Kung Fu Panda

Hiiiyyyeeaaa !!

No thats not a new style of saying hello. Its a kung fu war cry 😀 Now for the review.

Problems :- Sadness, Depression, Stress, Monday Blues, Boredom, Grumpiness, Fight with wife/husband/gf/bf/mom/dad/sibling/friend/neighbour/boss/traffic cop/stranger on road/canteen guy/shopkeeper, Tension

Solution :- Watch Kung Fu Panda!!!!!!!

A Chinese kung fu movie but instead of Jet Li or Jackie Chan we have the cutest and fattest panda ever as the Dragon warrior (ultimate Kung Fu Master). Po, a panda dreams about becoming a kung fu fighter like the 5 famous fighters of their region. But he is not quite cut out for that dedication wise and also fitness wise.But he is chosen by the wisest and oldest Kung Fu Master Oogway (a turtle) as the Dragon warrior in order to save the Valley of Peace from a villainous snow leopard, Tai Lung. The real Kung fu students; a tigress, a monkey,a viper, a praying mantis and a crane; are overlooked. The story moves Po’s teacher Shifu trying to get him to quit at first to devising a novel way of teaching him the art. Po ultimately becomes a Kung Fu hero by learning that if he believes in himself, he can do anything. And it also portrays that a teacher plays an important role in making a person what he becomes.

Some good old Oogway wisdom: One often meets his destiny on the road he takes to avoid it.

I should have copyrighted that!! because its my pet dialogue. Jis cheez ko hum sabse zyada avoid karte hai wo ek na ek din hamare saamne aa hi jata hai aur aise aata hai ki hum usse taal nahi sakte.

Translation :- Whatever we avoid the most, that comes in front of us one day surely and that too in an totally unavoidable manner.

It can be anything..a person whom you don’t want to face, a thing you don’t want to do, a food you don’t want to eat, a situation you dread being in, a call you don’t want to receive..anything. I have experienced it many times in my life.

More gems: “Mind is like water, when its agitated it becomes difficult to see but if you allow it to settle, the answer becomes clear” “There are no accidents”.

Well…no matter how I deny existence of fate, some things do happen because there were meant to be.

BEST ONE: The talk between Shifu and Oogway about the letting go of the illusion of control. So true!

Hiiiyyyeeaaa !!

Back to movie, the animation is wonderful. Even the background score is in Chinese style…nice and innovative. Po is so cute and likeable…and in some of the training scenes I clapped!!! Hadn’t felt this joyful since some time while watching a movie.

An opening dialogue of Po (in his fantasy of being a Kung Fu master) -“There is no price for awesomeness”

I say there is. The movie ticket to an awesome movie costs some bucks you know. 😀 😀

P.S. If I sound like I’m totally bowled over, in my defence I’m a huge animation and fantasy movie fan.

32 thoughts on “Kung Fu Panda

  1. I love animation movies. 😀
    i have been missing lots of movies nowadays 😦
    anyways i would try to download this through some torrent today night 😛
    Hiiiyyyeeaaa !! 😆

  2. Wow…

    just noticed my brother has already added it to the download list….i thought the title looks kinda corny…

    hope it is as good as you say… 🙂

    @Nita
    Wish i could afford to watch movies on dvd, but without torrents i could have never had access to the numerous of movies i’ve watched. piracy seems like an ugly blessing for me. 🙂

    [i]Translation :- Whatever we avoid the most, that comes in front of us one day surely and that too in an totally unavoidable manner[/i]

    oh my goodness…..Nooooooo!!! the one thing i detest and avoid most is organised religion. but when i was born, my parents had dedicated me to God’s work and i have been told by many people that i would be a pastor with a huge church.(apparently god showed it to them.). I’ll friggin die if that ever comes my way.

  3. @Arvind we have so many things in common 😛 watch it and let me know ur view.

    @Nita Oh this one is very nice. Is there any animation movie u didn’t like? I had got duped into watching finding nemo part 2 and it was horrible animation. Else Dreamworks and Walt Disney always give excellent animation movies.

    @E.H. 🙂 check out movies at imdb.com 🙂 dont judge by titles. watch it and let me know if its as good as i said. Ohh there is 100% surety that the philosophy i have written happens to each n every time to every person 🙂 so dont worry.

    @Amit surely do 🙂 hope u like it!

  4. Ok, that was a great review there Reema. And I love animated movies too. Madagascar was screened yesterday on Star Movies. Me was rolling literally… 😀 Awesome movie..!

  5. Oh I missed you watching this movie.
    My present movie partner tried to KungFu me while watching the movie.
    Fear and Destiny- jekhane baagher bhoy, shekhanei shondhe hoye.
    Now the question is, had Shifu not sent the messenger to the jail, Tai Lung would not have escaped (with the feather).
    So it is the same paradox- like Matrix, eh?

  6. Haven’t seen the movie yet.. But I want to watch it after reading this review… seems to be an interesting movie… 🙂
    i dont mind spending on good movies if they promise me not to waste my time! 😀

  7. I love animation movies tooo…Saw it last night…I like Oogway the old turtle-he was too cute…and I like Po’s dad too..heheheee…
    Just curious have you seen Alvin and the Chipmunks??? Its too cute tooo….I have seen it more than 10 times!

  8. Heyy Reema,

    Iam Ken..new to blogging..came here thru Nikhil’s blog..well..i kind of luvvd ur blog..very simple but impressive…and btw..plz visit my blog too..and drop in ur comments..thanks..

  9. @Didi I think he will be doing that all week. :)Wow! thats a good point. Trust u to notice that. Hmmm…that affirms that we actually start what seems to us to be our destined event.

    @Taju Nice to have so many animation lovers in my readers 🙂

    @Nikhil Glad to know my review inspired u to watch the movie. :)Dont go alone. I’m sure she will also like it 😉

    @Mehak Oogway was v cute :)No I havent seen that movie. Now that U have recommended it I will.

    @Ken Welcome to my blog!! thanks!! I’ll surely drop by your blog too. Keep visiting 🙂

  10. yep…saw it finally…under very mind-numbing depressive circumstances.
    it was good….
    you should have said it had jack black.
    the movie did help a little.. 🙂
    but wasn’t enough. 😦

  11. @E.H. Wow! thanks dear for coming back to give ur feedback 🙂 Ohh the actors who gave voice overs can be seen in the videos thats why I didnt write their names :)Watch more animation movies to cheer u up 🙂 watch toy story!

  12. There are no accidents”. that was absolutely a gem !!! and there was another one, my fav … there is no secret ingredient to success … do u have that one with you ?

  13. Pingback: T for Tag, R for Retrospection « My Random Thoughts

Come On! Say Something!