Day 14: Feeling of Accomplishment

Horrors of horror!! The unlucky number 13 again struck the innocent victim. And made her forget about her vow, her challenge completely!😦😦😦

So should she give up the challenge or continue with it as if nothing happened ?

Well I think I will continue with it. Yesterday with chores and shopping trip, I completely forgot the challenge!😦

Anyway so here goes the post….

“Cooking requires confident guesswork and improvisation — experimentation and substitution, dealing with failure and uncertainty in a creative way” – Paul Theroux

I had never cooked much prior to getting married. The frequent tea and the occasional Maggi, egg bhurji, rice, fish curry, okra curry etc. were the only dishes in my repertoire. But I did somehow have a sense of cooking….you know what goes when..the ingredients etc by observing my mother. Before marriage, my sister, as sweet and caring as she is, wrote many basic recipes and tips in a diary for me…transfer of her knowledge to me.🙂 So I never had to tele-cooking as some people I know did after marriage. Tele-cooking is when a person cooks with instructions relayed to them simultaneously on phone usually by their mothers.🙂 I don’t know why but my friends and colleagues have this general idea I can’t cook much.😦 Maybe because I don’t take lunch from home or I never ask for recipe as soon as I taste something or maybe I am a working woman?

Cookery is not chemistry. It is an art. It requires instinct and taste rather than exact measurements. – Marcel Boulestin

The first guest to our home after marriage was D’s brother-in-law who had come to Pune on a work visit. Arranging dinner for him was no problem. He loves to eat chicken very much. So I prepared a very simple meal of “chicken kosha” and vegetable pulao only.  After that, my second guests were D’s friends. The menu increased to include few more items which included both mine and D’s cooking [D is a good cook! Thanks MIL :D]. And after some more guests, my last guest was my colleague who is senior to me. The menu was cooked entirely by me with D’s help in doing the prep like cutting and grinding. The menu was :-

Salad, Beguni ( fried aubergine pieces), Rohu fish fry, Daal, Plain Rice, Veg Pulao, Enchhod er torkari (Jackfruit curry), Chingri korma (Cambay Prawn Korma), Chicken kosha and Roshogolla  (bought from shop).

“I think preparing food and feeding people brings nourishment not only to our bodies but to our spirits. Feeding people is a way of loving them, in the same way that feeding ourselves is a way of honoring our own creativeness and fragility.”― Shauna Niequist

Ahhh! The feeling of achievement when you are able to serve a long Bong menu to a guest. The feeling of accomplishment when a guest wipes his plate clean, appreciates your effort and praises your cooking. The feeling of happiness when people after hearing the long menu start thinking of you at last as someone who can cook!!!

Now there are so many food blogs which are very helpful. For the same dish I look up 3-4 blogs and make a recipe of my ow taking what I like and discarding what I don’t. I follow around 15 food blogs and after some of them posted a recipe for making tea and how to hard boil an egg (which I have no doubt must be rocket science for some people), I felt inspired to start a food blog myself. After all how difficult can it be? I would like to share my recipes, experiences, tips and tricks which I have gained over time and as I keep learning from blogs and people.

“No one who cooks, cooks alone. Even at her most solitary, a cook in the kitchen is surrounded by generations of cooks past, the advice and menus of cooks present, the wisdom of cookbook writers.” ― Laurie Colwin

So readers, suggest me some good name for a food blog.

5 thoughts on “Day 14: Feeling of Accomplishment

  1. I still call me mom for recipe instructions — before marriage, I was too busy going up the corporate ladder that I missed on learning some of my mom’s signature dishes that she’s famous for in the family🙂

    There’s so many food blogs out there. A website like foodgawker dot com would yield a lot of deliciousness. You can then search any specific dish using the search option over there. Hope this helps!

Come On! Say Something!

