The 81st Academy Awards and Oscar Trivia

I love watching Oscar awards more than any Filmfare or Star Screen or xyz awards and luckily I have been able to watch it every year except when I was in hostel during my B.E. This year, I got up as early as 6.15 am today to watch 81st Academy Awards live on Star Movies from 6.30 am. This was possible only because today is holiday due to Mahashivaratri. I can catch up on my sleep later. 🙂

The host Hugh Jackman’s performance was awesome!! And the new style of presentation like calling previous winners of the actor categories to announce the new winner was good. The performance before Best Song was wonderful too. But the Academy Awards of 1999 hosted by Whoopi Goldberg was the most enjoyable of all the ones I have seen. Hugh didn’t try comedy one liners and digs at people. Instead he gave a wonderful musical performance with Beyonce.

Oscar host Hugh Jackman performs with Beyonce during the 81st Academy Awards (AP Photo/Mark J. Terrill)

Oscar host Hugh Jackman performs with Beyonce during the 81st Academy Awards (AP Photo/Mark J. Terrill)

Slumdog Millionaire swept the Oscars with 8 statuettes including Best Motion Picture and Best Director. A.R.Rahman , the Indian music maestro won 2 – For original score and original song “Jai Ho”. Wow!! great!! I hope our Hindi film Industry gets inspired and stops producing movies like Chandi Chowk to China or Drona and concentrates more on A Wednesday,TZP genre. Even if Slumdog Millionaire isn’t that great a movie as some think, still it is far better than the kinds of Yuvraaj, CC2C, Drona, Kidnap etc. The presenters (Alicia Keys and some guy) for the Original score and song pronounced Rahman as “Raqhman”. How hard is it to pronounce Rahman?? I mean  they find it easier to pronounce from the throat rather than using the tongue and roof of the mouth?

Sean Penn (Best Actor for Milk) and Dustin Lance (Best screenplay for Milk) gave nice acceptance speeches and touched upon the subject of equal rights for gays and lesbians. “Smile Pinki” – a short documentary film about a six year old Indian girl with a cleft lip, won the Oscar for best documentary.

DVD insert

The NDTV reporter who was reporting live from the Red Carpet was totally star struck. After she got hold of Mickey Rourke, she asked him the same old question our reporters ask after any catastrophe or accident or any event – how are you feeling? Sheesh!! She got hold of Sophia Loren too. The team members of Slumdog Millionaire were fine except Anil Kapoor who looked star struck and said strange things – “Slumdog Millionaire is an Indian film. We love Mumbai. We love Maharashtra”

Errr..what?? Planning for next Elections?

OSCARS/

Left to right are actors Freida Pinto, Irrfan Khan, writer Simon Beaufoy, actor Madhur Mittal, producer Christian Colson, actor Anil Kapoor, composer A.R. Rahman, actor Dev Patel. REUTERS/Lucas Jackson

Young actors from "Slumdog Millionaire" (front row L-R) Azharuddin Mohammed Ismail, Rubina Ali, Ayush Manesh Khedekar, (back row L-R) Ashotosh Lobo Gajiwala, Tangi Ganesh Lonkar and Tanay Hermant Chheda REUTERS/Lucas Jackson

Young actors from "Slumdog Millionaire" (front row L-R) Azharuddin Mohammed Ismail, Rubina Ali, Ayush Manesh Khedekar, (back row L-R) Ashotosh Lobo Gajiwala, Tangi Ganesh Lonkar and Tanay Hermant Chheda REUTERS/Lucas Jackson

Heath Ledger‘s family accepted his award for Best Supporting Actor for his performance in The Dark Knight. A good actor, a handsome young man, a talent, a superstar-to-be dead at 28 yrs makes me wonder how the best laid plans of men go astray by a stroke of fate.

Wall-E won the Oscar for Best Animated Film. Yeyy!! I knew the cute love story had to win!! If you haven’t seen it yet, get the DVD and watch it!

You can see all the nominees and the winners at the 81st Academy Awards at this link here.

For some interesting Oscar videos like

– the young and handsome Marlon Brando winning the Oscar at 27th Academy Awards

– a cabdriver gate crashing and coming on stage at 34th Academy Awards

– the first ever African American to win Best Actor at 36th Academy Awards

– the shortest ever acceptance speech by Alfred Hitchcock at 40th Academy Awards

– a tie for Best Actress category at 41st Academy Awards

–  Charlie Chaplin receiving an honorary award at 44th Academy Awards

– Marlon Brando actually refused to accept his Oscar for The Godfather at 45th Academy Awards

– a streaker arriving on stage at 46th Academy Awards

– a deaf actress won the Best Actress award at 59th Academy Awards

– Billy Crystal’s hilarious appearance as Hannibal Lecter at 64th Academy Awards

– Christopher Reeves making his first public appearance after his accident at 68th Academy Awards. A very touching video.

– Will Ferrel and Jack Black singing the lyrics of the music that is played when one exceeds their time for speech at 76th Academy awards.

You can check out the time capsule at oscar.com.

