti and throat burn?? I heard that for 1st time. Whereas fanta n mirinda have more fizz. Infact frooti has no fizz. Drunk on frooti LOL πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

Come On! Say Something!