36 thoughts on “The 81st Academy Awards and Oscar Trivia

  1. I love the movie Wall E …. I have watched it n times already……. Looking forward to watch Smile Pinki.

    You know Reema, on DD1 (I know most of guys don’t know about this channel 😀 ), there used to be a program where they used to show Award winning and other documentaries. That was my favorite program since I was child. Not that I used to understand English, but most of them never needed a language.

    Reema: Oh I know about DD 1 😛 But I don’t remember any such programs

  2. I found Beyonce fat…. I have enjoyed watching Oscars every year and I do not care about the hosts/dresses/digs… for me it all boils down to who gets it and the speeches to an extent..

    I remember Whoopi one though.. She is a darling..

    Jai Ho!!!

    Reema:I enjoy the whole show and all its elements 🙂

  3. Heath ledger’s death was no stroke of fate…he OD ed himself…

    and yeah…they totally messes up rahman’s name.

    Reema: Welcome to my blog. Some say it was accidental. Keep visiting!

  4. He even said Jai Maharashtra!!! 😀

    I watched it for the first time and liked it a lot.

    Much better organised & presented…..

    And yes am glad for SDM though I haven’t seen it yet but I feel it isn’t an Indian movie 🙂

    Reema: U havent seen SDM yet??? 😛

  5. everything went as expected..

    and yeah Anil has been speaking in an akward way right from the day Slumdog Millionaire started wining awards internationally…

    Reema: Yes he has lost it since then.

  6. This post is as good as seeing the awards night. I missed it; just slept off. 🙂

    It’s so stupid of Anil Kapoor to say, “Slumdog Millionaire is an Indian film. We love Mumbai. We love Maharashtra”

    Hope I can see ” Smile Pinky” sometime…

    Keep Blogging!!

    Reema: Thanks!!

  7. I had a holiday too but woke up only at 9:30. I didn’t miss any of Rah-Man’s awards though. I woke up bang on time 🙂

    Star movies broadcasted the awards show again in the evening. I watched all of them then.

    Reema: Live dekhne ka mazaa hi kuch aur hai!

  8. I really liked the way Heath Ledger’s family conducted themselves while receiving the award.
    Yes, Anil Kapoor was hilarious and made a bit of fool of himself..I was infact wondering if he had too many beers before the red carpet..lol

    Reema: Hehehe

  9. Last year’s academy awards were a snooze fest but this time it was fun.

    I missed Tom Hanks though.

    Jai Ho for ARR, Rasool and Gulzaar!

    Reema: All the biggies were missing 😦

  10. Even if Slumdog Millionaire isn’t that great a movie as some think, still it is far better than the kinds of Yuvraaj, CC2C, Drona, Kidnap etc.

    My thoughts exactly 🙂

    Reema: Glad u agree 🙂

  11. Hi .. saw your comment on my blog post where you mentioned that India got 4 Oscars …

    Well .. if I am not wrong, India got only 3 … Gulzar shared his oscar with Rehman for Best Song !!

    I am not sure if Oscars have two separate categories for Best Song and Best Lyrics …

    Reema: Welcome to my blog. A song consists of music and lyrics..no separate award. If you have seen Oscar u may have noticed that if n number of persons win in same nomination then each of them is given a statuette. So that makes 4 Oscars for India. Keep visiting!

  12. 🙂 That was a comprehensive writeup or review of the event if I can say it that way..

    I just knew that WallE won an Award..oh,how i loved that movie….

    Rather than the movie in itself,SDM has evoked interesing remarks as like from Amithab earlier,from Anil Kapoor -this one and i just read that Jaya Bachan is upset about SDM being overhyped and celebrated..Ah,forget it…atleast I am glad that few fellow indians got few Oscars..Jai ho….

    Reema: Yeah! same here! Jai Ho!

  13. I didn’t see the ceremony but I saw Hugh Jackman in bits and pieces. I have never been his fan but of late I am changing my mind!

    Reema: Hehehe 😀 He has that effect!

  14. I’ve seen Slumdog and found it very disappointing. With all due respect to ARR, the music is very mediocre. But yes, I loved Wall-E. It really deserved to win…

    Reema: I believe instead of criticizing we can just rejoice in his win as Indians 🙂

  15. Frankly I never knew so much about Oscars. My GK has increased manifold! Thanks for that.
    It sure is a proud moment. Lets rejoice without asking too many questions, 😉

    Reema: Exactly my view!

  16. Lucky you who cud catch the Oscars live on TV! I could just manage to a view bits till Heath Ledger’ s family’s acceptance speech. Then left for office! 😦

    Reema: Oh u didn’t have a holiday. Too bad.

  17. Thanks Anil Kapoor to acknowledge the region where the film has been plotted and shoot.Thts Mumbai which is capital of maharashtra and maharashtra is a state in india

    Reema: Thanks for the info!! I didn’t know that! 😛

  18. I am yet to watch Wall-E.. SDM is a nice movie… but I never thought it will win this much awards. A nice round up as I didnt watched the function 🙂

    Reema: Thanks!

  19. Wall E was great! and I have to catch up with the awards function on internet. Completely missed it. 😦
    I don’t know about the others but I liked Benjamin Button more than Slumdog. Have you seen it?

    Reema: no I havent. But I plan to watch it on DVD.

Come On! Say Something!